We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thriftlodge Winnipeg

1400 Notre Dame Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3E3G5, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Thriftlodge Winnipeg
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1
    6
    14
    14
    30
See reviews for
23
10
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Sioux Lookout, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was clean and sufficient for my quick over night stay. However it isn't they type of hotel that I would usually stay, I think it is what would be referred to as a motor inn. The neighbourhood was questionable, I really didn't feel comfortable going for a walk. Comfy bed though and clean bathroom. No continental breakfast. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Thriftlodge Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that our room was sufficient. Our hotel is actually both a hotel and motel. We have motel like rooms on one side, and hotel rooms on another, so it is the best of both types. The neighborhood is fine, and we feel comfortable walking in it. Most guests are looking for a... More 

Scarborough
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

The guy who seemed like the manager checked me in and was very rude. I felt as though he was judging me. I walked in with no reservation. He didn't even tell me how much the room and deposit was, I had to ask. After paying I then had to ask what room I was in because he forgot to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Thriftlodge Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We apologize if the check in process you received seemed rude. The front desk was very busy at that time, and did forget to tell you the room number. House keepers always knock, and if there is no answer, they will enter the room to clean it. Also, every room has a double lock on it... More 

London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Stayed here for one night in order to watch the 2014/15 Montreal Canadiens visit to the Winipeg Jets at the nearby MTS Centre. The lodging is fairly near to the airport and pretty close to the city centre. Wifi was efficient, the room clean and fully functioning. The place served it's purpose and no problems whatsoever were encountered. If you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Thriftlodge Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We could not have said it better ourselves. Have an awesome day. More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

Clean and friendly but threadbare. Wi-Fi or TV did not work. Nice pictures on walls of room. Booking.com showed only single queen rooms but hotel had only double doubles. We would have booked one room instead of two if correct information had been presented. Lounge was funky-odd. Bartender kept trying to get us next door so we could purchased beer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Thriftlodge Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The wi-fi and televisions all work in our hotel. Unfortunately however, not everyone knows how to operate them, which is why we have staff ready and willing to help with things like that. Our rooms do not have anything that is thread bare. Information on third party websites may be incorrect, and the best way... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

The staff is courteous, but the hotel is otherwise yucky... It feels grimy, looks dank, smells musty. Just doesn't feel sanitary at all. The hallways are dark, cramped and dirty... There's unique odors that waft around the lobby and public areas. The carpeting in the hallways and stairwells was disgusting -- full of stains of seemingly various forms. The main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Thriftlodge Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our hotel is not grimy, dirty, dank or smelly. and It is quite sanitary. Hallways were painted very recently, and they, along with the stairways, are cleaned first thing every morning. Every room is supplied with two washcloths, bath towels, hand towels and bars of soap, and one bath mat. Every bathroom has a vent... More 

Richfield, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

hallways dark and visibly dirty Cinder block walls. Only one ironing board & iron in the entire hotel, no shampoo, one wash cloth, one hand towel, no batteries to replace dead batteries in tv remote and they charged for ice. Lounge had nice enough bartender but I've never been in a place in which so many people walk in, examine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Thriftlodge Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. All walls were painted 1 month ago. Cinder walls are for keeping noise down in the rooms from the hallways, and are common. We have many ironing boards and irons. Also, there are 2 washcloths in each room. Ice is 25 cents to help prevent waste. We are close to... More 

Brandon, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

The hotel is very dated with exception to the 55" LCD TV in the room and the room was very clean. However, there was leaking water in the hallway with blankets and towels everywhere, the pool was freezing cold and guests where able to mess with the pump controllers, the hot tubs where foaming, one was extremely hot the other... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Thriftlodge Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Although the hotel may be considered 'dated' , it has undergone some major renovations, and is fully functional with modern appliances, etc.. Our housekeepers strive to make every room clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, we had to deal with a small leak in our roof, which dripped into a hallway, and so we did place a... More 

Regina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Well the hotel was not very clean and a lot of disturbance during the night. A lot of yelling keep me awake and when the police showed up for something i feel unsecured.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Thriftlodge Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We were extremely busy on the dates(s) of your stay. It is common for the hallways to have a little mess occasionally, as we are dealing with human beings. However, your room was spotlessly clean upon check-in. Also, one room had a domestic dispute, again very normal as we are all... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Pool was the only good thing room smelled bad and the old lady is crabby

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marie L, Guest Relations Manager at Thriftlodge Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at The Canadiana Thriftlodge. We are glad you enjoyed the pool. If your room had an odor, you should have let the front desk know, and we would have resolved the problem for you. Sorry if the lady was not in the best of possible moods that day, however, we are all human, and fyi, she... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#22 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#19 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Days Inn & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Manitoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay