We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Marlborough Hotel

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
331 Smith Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2G9, Canada
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Marlborough Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    34
    45
    38
    64
See reviews for
29
47
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (197)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Scarborough
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed a place to crash for the night before continuing my trip. The pictures made this place look decent for the price . The neighborhood is creepy and their were people standing outside smoking dope. From the parking lot to the hotel I thought I was going to get robbed by a bunch of people staring me down as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. We needed to be in Winnipeg for a few days before moving on to next destination. The front desk people weren't very happy, as if they hated their job. Didn't seem to much as if they wanted to be there at all The elevator is scary.. It was dirty and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anna, Thanks for your recent review of our hotel, and I also thank you for bringing some of these issues to my attention. We have addressed your room concerns and we will be doing some renovations to our 100 year old property starting in the fall of 2015. By upgrading our furniture, lighting, paint we feel this address the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Winnipeg hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We walked in. Then walked out. I still have that smell in my head. Save your money ..stay anywhere but here!! Neighborhood is not a safe neighborhood either. Only nice place in the hotel is the ballroom.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angela D, Thanks for your review, although I do not know what smell you are referring to as we continuously keep our lobby clean and smelling fresh for all of our guests. I am sorry you didn't get the opportunity to stay with us and enjoy our great customer service, clean and comfortable rooms at a reasonable price. Thank... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The pictures of the hotel make's it look like a great place to stay. It looked nice and the price was nice. Unfortunately, the hotel is scuzz central. There are people loitering out front smoking dope and soliciting prostitution. I was terrified to go in the elevator alone I had the security guard come with me. You could hear people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Suddori888, Thank you for your recent review of our property, whether positive or negative I do take all seriously to try and ensure that we progress forward to fix/clean any issues. I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, as we try to be proactive when our guests have problems with their visit. I know... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Cute century old hotel with beautiful curb appeal. The room was clean and had a nice desk, very comfortable bed and a coffee maker. They accommodated our two large dogs in a non smoking room for one night. Staff were very pleasant. Sadly the surrounding area was a really sketchy concrete jungle. .. not particularly appealing for taking walks or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Crystal .E, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, I truly appreciate the kind words as we strive to make every guest feel right at home. Although we are a downtown property we try to ensure that guests feel safe during their stay, and we are currently working with the downtown security watch to help improve all... More 

Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Old and dated. large spacious rooms and friendly staff gross bathroom but otherwise somewhat clean and okay, you get what you paid for outlets right on top of the bed which is great! delicious breakfast, omg like wow. I never ate breakfast before but when ti's complimentary and hot and warm, yum. I pooped so much from all the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nope00000, Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel as we strive to make every stay enjoyable for all of our guests. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your breakfast, as we are one of the few hotels in the downtown area that offer a free hot breakfast. As for the rooms, we will be upgrading and... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

This is the worst hotel I have been in my whole life and the stuff are very rude. We booked and paid for double bedroom and when we arrived there they told us they don’t have the double bedroom any more they have only single bedroom available.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eskandar N, Thank you for submitting a review of our hotel, whether positive or negative I try and respond to each and every one in a timely manner. I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us recently. I did notice that you didn't contact a manager with your reservation confusion, as either myself or one... More 

Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Arrived at the Hotel and upon opening the main door a rather malignant odour assaults your senses and this is permeated throughout each floor of the Hotel. It would appear that it emminates from the carpets and as a result I would suggest that they are either cleaned or replaced. Our room could best be described as basic and in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us, as I appreciate the feedback positive or negative it's valuable information. First, I apologize for not meeting your expectations with respect to your recent stay. It disappoints me to hear comments like this, after the time, efforts and expense that we have invested in our people and property. I... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel during FIFA when there was 0% vacancy in the city. We had no other options. I'm not even sure where to start but to say I highly advise you Not to subject yourself to this hotel. First off, the area was really rough and I did not feel safe to come and go as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating. It is a pleasure to announce that we will be implementing many of these upgrades to... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

The worst place I stayed in my life. I am not sure how this place paces health and safety inspections. The water is brown, the light in the rooms flicker like in a horror movie and forget to try take a shower in the morning the bathroom is absolutely discussing. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our colleagues strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. Your feedback was shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#9 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Bee Hotel
#30 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Winnipeg
Delta Winnipeg
#17 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay