We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

#17 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
1670 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 0C9, Canada (Formerly Ramada Winnipeg Hotel-Viscount-Gort)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Add Photo

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    120
    48
    30
    13
    18
See reviews for
52
36
16
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (229)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Dryden, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have been a regular the past 8 years and have enjoyed my stays. The staff from Management, Reception, Restaurant, Bar and support staff have made my stay a pleasure and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The food is excellent and well presented. Banquet and meeting facilities are excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Andrew S, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I certainly appreciate your business over the past 8 years and we hope to continue to provide the same or higher level of service for the next 8 years. We look forward tot he next time you stay with us, Chris Dubberley General Manager Viscount Gort Hotel More 

Manitoba
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have been staying at the Viscount on a regular bases for over 3 years now and they go the extra mile all of the time - be it making a reservation, check-in, house keeping......and how Ron remembers what I like for breakfast is beyond my comprehension. Although I don't frequent the lounge much, from the 2 times that I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear TaxLady60, Thanks for your comments - I will be passing them on to the individuals that you singled out. As well we have discussed your comments regarding the lounge with the staff and management - I hope that you will notice an improvement on your next visit. We look forward to your next stay with us, Chris Dubberley General... More 

Yorkton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wrote a review already but don't know where it went.hard to get to Kenaston Blvd South from the hotel. Hotel split in half. Swimming complex on one side. Noisy in room from Kenaston. Great food in restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear njamesb, Thanks for posting your comments. I'm sorry that you had some difficulty navigating the city street - our front desk staff are more than happy to provide maps or online directions to where you need to go. Glad you enjoyed the food. Hope to see you again next year. Chris Dubberley General Manager Viscount Gort Hotel More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have stayed here so often now one of the desk clerks know me by name, seeing her is like seeing an old friend again! The services is always top notch, the rooms are lovely and very well kept! I hate driving in the city so I love that I just keep my car parked and have such easy access... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear CaroleAnnOkeefe, I must say that I am thankful for your comments. I couldn't have said it any better myself, but it certainly adds something when our guests say it for us. Thanks for choosing the Viscount Gort and we look forward to being your hotel of choice for many years to come. With great respect, Chris Dubberley General Manager... More 

Regina
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fast check in. We were in town for a hockey tournament and they put our whole team on the same floor with where the pool is so that's convenient. Rooms were a nice size. Breakfast buffet was a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Jody C, Thank you for posting your comments on your recent stay at the Viscount Gort. I am glad that we could accommodate your hockey team on the same floor. Our pool and waterslide is very popular among teams. Hope we see you for next years tournament! Sincerely, Chris Dubberley General Manager Viscount Gort Hotel More 

Winnipeg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I have stayed at the Viscount Gort many, many times for pleasure and for medical trips. Its location is extremely convenient and close to great shopping and many restaurant choices. The front desk staff (and the front desk manager in particular - Jodi) is extremely helpful both with booking your stay and once you are there. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Tracy W, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your last stay. I agree, we do have a great location and close to all major routes so that getting around the city is very convenient. Thanks for the comments about our staff - always a pleasure to hear and I will be sure to pass... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for a week at this hotel. First night woken at 12:30 am for a fire alarm and had to stay outside for about 45min. No fire found. 2nd day our air conditioner stopped working we were told it would be fixed on our return, it was not. Spent the night sweating and uncomfortable. Still not fixed by next day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Karla K, Thank you for posting your comments on your recent stay. I do apologize for the fire alarm. As we were instructed to follow protocol by the Winnipeg Fire Department there was no other option available. Fortunately, as you mentioned, there was no fire or other emergency. I am sorry that you had issues with your room but... More 

Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My sister and I were in Winnipeg for the World Cup and had 2 bad nights at this hotel. After a fire alarm at midnight and waking up to no power, we had to complain multiple times to get a small discount. The rooms were clean enough. I think they spent too much money on the remodel of the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear riesler, I do apologize for the inconvenience of a fire alarm in a hotel at any time of the day, especially late in the evening. Unfortunately, when the City of Winnipeg Fire Department requests the alarm be activated as a proactive measure we do not have an alternative. The safety of our guests and staff is of the utmost... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have to say how wonderful the staff was here I'm going over the top in accommodating us for a night during the FIFA world cup soccer event. We were a flight Crew who was on our way to a hotel 45 minutes outside of Winnipeg when we stopped in to personally ask if they had any last minute cancelations... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Keith h, I am glad that we were able to accommodate you and your colleagues during your stop over in Winnipeg. It certainly was a busy week with FIFA in town. I will be passing on your comments to the staff. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future. Sincerely, Chris Dubberley General Manager Viscount... More 

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

I must say the Viscount has the best service of all hotels I've stayed at in Winnipeg! This is my second stay here in the past year and once again it was great. Jodi and her team at the front desk really go above and beyond to ensure my stay is flawless. My room is always clean and ready for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Viscount G, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Marty1355, Thanks for posting your comments on your stay, we appreciate your business. I will certainly be passing on your kind words to our staff, specifically Jodi and the front desk staff. We look forward to seeing you soon! Chris Dubberley General Manager Viscount Gort Hotel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay