We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HI-Whistler

1035 Legacy Way | Whistler Village, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B5, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
HI-Whistler
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
HI-Whistler
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    53
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
22
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my friend stayed here in Feb for 4 nights in the 4 person female dorm. It was still very modern, clean, warm and comfortable. The beds were a little squeaky but you can get earplugs from the reception if bed noises and people walking in and out are a problem for you. best value for money considering whistler... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for Four nights while in Whistler. Its a really nice, clean hostel and the staff were really helpful. Its located outside Whistler Village so you would need to get a bus in if your not driving. The hostel has a nice cafe downstairs which is good because there isnt any other cafes in the area unless you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hostel is nice and modern, the beds are comfortable, good facilities and friendly staff, however, Cleanliness is not a strong point. After the toilets were "cleaned" they were still disgusting. There was hair and pistachio shells in my bed when I checked in. Also dirty socks and rubbish under the bed. The shower curtain was all mouldy and ripped.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan M, General Manager at HI-Whistler, responded to this review

Hello ClaireTravelsPlaces, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. Sorry we didn't meet your expectations in the cleanliness department. I assure you what you described is not up to standards for us either. If you have a moment, do you think you could contact me to give more details about your stay - so I can investigate?... More 

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

I stayed at the HI Whistler with my sister a number of years ago. At that time the location was at Alta Lake. I am somewhat sad to hear that they have moved. Even though the old location wasn't easy to find, it was truly beautiful. My only complaint was that a lot of people seem to go to Whistler... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Stayed here as a family for three nights. Teens had 4 bed dorm room and parents had double bed room with flat screen tv. Both rooms had private bathrooms. Very basic rooms. Heating worked well. Clean and comfortable. Large kitchen and fully equipped. Quiet stay. Bus stop out the front to take you to the Village. Car park available. Drying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

I stayed in a private 4 bed room at HI-Whistler over New Year's Eve and was pleased with my stay overall. The hostel was clean, the staff was friendly and the location is quite close/convenient to the slopes. The kitchen was easy to use, quite large and there were no noise issues to speak of. This is one of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Stayed here for a few days in Dec 2014 and it was quite busy as you can imagine with snow season and the holidays. I was in a 4 bed dorm with mixed bathroom. The shower room was a bit average and the room we slept in was quite crowded, there wasn't much room on the floor for people to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014 via mobile

Overall this hostel is in the top tier of hostels that I have stayed at. It's more like staying at a hotel with communal chill out areas and cooking facilities. We found it to be clean and the temperature of the rooms was great. 20 minutes from whistler village by bus, which run regularly, the hostel is a good location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

I stayed at the HI Whistler for 2 weeks mid-late October whilst searching for seasonal accommodation. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm which was small but very clean, as was the bathroom and toilet area. The communal areas are big and great to meet people, with a large pool room and kitchen area. WiFi was fine when the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Bad location, no restaurants around or shops. Bus service okay but slow. Staff okay but annoying every time I wanted a hair dryer I had to put my ID behind the counter. The worst thing was its temperature. Either freezing or boiling. Rooms look clean from outside but it's not when you move in. Hair all over bed, sheets and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan M, Manager at HI-Whistler, responded to this review

Dear Chillout1571, I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Yes, we are outside the main village, but it's one of the reasons how we can keep our rates in check while still having this caliber and size of a facility. Our neighbourhood is still pretty new, but it is growing. There are actually some interesting shops and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to HI-Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Whistler

Address: 1035 Legacy Way | Whistler Village, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your HI-Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Whistler Youth Hotel Whistler

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay