We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Strathcona Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
919 Douglas St | British Columbia, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2C2, Canada
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Strathcona Hotel
Review This Hotel

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    76
    66
    27
    31
See reviews for
30
89
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (228)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Port Angeles, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our stay was awesome! The bed was super comfortable and the hotel staff were very nice and accommodating. I wished there was more natural light from windows but it's not a big deal. My only complaints are with the bathroom. There definitely was not enough light, the water pressure was terrible, and the shower head wasn't that great either and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A nicely recently renovated hotel in downtown Victoria. The hotel, restaurant, roof top and night club are well known with locals. Everything is within walking distance. The "Stath" as it is known locally has a roof top restaurant and beach volleyball in the summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

CDN, thank you for the review on the Strathcona Hotel and our venues. Just as a note the Rooftop Patio and Roofsand volleyball courts are open May thru September. More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Surrounded by homeless people outside the Strathcona claims to be a hotel but its more like a backpackers hostel. My room was small, dated and smelt real bad. The windows don't keep any noise out - even on the top floor! So when the nightclub on the bottom floor kicks out you can hear everything. Breakfast was a few stale... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brie-Anne E, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are located in the downtown core and with that adds additonal guests visiting the night club and pubs within the premises. Our continental breakfast is free of charge to all of our hotel guests and serves as an added service.... More 

Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Strathcona is a good example of one of those increasingly rare old gems that are still in service. I only stayed one night in this charming throw-back to another time but I thoroughly enjoyed what it had to offer. It felt a bit like spending a night at the museum (although nothing unexpected came to life). Yes, the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Sharich, Thank you for taking time to write a review of the Strathcona Hotel. You have let travellers coming to Victoria known who we are and what we do best. Your review is spot on and will be appreciated by future visitors to Victoria and the Strathcona Hotel. More 

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We always stay here when funds are limited. It is $69 0r $79 for A Room, $20 Credit in the pub, Free parking, ($15-$20 elsewhere), and a large Continental breakfast. The rooms are basic, small, poorly renovated and have that older home smell. But your in victoria. Walk around, go to a restaurant, have a coffee. This hotel could not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

VanisleTwo. I am pleased you enjoy the Strathcona Hotel when visiting Victoria. There are some packages you can book on the Strathcona Hotel website that include free parking and a Sticky Wicket Pub coupon but for basic Hotel reservations there is a parking fee of $10.00, still inexpensive for a downtown property, and there is not a pub coupon included.... More 

Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I don't normally write review for hotels but this one deserve it for being the best of all in the end of a long travel across the pacific coast. We were really pleased by our stay at the Strathcona Hotel everything was great and there even was a funny seagull sneaking at our window every morning. The breakfast, tea and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Mauded193, Thank you for taking time to wright a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, our continental breakfast and an even bigger thank you for the kind comments about our staff. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited this hotelcback in 2013 with a group of friends we had 5 in each bedroom and the rooms were so spacious and up to date. So to say I got a nasty surprise when I brought my parents there on their visit from Ireland is an understatement!! I booked two rooms both with queen beds. The rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Langley, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We stayed two nights - mid week. If your intention is to explore downtown Victoria then this hotel is brilliantly situated. Breakfast was fairly ordinary but sufficient (muffins, cereal, fruit, cereal, waffles and toast). Real fruit juice (not concentrate) and hot milk would have been amazing! The rooms are small but tidy and neat. We are glad we came at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Sanjo, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sure your comments will be appreciated by future travels. More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We stayed here for a Fri & Sat night. The good: rooms are clean, bed is comfy, location is very good (downtown close to seafront, restaurants and shops), staff are cheerful and attentive and cheap (including a pretty ordinary but passable continental breakfast) The bad: rooms tired and outdated, shower lacks water pressure, but above all else it is just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Terry, Thank you for your review. Yes we are a part of the vibrate Downtown Victoria Nightlife so requesting a room on the north side of the Hotel would help with the noise. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

It was tricky to decide between 3 and 4 stars for this place, as it is quite an average hotel in terms of the room/facilities but fantastic in terms of location and very good in terms of value. All in all I would very much recommend this place to people looking to get away for a fun weekend in Victoria!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

hlm23. Thank you for reviewing the Strathcona Hotel. We are always trying to improve our service and accommodations. We have just ordered new bedding what will help improve the look and feel of all the rooms. I may borrow part of your tag line 'this is a great little building full of entertainment" for new editorials. Thank you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question