We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
190 Smith Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 1J8, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    141
    130
    36
    18
    13
See reviews for
60
93
38
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (338)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (120)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Wyoming, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at Louis Riel and really were pleased! The room was very clean and would describe the decor as simply modern. Very refreshing. Loved the kitchenette and made mornings relaxing. Many nice restaurants, shopping and historical forks area walking distance from hotel. Staff was accommodating and friendly too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
J_Saad, General Manager at Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, hasdar! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Winnipeg! We are thrilled that you appreciated the cleanliness and modern decor of our wonderful hotel and hope that you will return again soon! Sincerely, John Saad General Manager Place Louis Riel Hotel More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They hit a hold of $300 on cc. USA hotels of the same and even a much higher caliper do not even hold that much. Kitchen to me is useless and they should offer rooms without it. Why pay for what you won't use. How many go on vacation or even business and wanna cook for themselves. No fitted sheet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
J_Saad, General Manager at Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sam o, We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us during your recent visit to Winnipeg. We would love to discuss your experience so we may see how we can adjust our services to better suit our guests. If you wish to discuss your stay please contact me directly. Sincerely, John Saad General Manager Place Louis... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family of four stayed at the hotel for the world cup. The room was very large which was nice for a long stay. One issue was the smell, every time we walked in it smelled of pickles. When we arrived home, our clean clothes had to be washed because of the pickle smell. The staff was so nice, especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
J_Saad, General Manager at Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear julie s, Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay during the FIFA Women's World Cup! We apologize that the pickled smell put a damper on your holiday and we will look into what caused the issue to occur so we can avoid it happening again. Thank you so much... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at Place Louis Riel for nine days during the Women's football World Cup in June. We were impressed with the size of the suite and in particular the massive bed which was comfortable and had very nice pillows. The bathroom was a good size and everything in the room worked how it should. We thought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
J_Saad, General Manager at Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Sketi88, for your thoughtful review of our hotel! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time wit us during the FIFA Women's World Cup! We have been so excited for this event and are glad our guests have enjoyed their stays. We appreciate the wonderful review and will take your notes into consideration when looking at the... More 

Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed for one night in June 2015 to attend a concert at MTS Centre. This hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the arena. At first we found the property difficult to find. It is on a one way and the signage blends in with the facade of the building, so be on the lookout.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
J_Saad, General Manager at Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much Christina P, for the wonderful review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay for the concert and had a wonderful time at Place Louis Riel Hotel. We hope that you will return again soon for another great visit! Sincerely, John Saad General Manager Place Louis Riel Hotel More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Barely hanging in at three stars. Elevators slow. Hallways dingy. Windows dirty. Workout room depressing. Brown and tan decor which is not great in any hotel as much as I know hotels love to use these colors. Limited services and amenities. Won't be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
J_Saad, General Manager at Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cindy B, Thank you for your review on your stay. We would like the opportunity to discuss your recent visit so we may be able to adjust our services and product to better suit the needs of our guests. If you wish to do so, please contact me directly. Sincerely, John Saad General Manager Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel More 

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of days in early June. I found the service to be good, the rooms clean, and checkin/checkout quite easy. They let me check in an hour early. I was really only there to sleep, but found the bed comfortable. The room has a full kitchen, which would have been used for sure,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
J_Saad, General Manager at Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark J, Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken your notes for consideration of future improvements. Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, John Saad General Manager Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel More 

Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Another nice weekend in Winnipeg, in part because of a nice, comfortable stay. Easy in, easy out with parking, front guest area is professional looking and the staff are helpful and courteous. Situated just a couple blocks from the MTS Centre and lots of great restaurants, the location is superb for a downtown weekend on the town. Only disappointment is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
J_Saad, General Manager at Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Heather L, Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to explore our wonderful neighbourhood. We apologize that you had to pay for WiFi. Our WiFi is complimentary for guests with password and we suspect that you may have chosen the public WiFi... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were in town for a few days and enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms are very spacious with a kitchen area. Very impressed with the overall stay. Staff was very helpful. I would stay here again without question.

Was this review helpful? Yes
J_Saad, General Manager at Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review, Michael S! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the spacious rooms and found our staff accommodating and friendly. We hope you will stay with us again very soon! Sincerely, John Saad General Manager Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel More 

Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Stayed 3 nights in one of the suites, with a separate bedroom, full kitchen, large living room area with an area for dining. Construction/renovations under way, but that did not affect our stay. Very clean, comfortable, great service from staff. Restaurant was only open for breakfast. The only down side was there wasn't a bar or lounge

Was this review helpful? Yes
J_Saad, General Manager at Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ChrisDiane2013, Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful experience! Our spacious rooms offer our guests a nice place to relax and enjoy themselves and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that you will stay again soon! Sincerely, John Saad... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay