We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Marlborough Hotel

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
331 Smith Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2G9, Canada
The Marlborough Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in Winnipeg
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    34
    45
    38
    60
See reviews for
28
46
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (193)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Cute century old hotel with beautiful curb appeal. The room was clean and had a nice desk, very comfortable bed and a coffee maker. They accommodated our two large dogs in a non smoking room for one night. Staff were very pleasant. Sadly the surrounding area was a really sketchy concrete jungle. .. not particularly appealing for taking walks or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Old and dated. large spacious rooms and friendly staff gross bathroom but otherwise somewhat clean and okay, you get what you paid for outlets right on top of the bed which is great! delicious breakfast, omg like wow. I never ate breakfast before but when ti's complimentary and hot and warm, yum. I pooped so much from all the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nope00000, Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel as we strive to make every stay enjoyable for all of our guests. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your breakfast, as we are one of the few hotels in the downtown area that offer a free hot breakfast. As for the rooms, we will be upgrading and... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the worst hotel I have been in my whole life and the stuff are very rude. We booked and paid for double bedroom and when we arrived there they told us they don’t have the double bedroom any more they have only single bedroom available.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eskandar N, Thank you for submitting a review of our hotel, whether positive or negative I try and respond to each and every one in a timely manner. I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us recently. I did notice that you didn't contact a manager with your reservation confusion, as either myself or one... More 

Travelers are raving about these Winnipeg hotels

Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Arrived at the Hotel and upon opening the main door a rather malignant odour assaults your senses and this is permeated throughout each floor of the Hotel. It would appear that it emminates from the carpets and as a result I would suggest that they are either cleaned or replaced. Our room could best be described as basic and in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us, as I appreciate the feedback positive or negative it's valuable information. First, I apologize for not meeting your expectations with respect to your recent stay. It disappoints me to hear comments like this, after the time, efforts and expense that we have invested in our people and property. I... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel during FIFA when there was 0% vacancy in the city. We had no other options. I'm not even sure where to start but to say I highly advise you Not to subject yourself to this hotel. First off, the area was really rough and I did not feel safe to come and go as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating. It is a pleasure to announce that we will be implementing many of these upgrades to... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

The worst place I stayed in my life. I am not sure how this place paces health and safety inspections. The water is brown, the light in the rooms flicker like in a horror movie and forget to try take a shower in the morning the bathroom is absolutely discussing. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our colleagues strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. Your feedback was shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations. More 

Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

I wanted to give this place a break and not be too critical, but.. all was not up to par. You can see they do try, however. The lobby is clean and the desk staff is very nice. Our room appeared clean and absolutely did not smell at all. The carpet appeared very clean. The restaurant for breakfast is beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel as I encourage all of our guests to let us know the positives and negatives of their experiences. I am glad that you had some positive things to say about our historic hotel. At the Marlborough Hotel Management takes pride in providing clean and comfortable accommodation for our guests and we... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

Here in Canada for the World Cup. Every hotel in the city is sold out. Despite the reviews I had no choice but to book a room at this hotel. The hotel was built in 1914 and its age is showing. The rooms smell really bad. A local told me this hotel is also used for low income housing. Do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel, as I take both positive and negative very seriously. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at our hotel, nor did you find it to your liking. We pride ourselves on having a clean and comfortable environment for all of our guests, and that includes our rooms. Although our hotel... More 

Benin City, Nigeria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

its a nice hotel to stay . its staff members are really nice, friendly and helpful. the breakfast offered was nice too. i will be back in no time. its facilities are pretty modern when compared to the historical background of the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments about your stay in our hotel. We strive to make sure that every guest experience at our hotel is a positive one, and by reading your review I can safely say that we are exceeding expectations. I will pass along your kudos to our staff as we will continue to deliver on our promise... More 

Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Where to start... From a historic perspective, this 1914 hotel should be a treasured landmark. The front was surrounded by what could only be described as flop house tenants. Unfortunately, it appears that there hasn't been a renovation since being built. Old and worn out. No in and out privileges with the parking garage, so expensive if you're here on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shane N, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments about our hotel and your stay with us. I always encourage guests to review how we are doing, whether positive or negative I take all very seriously and respond immediately. I am sorry that we missed the mark on your recent visit with us, and although our hotel is older we try and make... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#8 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Winnipeg
Delta Winnipeg
#19 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#13 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay