We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 63 Winnipeg hotels

The Marlborough Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   331 Smith Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2G9, Canada (Downtown Winnipeg)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Kids Under 12 Eat Free!
The Marlborough Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Marlborough Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #49 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    41
    35
    56
See reviews for
26
43
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (178)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at the Marlborough when I came to Winnipeg for Christmas shopping. Price was awesome, but then again... You get what you pay for. The room was UNBEARABLY HOT. You are not able to turn off the heat in the room. When I called front desk for them to do something about the heat, the response was "you should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here because of the close proximity to the Garrick Centre which hosts many great touring acts. As a Guest Services Manager myself, I hold other properties to a high standard and am constantly noticing how other hotels operate. Front desk agents were friendly and helpful, dressed very professionally and had good conduct. The pub had charm and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
73 hotel reviews
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Attended the candle light vigil for Colten Pratt, who has been missing in Winnipeg since November 6, 2014. As the Marlborough was the last place he has known t be seen, it was felt that this was the best place to hold a vigil in support of his safe return and his grieving family. The Marlborough Hotel was kind enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

100 yrs old and still has the original furniture in it. The hot tub and water slide didn't work. The sheets had holes in them. paint was peeling off the walls. Dirty socks in the elevator. Party next room to us which kept us awake until 4 am. The only good thing about this hotel is located near to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lance W, I appreciate you submitting your opinion on your visit to The Marlborough. I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with your stay. I have looked into your comments regarding the hot tub and water slide. The hot tub has been repaired and is fully operational - it was a simple stuck emergency switch and the waterslide is... More 

Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Once one or Winnipeg's premier hotels, back in the days of train travel and Sunday High Tea, The Marl has suffered from the ravages of time. We chose it to be walking distance to the MTS Centre for Jet's hockey, with smoking rooms (one of the few downtown hotels that still offers them) but we won't be back. Ancient elevator... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Theo T, Thank you for taking the time to post your impressions on your visit and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that you did not feel secure. We do have a dedicated business class floor that may have provided a better sense of well being as it is a secured floor. I do... More 

Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Our room was big, spacious, nicely painted, had a comfy bed but the bathroom was small. Our room came with a complimentary breakfast at the restaurant on the main floor. Nice looking restaurant kind of like an old church. We found most of the hotel staff friendly and helpful. One of the elevators was broken down. This is a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hungrybears, Thank you for posting your comments. We certainly appreciate the feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I will be discussing your concerns with our security staff to make every effort to prevent loitering outside the hotel. We have 24 hour security for any assistance our guests may need and if notified they will certainly look... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

I recently visited Winnipeg for the first time and attended the Marlborough's centennial celebration. The Marlborough is a beautiful property with great historic significance to Winnipeg, and the owners, management, and staff are committed to treating her (and her visitors!) with great respect. During our 3-day stay, everyone we encountered was professional, friendly, and accommodating. The rooms were very comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer T, I certainly appreciate your taking the time to submit your comments on your stay while attending The Marlboroughs 100th gala event - it was a fantastic evening. I am glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and you certainly noticed some of our original accents that have been a part of the hotel since 1914. I look forward... More 

Salmon Arm, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

I loved the fact the hotel is 100 years old and still has original rooms like Churchill's and Joanna's Restaurant with the original large clock on the wall. Breakfast was included in our room rates and was very nice to be able to order off a menu. Our suites were clean, comfortable & secure with a key required to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leslie M, Thank you for taking the time to post your impressions of The Marlborough from your stay. I am so glad that you were able to make the trip to Winnipeg to attend The Marlboroughs 100th Gala event and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Winnipeg. Chris Dubberley... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014 via mobile

As a client of Marlborough I was always treated well and the staff and management worked hard to meet our many needs. They were always very respectful in their service and delivered everything they promised! Excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Josh432, Thank you for submitting your comments on your recent stay at The Marlborough. I am glad to see that you were satisfied with your last stay and I will be passing on your comments to the hotel staff. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Chris Dubberley General Manager The Marlborough Hotel More 

Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

I've planned several large events over the past few years in various cities and venues. The personalized and top-notch service provided by the Services Manager Grace Rents made planning and executing our large social event at the Marlborough an absolute delight. Everything from being flexible with dates, menu options, deposit, payment etc... was such a pleasant experience. We knew that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Macbalacano, Thank you for posting your comments regarding your event held at The Marlborough. It is wonderful to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our sales and banquet staff. We look forward to assisting with your catering needs in the future, Chris Dubberley General Manager The Marlborough... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlborough Hotel

Address: 331 Smith Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2G9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marlborough Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marlborough Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay