We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arbutus Inn

2.0 of 5 2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn Central)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arbutus Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Arbutus Inn
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    33
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
34
38
21
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location with parking and on Bus Routes to downtown.Rooms were clean and comfortable although rather cramped with the 2 beds.Not a major problem as we were not in the room for long ABC Country Diner next door did a good breakfast and gives discount to guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As we checked into this hotel the front desk clerk stated that he would do a preauth transaction on my credit card for a damage deposit. I wasn't worried until I looked at the amount of about $500.00. When I asked the front desk clerk about the amount. He rolled his eyes and began telling me it was for my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review

Dear Michal I, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We do explain on our website and with booking.com which was the reservation site you booked thought that a preauth deposit is required at check in. We take a preauth of your full stay plus a deposit. Your credit card is only then completed at check out for the room... More

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is a clean, comfortable hotel but does not include breakfast in the rate. for the price should be included. recommended for comfortable sleeping. Better than nothing!!! Simple decoration. And good parking. I think is a little expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vancouver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

great hotel it was very clean and very quite also,awesome location close to downtown,mayfair shopping mall which is also awesome,very nice helpful staff,would stay here again for sure,good value at this hotel,nice modern rooms,

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Staff was a great plus, always friendly and helpful. We stayed there for 4 nights and the room was quiet and rather clean. However, what kind of bothered me was the hair on my fresh towel (obviously someone elses since they were dark and thick while mine are blonde and thin). Also if you want to walk downtown prepare for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

The other reviews and the pictures led to a very disappointing experience. The hotel is located on Douglas Street in the middle of industrial/parking lots/businesses. The reception area reeked of smoke. The rooms were stale. The windows had a lock, but our window could still be opened. (When we called the attendant regarding the problem he did not offer help.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review

Dear SeattleGin, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay. I wish you had contacted me directly during your stay or even after you left so I could have make your stay right and addressed your concerns. You can still do so if you would like. I can... More

Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Exceptional Service by all staff, a very nice change. Love the Non-Smoking! Rooms were very clean and beds very comfy with above-average linens. It was surprisingly very quiet considering you are next to a major road. Great location, close to Shopping Malls and Downtown. We will definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review

Dear Theresa W, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor We appreciate you kind words and we will also pass them onto our housekeeping department. Thank you once again. More

Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

Fine place to stay for a stopover. Room bit cramped, but beds comfy. Staff on front desk were helpful .. Wifi worked very well. No lift, so carring luggage up and down stairs not easy. Nearby ABC diner does great breakfast and offers discount to those staying at this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review

Dear MadJam250, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you once again for your feedback. More

Langley, BC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, August 15 and 16 2014 Great budget hotel near downtown Victoria. ABC Restaurant next door, bus service on main highway, and a National car rental agency in the lobby. Major shopping mall (Mayfair) within walking distance. Simple no frills room (the one we had) with a king bed. The rooms are comfortable, and clean, with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review

Dear World2 Sea, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate you taking the time to let other know about our hotel. Great information for all our future guests. We look forward to having you as a guest again in the future. Thank you once again for the review. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Stayed here for the night while moving my daughter to college. Recommended by friends and family. Great service and a nice quiet location. Inexpensive cab ride to downtown. Very clean room. Would definitely stay here again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Arbutus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Inn

Address: 2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn Central)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arbutus Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Arbutus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Central

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay