We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HI-Whistler

1035 Legacy Way | Whistler Village, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B5, Canada
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
HI-Whistler
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
HI-Whistler
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    48
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
20
33
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the HI Whistler for 2 weeks mid-late October whilst searching for seasonal accommodation. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm which was small but very clean, as was the bathroom and toilet area. The communal areas are big and great to meet people, with a large pool room and kitchen area. WiFi was fine when the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bad location, no restaurants around or shops. Bus service okay but slow. Staff okay but annoying every time I wanted a hair dryer I had to put my ID behind the counter. The worst thing was its temperature. Either freezing or boiling. Rooms look clean from outside but it's not when you move in. Hair all over bed, sheets and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan M, Manager at HI-Whistler, responded to this review

Dear Chillout1571, I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Yes, we are outside the main village, but it's one of the reasons how we can keep our rates in check while still having this caliber and size of a facility. Our neighbourhood is still pretty new, but it is growing. There are actually some interesting shops and... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

The hostel was quite nice, the staff were really friendly as well. The rooms were cleaned daily and so were the bathrooms. There are 4 people to a room and each room either has its own bathroom or shares with one other room. The hostel is a bit of a distance from the village if you dont have a car,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryan M, Manager at HI-Whistler, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. As for location, yes we do realize we are far from the village. There is a grocery store half the distance to the village and there is also an organic food market within walking distance. Next time you are here Front Desk can give you... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Really good amenities and the best hostel kitchen I've ever seen. Really comfortable place to stay and meet new people although it's a bit far away from Whistler town and means paying $5 to get there and back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

I came into this hostel for 60$ per night with a friend because my favorite hostel was full-booked. I was paying for her as well. I was expecting $120 with tax. When I came in they said I had to pay nearly $200. I thought "Whatever, I must be miscount something" and went to our co-ed dorm. I wanted to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

This is a very nice hostel, feels like a hotel more than a hostel. The location isn't the closest to the village but there is a bus that stops right outside the hostel that will take you to the village. They could pay more attention to detail when cleaning, wasn't the cleanest. The second floor and the doors slamming is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

This is a really nice hostel. It's clean, reception is helpful and there's everything a traveller could need. It's not right in the centre of town but there's a bus that's super easy to catch and is really frequent. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

This Hostel is amazing! It's really more like a hotel! We stayed in a private en suite double and really it was like a fairly decent hotel room! They even laid out folded towels and toiletries at the end of the bed! The kitchen/dining facilities and common areas were just fantastic, with amazing views and a lovely outdoor balcony/seating area.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Nice clean basic room, however I was pleased that we had only booked to stay here for 3 nights. The location is good, if you have a car it is only a short drive to Whistler Village. My biggest issue with this hostel is their lack of respect and courtesy for all of their guests not just the rowdy partying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This place has everything basic if not fancy( that's what we needed!), nice location, elevator, kitchen, clean rooms, enough parking, free wi-fi and a cordial staff. We loved our stay over there and would love to visit this place again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to HI-Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Whistler

Address: 1035 Legacy Way | Whistler Village, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your HI-Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Whistler Youth Hotel Whistler

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay