We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 63 Winnipeg hotels

BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 York Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0N9, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
56%
Ranked #42 of 63 hotels in Winnipeg
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
camiam001 near winnipeg
  • Overview
  • Reviews (107)
  • Photos (35)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    35
    18
    14
    17
See reviews for
16
24
8
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
near winnipeg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff are very helpful and courteous. Cafe' was very good. Room discount on breakfast was appreciated. Slowest elevator that I've been in for some time but its only a few floors high. Good location, reasonable price. Would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janet B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More

Regina, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are going to Winnipeg Stay at the Downtown Best Western... Excellent Service, amazing fine dining, all rooms have a balcony, a small games room and very very reasonable... within walking distance from the Man Ledg, The Forks, etc. I give it a 5 STAR rating in all categories, Only down is you have to pay $10 a day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janet B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your comments. More

Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Old and dirty hotel in a bad part of town. Rooms had an odour to them. Washrooms were clean but out-dated. Carpets in hallways were stinky also. Had to pay for parking on top of a hefty nightly charge and NO continental breakfast

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We value the comments of our guests. More

New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The BW Charterhouse is located downtown. We expected to pay for extra parking which was no surprise. When we settled in to our spacious, comfortable quiet room, the front reception even called us to confirm every thing was to our satisfaction. We went to the restaurant downstairs for an inexpensive meal. (They have two restaurants on the premises.) My Chicken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janet B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the room comfort. I have reviewed your comments with our Executive Chef. My Restaurant Managers and Supervisors provide me and the Chef with a report daily of any meals that are not at an acceptable standard. I was aware of your meals, and the... More

Dauphin, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was just a little disappointed at the appearance of the exterior of the hotel. It looked fairly plain and generic. However, the lobby and the rooms were excellently appointed. We had a comfortable stay in a single-king room with balcony. The only other complaint we had was that our neighbours on the next balcony were rather loud, but that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janet B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed the balcony. In the summer the balconies are definitely a popular request. We hope you will come an see us again soon. More

Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I made plans to overnight in Winnipeg to see the Winnipeg Art Gallery and the Forks Market before continuing our trip. I chose the Best Western for location and because they also provide an airport shuttle. The lobby is nothing to write home about - but the desk staff on duty (Corrie) made us feel right at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janet B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We pride ourselves on offering superior customer service and I am proud of my staff. We hope to see you again soon. More

Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I was actually going to write a pretty decent review until after I checked out and remembered I had left a couple bottles of alcohol in the fridge. I called back to reclaim it and they told me they were almost empty so they dumped it. The housekeeping manager either flat out lied to me or one of her housekeepers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I apologize that the items you left behind in the room were not available when you realized that you had left them behind. We are legislated to adhere to all Health and Safety guidelines as set out by the government. It is our policy that any food and beverage items which are left in the room and have... More

Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Ask Grant for anything and he will help you in some way. He has marvelous detailed knowledge of the city of Winnipeg. He will appropriately suggest alternatives if he feels you may be on the wrong track. Believe me, why not take advice from someone who actually lives here? He comes up with special ideas and really, he is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janet B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg, responded to this review

Thank you for acknowledging the customer service that your received during your stay from Grant. He is truly an asset to our organization and I will ensure that I share this review with him and all his colleagues. We appreciate your comments. More

Toronto, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Located in downtown Winnipeg. Close to restaurants and transportation. Comfy bed, adequate fitness center and good wifi. What would have made my stay better would have been complimentary breakfast like other locations

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janet B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg, responded to this review

I appreciate that you took the time to write a review for our hotel. We have been surveying our guests and found that most of our guests wanted a room rate without breakfast as they felt it was not a service they would use. They preferred rates that did not include breakfast. However, for guests who prefer to have their... More

Sooke, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Not only does this hotel claim to be a BW they have the audacity to say they belong to the BW Plus family. The only redeeming quality is that it is downtown - sort of. Front desk check in not friendly and certainly not helpful. Fortunately the check out person was much better. I made a request for hangers, they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I appreciate the comments and I will work with my team to ensure that we improve in the future. We have several rooms under renovation at the present time and the beds were standing to facilitate the work. We apologize and hope you will give us another opportunity... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg

Address: 330 York Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charter Hotel
Best Western Winnipeg
Winnipeg Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg Manitoba

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Winnipeg with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN Charterhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Downtown Winnipeg, located within walking distance to many corporate offices, entertainment venues, retail outlets and popular Winnipegsites including: The Winnipeg Convention Centre, MTS Centrehome of the Winnipeg Jets, Centennial Concert Hall, and the Forks Market Place. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
86

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer