We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canad Inns Garden City

2100 McPhillips Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2V 3T9, Canada
Hotel amenities
Canad Inns Garden City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #36 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Minimoss Kenora, Canada
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
5
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Kenora, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a one night stay. Staff was friendly and hotel was clean and appeared to have been renovated as of late. Pool was clean and fun for kids. Pool has water slide. Hot tub was just okay. Altos restaurant attached to hotel was horrible as per usual. Waitress did not seem to know her job. Didnt have enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duane B, General Manager at Canad Inns Garden City, responded to this review

I will start by thanking you for taking the time to let us know how we did. It appears we did a good job on the room side but our Aaltos restaurant under delivered. I apologize for that. We have been working very hard towards a great experience on each and every visit but obviously fell short on this occasion.... More 

Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Treated extremely well. Was given a beautiful suite, fantastic service from staff in Aaltos. Had both dinner then breakfast, and was excellent both times. Room was very clean and relaxing, my only complaint is I wasn't there long enough to truly enjoy it. A special thank you to Laura MacDonald for the over & above treatment. I would definitely stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duane B, General Manager at Canad Inns Garden City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Laura and her team do a great job for us and I will pass on your comments. Look forward to seeing you soon. Maybe you can stay longer!! More 

hrderthnu
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We stayed a night there in Feb. We know the hotel we take the kids there 2 times a year just to have a pool getaway during the winter. The pool is great the water slide is great but the kids themed rooms are getting old and depending on who works the counter depends on how friendly your check in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duane B, General Manager at Canad Inns Garden City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I will say I was disappointed to read that our staff are very inconsistent. We will continue to work with our staff to ensure all of our guests are taken care of and that if you have concerns we address them immediately. I apologize for that and... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 via mobile

Awesome service, this hotel has everything you need...from pool with water slide to Games bar (slot machines). We stayed in a themed room and was very happy with it. The room has 2 sets of bunk beds with an Xbox 360 console. Can sign out games from the front desk with controllers, but we brought our own. We had our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duane B, General Manager at Canad Inns Garden City, responded to this review

Jackie Very happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your recent stay here at Canad Inns Garden City. Looking forward to seeing you in the future Thank you for choosing Canad Inns Garden City! Cheers More 

Manitoba, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We had booked our room online, and when we arrived we were told they didn't have the room available, and had actually been sold out of the deluxe queen room for quite a while. We had booked it about an hour before arriving, and had prepaid for it already so we didn't know how that was possible, and my child... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duane B, General Manager at Canad Inns Garden City, responded to this review

I will start by thanking you for choosing Canad Inns Garden City on your recent visit to Winnipeg. I am glad to here Ronin worked his magic and found you a room suitable for your needs. Sometimes when you book a room with us using an on line service there is a delay in room availability and bookings and this... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

We booked one night on Christmas Eve using a great 50% off deal going on at the time, in the kids theme room, which has a window to the pool area. I had a lot of difficulties trying to book online, so eventually I called in & after a few attempts at trying to get connected to the right person,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duane B, General Manager at Canad Inns Garden City, responded to this review

Jacquie: Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I appreciate the feedback you have given us. Some of your comments echoed previous guests and we have put some new procedures in place to meet our guest's expectations. I am pleased to hear your children enjoyed their stay and especially the pool area. Life... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

We had the kids theme room next to the pool which was very nice, the front end staff was fantastic during check in and check out and met all our needs during our stay. The issues we have were no supervision in the pool area... kids were in there without there parents, running up the slide, shutting off the water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duane B, General Manager at Canad Inns Garden City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Canad Inns Garden City. I apologize again for the poor experience your family had, especially your daughter while trying to enjoy the pool area. I am glad we had an opportunity to discuss this directly last week. We have made some changes to ensure that... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Our stay was due to unfortunate circumstances of a death in the family. We made our arrangements with Laura and she and her staff were very courteous and considerate. I booked 2 rooms for my mother and for ourselves and they arranged for us to have an adjoining room at the end of the hall, which was very quiet. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duane B, General Manager at Canad Inns Garden City, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. I am glad we could help make a difficult time a little easier. I am also very pleased to hear our staff took the time to listen to your needs and worked to accommodate you and your family, both in the rooms side and in our Aaltos restaurant. I will forward on your kind... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We got 2 kids theme rooms for New Years Eve. Check in was a breeze, the front desk staff was really nice and accommodating, however, I was not advised that I was pre charged for both rooms. Being that 1 room was for friends of ours and I did not want to use my credit card for our room this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duane B, General Manager at Canad Inns Garden City, responded to this review

Vicki. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. Obviously we fell short in a few areas. I would like to apologize for the confusion in the billing process. I have reviewed your reservation and it seems it was taken through our Central Reservation office, and we did a poor job explaining the billing process... More 

winnipeg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

I stayed at the Canad Inn Garden city a few weeks ago. It was a nice room right beside the pool. The awful part was the light from the pool shone in the room all night and on my face. it was awful every time I turned towards the pool. Eventually I just used a safety pins to pin the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duane B, General Manager at Canad Inns Garden City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. i do apologize for the poor night sleep you had. I will have our team look into your concerns with the drapes in our theme rooms and i can assure you we will rectify your concerns. If you have any issues in the future while staying... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question