We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandman Hotel Victoria

2852 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M5, Canada
Hotel amenities
Sandman Hotel Victoria
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #43 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Deedlet Chilliwack, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    29
    48
    16
    8
See reviews for
26
32
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel had a great value for a JR. Suite room which had fridge, microwave, stove and 2 TVs. My only complaint was that the shower made a god awful high pitched noise the entire time you showered. It was very annoying, but other than that it was very quite and comfortable. The room-service is very expensive and the food is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We appreciate your comments and so happy that you enjoyed your junior suite. They are a nice spacious room in which our guests such as yourself really enjoy. We have looked into the noise in the shower and rectified this by replacing the fitting. Due to your feedback we are able to address this... More 

Dunan, BC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The front desk check in was very smooth. The front desk was very helpful and pleasant to deal with. The room we had was VERY small. The bathroom however, was a nice size. I don't want to go into details, but the room was not clean. More specifically, the bathroom door. The issue was resolved, but U don't think I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your feedback. I appreciate you kind words praising our front end team. They truly are extremely hospitable and want to ensure each guest has an exceptional experience. I will be sure to share these comments with them. As for your dissapointment over the cleanliness of your room, I sincerely apologize. We pride ourselves on... More 

3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Heyyo, for the price and location? It was a decent stay. The staff was kind, the hotel was clean and the room was decent. Parking was ok and for people who smoke? There's a dedicated bench near the main entrance and parking lot. The downsides? Breakfast not included but at least the paid breakfast was good... But the wifi was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback. It allows us to know what our guests expect of us and also what we are doing right. Thanks you for your wonderful comments regarding our team. They do go above and beyond and provide exceptional service to all of our guests. I will be sure to share this information with them. We pride... More 

Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It does need an upgrade, but it was clean and tidy, so not a complaint, more an observation. Staff were great. We didn't use the restaurant, or the pool, so no comment there. The newlyweds (our son and new daughter-in-law) who took us on a whirlwind two week tour of BC, were very happy with their spa-equipped room. Would I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

We appreciate the great feedback and I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again real soon. PS We are going to be undergoing upgrades in the near future. Kindest Regards, Brian Johnson General Manager More 

San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a room here after having a HORRIBLE stay over at the Comfort Inn just a few blocks away. The Comfort Inn was SO bad that it made this place seem like the Taj Mahal. Rooms as ok, pool was awesome, not very noisy. Pretty average hotel so not too bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. I appreciate your comments and glad that we were able to welcome you to stay with us here at the Sandman Victoria. We pride ourselves on the service we offer and glad that you noticed that. Our indoor pool and hot tub is one of our guests favourite hotel amenities and glad you had the opportunity... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

I had a meeting in Victoria at the Delta (which was beautiful) and a coworker was staying at the Sandman so I stayed there for one night. All of the other reviews are correct, run down, tired and I found the wifi really frustratingly slow. I wish that I'd stayed at the Delta! Don't bother staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback. It allows us to know what our guests expect of us and also what we are doing right. We are in the process of upgrading our internet to possibly have one of the strongest hotel wi-fi connections in Victoria. We do have a very strong connection now but want to ensure that for all... More 

Travelers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

It is ok hotel and a Clean hotel, far way to Victoria downtown. I was disappointed was so far way from downtown. We were plan to walk to downtown, no way with my 4 and 2 years old. Hotel itself need some new update, bathroom was old.and Bathtub was small.

Was this review helpful? Yes
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback Vicki Lili. We appreciate it. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our hotel and will be sure to share your feedback with all of our housekeeping team. Most of our guests prefer our location to the inner harbour area as we are centrally located and 20 minutes walk to the inner harbour or... More 

Delta, BC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

Stayed here for one night on business. Overall it was a disappointing experience mixed with a couple of positives. I didn't feel like I got good value for the amount paid even though I was on a relatively inexpensive corporate rate. Upside: Very friendly check-in experience. The property is easy to find and is about midway between the downtown/harbour and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

I've stayed here many times over the years. I choose it because it has one of the best pools in Victoria, it has free parking, and it is very conveniently located. The rooms are always clean and the beds always comfortable. I don't give it a very high rating because it is really looking tired - many areas need repair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We value the feedback and thank you for the wonderful compliments. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and I will be sure to share this with the rest of our team. Our rooms are constantly undergoing upgrades to meet the needs and wants of... More 

Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Ended up booking their Jacuzzi suit (room 311) as they were sold out of regular rooms. Arrived at 4pm and the room wasn't ready. No big deal we went to our friends room for a drink and our room was ready within a half an hour. The room was definitely used. The jacuzzi tub looked stained and had some stress... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry for the experience in which you encountered and can assure we value your feedback and will act upon it. As the jacuzzi tubs are the original tubs we are looking at having these tubs refinished in the near future. They work great however as any shower tub... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#35 of 58 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#33 of 58 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Travelodge Victoria
#30 of 58 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capital City Center Hotel
#34 of 58 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay