We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HI-Whistler

1035 Legacy Way | Whistler Village, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B5, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
HI-Whistler
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
HI-Whistler
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    54
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
22
36
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is my second stay at HI Whistler and I live it. I have a privat room, had that too for my forst stay. The rooms are so nice and it's verry good that they are made fir wheelchears. All the other hostels I saw woud be verry complicated with wheelchairs. Everything is clean and there is so much light... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

This hostel is better than any other I have stayed in in North America. Great staff, beautiful grounds, awesome communal spaces and nice rooms. Private room is very much like a 4 start hotel and shared rooms are spacious and have good facilities. As I said it is out of town which just means you have to catch the bus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Western Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Clean and friendly. Comfortable beds. Bathrooms were good but not enough for total of 8 people sharing a single toilet or shower in peak times. Too far from village to walk but a regular bus service helped at $2.50 a ticket. Taxi to village $20 at least. Cafe was good but limited choices. Staff friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

Staff was really fun! They offer us to play a board game with the others to help us meet new people. The Bed was confortable, the room was cleen and the place is great.not that far to the village and the parking is free! The resto is in the hostel and the meal taste good! Next time we gonna stop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Me and my friend stayed here in Feb for 4 nights in the 4 person female dorm. It was still very modern, clean, warm and comfortable. The beds were a little squeaky but you can get earplugs from the reception if bed noises and people walking in and out are a problem for you. best value for money considering whistler... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

I stayed here for Four nights while in Whistler. Its a really nice, clean hostel and the staff were really helpful. Its located outside Whistler Village so you would need to get a bus in if your not driving. The hostel has a nice cafe downstairs which is good because there isnt any other cafes in the area unless you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

The hostel is nice and modern, the beds are comfortable, good facilities and friendly staff, however, Cleanliness is not a strong point. After the toilets were "cleaned" they were still disgusting. There was hair and pistachio shells in my bed when I checked in. Also dirty socks and rubbish under the bed. The shower curtain was all mouldy and ripped.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan M, General Manager at HI-Whistler, responded to this review

Hello ClaireTravelsPlaces, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. Sorry we didn't meet your expectations in the cleanliness department. I assure you what you described is not up to standards for us either. If you have a moment, do you think you could contact me to give more details about your stay - so I can investigate?... More 

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

I stayed at the HI Whistler with my sister a number of years ago. At that time the location was at Alta Lake. I am somewhat sad to hear that they have moved. Even though the old location wasn't easy to find, it was truly beautiful. My only complaint was that a lot of people seem to go to Whistler... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Stayed here as a family for three nights. Teens had 4 bed dorm room and parents had double bed room with flat screen tv. Both rooms had private bathrooms. Very basic rooms. Heating worked well. Clean and comfortable. Large kitchen and fully equipped. Quiet stay. Bus stop out the front to take you to the Village. Car park available. Drying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

I stayed in a private 4 bed room at HI-Whistler over New Year's Eve and was pleased with my stay overall. The hostel was clean, the staff was friendly and the location is quite close/convenient to the slopes. The kitchen was easy to use, quite large and there were no noise issues to speak of. This is one of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay