We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HI-Whistler

1035 Legacy Way | Whistler Village, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B5, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
HI-Whistler
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
HI-Whistler
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    49
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
21
34
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (104)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in a private 4 bed room at HI-Whistler over New Year's Eve and was pleased with my stay overall. The hostel was clean, the staff was friendly and the location is quite close/convenient to the slopes. The kitchen was easy to use, quite large and there were no noise issues to speak of. This is one of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a few days in Dec 2014 and it was quite busy as you can imagine with snow season and the holidays. I was in a 4 bed dorm with mixed bathroom. The shower room was a bit average and the room we slept in was quite crowded, there wasn't much room on the floor for people to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Overall this hostel is in the top tier of hostels that I have stayed at. It's more like staying at a hotel with communal chill out areas and cooking facilities. We found it to be clean and the temperature of the rooms was great. 20 minutes from whistler village by bus, which run regularly, the hostel is a good location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

I stayed at the HI Whistler for 2 weeks mid-late October whilst searching for seasonal accommodation. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm which was small but very clean, as was the bathroom and toilet area. The communal areas are big and great to meet people, with a large pool room and kitchen area. WiFi was fine when the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Bad location, no restaurants around or shops. Bus service okay but slow. Staff okay but annoying every time I wanted a hair dryer I had to put my ID behind the counter. The worst thing was its temperature. Either freezing or boiling. Rooms look clean from outside but it's not when you move in. Hair all over bed, sheets and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan M, Manager at HI-Whistler, responded to this review

Dear Chillout1571, I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Yes, we are outside the main village, but it's one of the reasons how we can keep our rates in check while still having this caliber and size of a facility. Our neighbourhood is still pretty new, but it is growing. There are actually some interesting shops and... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

The hostel was quite nice, the staff were really friendly as well. The rooms were cleaned daily and so were the bathrooms. There are 4 people to a room and each room either has its own bathroom or shares with one other room. The hostel is a bit of a distance from the village if you dont have a car,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan M, Manager at HI-Whistler, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. As for location, yes we do realize we are far from the village. There is a grocery store half the distance to the village and there is also an organic food market within walking distance. Next time you are here Front Desk can give you... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Really good amenities and the best hostel kitchen I've ever seen. Really comfortable place to stay and meet new people although it's a bit far away from Whistler town and means paying $5 to get there and back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

I came into this hostel for 60$ per night with a friend because my favorite hostel was full-booked. I was paying for her as well. I was expecting $120 with tax. When I came in they said I had to pay nearly $200. I thought "Whatever, I must be miscount something" and went to our co-ed dorm. I wanted to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

This is a very nice hostel, feels like a hotel more than a hostel. The location isn't the closest to the village but there is a bus that stops right outside the hostel that will take you to the village. They could pay more attention to detail when cleaning, wasn't the cleanest. The second floor and the doors slamming is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

This is a really nice hostel. It's clean, reception is helpful and there's everything a traveller could need. It's not right in the centre of town but there's a bus that's super easy to catch and is really frequent. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to HI-Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Whistler

Address: 1035 Legacy Way | Whistler Village, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your HI-Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Whistler Youth Hotel Whistler

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay