We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 63 Winnipeg hotels

The Marlborough Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   331 Smith Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2G9, Canada (Downtown Winnipeg)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Marlborough Hotel to your Saves list
The Marlborough Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com Booking.com
and 4 more sites!
31%
Ranked #51 of 63 hotels in Winnipeg
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    30
    36
    30
    51
See reviews for
19
35
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weyburn, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location close to downtown & MTS center. Other than that... nothing good to report. We went in December to the Olypmpic curling trials.. Every night when we came back to the hotel we would have to walk through a doorway of at least a dozen homeless type people warming up. At midnight I am not exactly comfortable wiggling my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MeganP, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel from back in December. I am a bit surprised by some of the comments as our hotel was full of curling fans such as you for the 9 days of the Roar of the Rings and we have received numerous compliments. We do try to... More

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We needed a hotel near to the main railway station so based on the cost and amenities we chose the Marlborough. Other reviews have stated that there are some issues with this hotel. We found some of the same issues, ie very dated and in need of some repair. It is avery busy hotel with many people apparently living on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear L55 11, Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments and mentioning your experience with our staff – you are correct they are a credit to our hotel. You are also correct that we are a very busy hotel but we do not have permanent guests living on the upper floors of the hotel. We do have... More

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed there twice in one week. The first time I was upgarded to a business class suite while the second time I was not. The restaurant I had the most problems with. The staff just sat around doing nothing, in full view of the patrons There was never any attempt to ask how my meal was and I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark M, Thank you for your comments. We do upgrade our guests when we have the availability to do so and you can book the business class rooms when you make your reservation. I have reviewed your comments with our dining room staff as a training tool to ensure that it does not happen in the future. I am... More

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I arrived at the hotel on Jan 29 mid-morning. The hotel clerk went out of the way to please and upgraded my room to business class. I was allowed to check in immediately instead of waiting until the afternoon. This business class room had very basic amenities which made me wonder what the standard rooms looked like. The hotel offered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SueL. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your past stay at The Marlborough Hotel. I am glad that our staff was able to look after you upon your arrival and you were able to check in early. Our business class has upgraded furniture, flat panel TV’s, vanity tables and more which our standard rooms... More

Dauphin, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Only great thing was the price, but thats it. Hotel room was actually really dirty and was in need of some repairs. The lobby and hallways looked like they were in much need of some TLC as well. There were a lot of unsavoury characters hanging around the hotel that made me feel very uncomfortable, so I wouldn't exactly recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SabrinaErlendson, I am sorry that The Marlborough Hotel did not meet your expectations from your visit back in June of 2013. As a high volume hotel there are occasions when the volume in the hotel is above normal. As the only hotel in downtown Winnipeg with a pool and waterslide we do have a number of families visit us... More

Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great location .. Great service.. Quality daily breakfast and food services. Clean .. Attentive considerate cleaning staff. Attached pub the Reagle Beagle great place to unwind and friendly service! Management is top notch and goes the extra mile to accommodate. Great pool and exercise facilities. This is truly one of the Best Hotel Winnipeg offers for value. You are always... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marno 70, Thank you for your comments from your visit to The Marlborough Hotel in January. I am glad to read that our staff went the extra mile for your visit. We look forward to seeing you again, Chris Dubberley General Manager The Marlborough Hotel More

canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 9 days during the curling Olympic trials and found that it was acceptable. It depends on your expectations. Rooms were small like a new York city hotel, and as far as people lingering outside of the hotel, it is downtown and they are all over not just at this hotel. I walked at night outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Travelling-grandma-9 Thank you for offering you comments on your visit to Winnipeg and The Marlborough Hotel. I am pleased that the hotel met your needs over the 9 days you were here and I hope you enjoyed the Roar of the Rings (as well as the complimentary hot breakfast!) . We look forward to your next visit. Chris Dubberley... More

Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Attended a function held at the Marlborough and found it mediocre at best. Didn't feel safe going outside on my own and the parkade across the street is a great place to leave your car if you want it damaged, and your possessions stolen. No help from the hotel either. They don't even have security cameras in the parkade, even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HankNorth, I do need to make a correction on your behalf. We do not own the parkade across from the hotel nor any parking lot in the area of the hotel. I can empathize with you if something happened to your vehicle but The Marlborough Hotel does not own the lot. If there was an issue with parking in... More

Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed here because it is in walking distance to the MTS centre. We travel extensively and stay in hotels on a regular basis. We are not high maintenance people. Lets start with the outside entrance. This hotel is located in downtown Winnipeg and there are a lot of less fortunate people in the area. For personal safety you should... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Travelcanada9 Thank you for commenting on your stay at the hotel. I apologize if there were times when there were people outside the hotel that were bothering you. Our security does maintain the front entrance area but are occasionally looking after the inside of the hotel as well. Our maintenance staff would be happy to correct the heat and... More

Riverton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My Wife and I were going to a concert and wanted a place close by ,the Marlborough was within walking distance so we didn't have to waste money on a cab or more parking.It is a very hold hotel and it shows but the staff every where we went were excellent,the room was clean ,the bathrooms had all necessities and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yvan C From the staff and Management of The Marlborough Hotel thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your last stay. You have certainly highlighted the hotel in a brief statement. We do pride ourselves on being an inexpensive hotel in downtown Winnipeg that has great food and service and a comfortable bed. Thanks again,... More

Been to The Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlborough Hotel

Also Known As:
The Marlborough Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba
Address: 331 Smith Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2G9, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 63 hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marlborough Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marlborough Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.