We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thriftlodge Winnipeg

1400 Notre Dame Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3E3G5, Canada
Hotel amenities
Thriftlodge Winnipeg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #58 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    13
    12
    27
See reviews for
22
8
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Brandon, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

The hotel is very dated with exception to the 55" LCD TV in the room and the room was very clean. However, there was leaking water in the hallway with blankets and towels everywhere, the pool was freezing cold and guests where able to mess with the pump controllers, the hot tubs where foaming, one was extremely hot the other... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Thriftlodge Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Although the hotel may be considered 'dated' , it has undergone some major renovations, and is fully functional with modern appliances, etc.. Our housekeepers strive to make every room clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, we had to deal with a small leak in our roof, which dripped into a hallway, and so we did place a... More 

Regina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Well the hotel was not very clean and a lot of disturbance during the night. A lot of yelling keep me awake and when the police showed up for something i feel unsecured.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Thriftlodge Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We were extremely busy on the dates(s) of your stay. It is common for the hallways to have a little mess occasionally, as we are dealing with human beings. However, your room was spotlessly clean upon check-in. Also, one room had a domestic dispute, again very normal as we are all... More 

Travelers are raving about these Winnipeg hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Pool was the only good thing room smelled bad and the old lady is crabby

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Thriftlodge Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at The Canadiana Thriftlodge. We are glad you enjoyed the pool. If your room had an odor, you should have let the front desk know, and we would have resolved the problem for you. Sorry if the lady was not in the best of possible moods that day, however, we are all human, and fyi, she... More 

Winnipeg
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I have gone here before for a few parties, because it is affordable and a central location. I rented the banquet room, and was feeding my guests, while waiting for a few more people to arrive when 'Marie' came barging in to my kids party with her hands on her hips, asking "Well what's going on here? " I said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Thriftlodge Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thanks for your "review". We apologize for any hard feelings during your party. However, all functions must be pre-paid before commencing. Perhaps both sides could have been a bit more courteous, and again we are sorry for any disturbance to your party. Thank you and have a nice day. More 

Hamilton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

The room has the decor of the 1950's. Causal chair was threadbare & broken. The tiolet seat was cracked.Only 2 bath towels which were threadbare. Scheduled to stay 2 night left after the first one.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Thriftlodge Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. The room you stayed in had a new toilet seat, as do all of our rooms. Further, we do not have thread-bare towels or furniture at our property. It Is almost as if this guest did not stay here, as nothing seems too jive with the facts, but we are ok with his review if... More 

Manitoba, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

We checked into our room which did not have the heater running. Room was barely above freezing. Turned on heater which blew luke warm air at best. Attempted to have a shower in which water sprayed all over the bathroom from the faulty shower head. Stayed in room for 1 1/2 hours and at no point did the room get... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Thriftlodge Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Normally, we have all the rooms pre-warmed for new check-ins, but unfortunately the room you were given was overlooked, and we sincerely apologize. The shower head in the first room was faulty, however the shower head in the second room was fine. We strive to keep our rooms very well maintained so our guests can... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Just to let you know we had heard wonderful things about the travellodge and decided to book with it for the 25th. Upon arrival the room smell was terrible, it was a mix of urine and staleness. When we went to use the waterpark, which we had heard so much about we went down the first waterslide only to realize... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Thriftlodge Winnipeg, responded to this review

Please contact us regarding your stay with us. Thank you. More 

Kenora
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

The hotel is clean, staff is friendly and there is a great pool with 3 waterslides and two hot tubs for adults and kids. Great value for the money. I gave this hotel a poor rating because all four of us were bitten by bed bugs, multiple times, in both beds in one evening. The bites are exceptionally itchy and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Thriftlodge Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your complaint is about an epidemic, which is affecting a great number of homes and businesses in North America and beyond. While we are sorry for your encounter, we are not responsible for it. You can be assured that, as professionals, if we come across a problem like this, we act immediately, so it is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities