We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 110 Victoria B&Bs / inns

Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1028 Bewdley Avenue, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 6S9, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
93%
Ranked #21 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013
Megan N Vancouver, Canada
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
38
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I came here for my birthday week and it was so relaxing. The B&B was right by a beach/ park called Macauley Park, so it was nice that the beach was right there. The B&B was in a very quiet neighbourhood which was nice b/c we're from a busy city. The owners were so nice and quirky... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

We are really glad you enjoyed your birthday week. We are happy we could help make it better. That is our job, so it is really nice to get the feedback. Come back again. More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My friend and I booked our weekend stay at Hemingway's via Hotels.com where we paid $178/night plus tax for the 2 bedroom apartment (named as The Lion's Den on Hemingway's own personal website). Upon arrival, we were disappointed to find that the property was not quite as pictured on the websites (hotels.com and hemingway's own site). Although we were greeted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that you are disappointed in your stay with us. Your booking came through from Hotels.com and it was for one room for two people. When you arrived, for some reason you thought you had booked two rooms. So, to accommodate your needs, I gave you a very special rate on the two rooms. If you had... More

Redmond, Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were celebrating our 35th anniversary with a trip to Vancouver Island. Hemingway's-by-the-Sea was our first stop. We stayed four nights. My husband and I have been staying in Bed and Breakfasts for almost 30 years. Ilona stands far and above any of the innkeepers we've met. We stayed in the Key West room. Waiting for us was an anniversary... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the very kind words. We are oh so glad that we could make your anniversary a bit more special. Ilona and Nicole More

Port Townsend, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We just returned home yesterday from our three night honeymoon stay at the Hemingway's by the Sea, staying in the Hemingway Suite. From the stained glass mermaid window and mirror in the bathroom, complete with two shower heads and a large garden tub made of marble; to the partial canopied extremely comfortable king size bed; to the personal balcony; to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

The Hemingway Suite was made for Honeymooners. Thanks Annie for you kind comments. We really enjoyed having you at Hemingway's. Have a great life together. Ilona and Nicole. More

Colfax, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is why we love bed & breakfasts! Our room was clean and comfortable, and we slept really well! The hostess was delightful and very accommodating. She tried very hard to meet our every need for comfort, schedule, and help. It was relaxing and lovely. We stayed in the Kenya room. The bed was extremely comfortable. The large (private) bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Beth for the kind remarks. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Come again! More

Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our first B & B experience so I was anxious that my husband enjoy it (he seemed uncomfortable being in a house rather than a hotel). We booked the Hemingway's Suite which was enormous. It had a new king-size bed that was the best bed I had found in a hotel ever! There is a large soaking tub... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Linda for the kind remarks. We are so glad we could help convert your husband to the Bed and Breakfast experience. There is nothing like it in hotels. More

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The location is minutes from downtown. Ilona was very helpful and friendly. She and her daughter provided very nice breakfasts. Music played during breakfast and food included crepes, french toasts, bagles, fruits, eggs, bacon, coffee, tea, smoked salmon, soft boiled eggs and more. Ilona helped us to plan our day trips. The room we rented was large and clean. Would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind comments Alan, we work hard to put on a great breakfast. Glad you enjoyed it so much. Come back again. Ilona More

salem, oregon
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Four of us stayed in the Serengeti room for a weekend of tourist activities. We enjoyed the quiet B&B and our innkeeper's sweet nature and delicious breakfasts. We had a king bed and hideabed, which wasn't ideal but all we could afford. The B&B was close to the marina and we took a water taxi to downtown. Very relaxing stay.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. We are very glad you had a great stay and would love to see you back again. Thanks for taking time to write. More

Garwood, Idaho, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The owner & her daughter were great hostesses. The home has plenty of room to provide privacy when you want it, but great common areas when you want to socialize. They revived my interest in operating a bed & breakfast, which I had set aside 15 years ago. They were very patient, considering all the frustrations they could have with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks. This summer was a true test of our business due to an illness, so your comments mean more than every. Thanks for your support. More

Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Wow! Located in a quiet neighborhood close to downtown Victoria - easy access by bus or car. Friendly, very accommodating. Comfortable room with comfortable bed and beautiful view of the bay. There is also a spirit of camaraderie in the evening over wine, if desired.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilona154945, Manager at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you kind comments as they mean a lot to me. Wine to end the day is always a good plan. Nicole More

Been to Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1028 Bewdley Avenue, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 6S9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway's By the Sea is a beautiful B&B in supernatural Victoria British Columbia Canada on Vancouver Island. Hemingway's is an elegant Victorian Tudor-Style B&B filled with charm, comfort, romance and warm hospitality. We are only 3.8 km (2.36 miles & 7 minutes from downtown), 2 blocks from the ocean (Fleming Beach) and just 1.6 km (1 mile) to spectacular Saxe Point Park with stunning views of Juan de Fuca Strait and the majestic Olympic Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.