We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Strathcona Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
919 Douglas St | British Columbia, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2C2, Canada
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Strathcona Hotel
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    78
    66
    27
    31
See reviews for
30
92
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (231)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an older hotel in the heart of downtown Victoria. It is located near all the cool stuff to do in Victoria and is cost effective. We liked this place and would stay here again. Based on the cost effectiveness of the property we were wondering what we were in for but we were pleasantly surprised. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Foodie, I am pleased your enjoyed your stay at the Strathcona Hotel. Your comments about the Hotel will be helpful to people visiting out beautiful city. Cheers. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very classical looking foyer and rooms. Friendly staff, parking nearby at reasonable price. Food and bar located next door and accessible from the hotel reception and the street so you don't need to leave the hotel if you don't want to. The hotel is also located near the USA ferry terminal. The biggest downside was the noise from outside as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Brett, Thank you for taking time to write a review. Just a note about the windows. The front of the Hotel has a Heritage designation by the City of Victoria so we could onlydoubled glazed the windows but had to keep the original wooden window frames and they are not the best at keeping out noise. The other 3 sides... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well firstly I would like to thank the staff for all their help and kindness, we landed after a difficult day of late coaches and delayed ferries, we ate in the sticky wicket pub which had lovely warming food, and super kind staff, we even had 2 drinks on the house due to a miserable travel down! We were welcomed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Ollie, What a great review for the Strathcona Hotel, the Sticky Wicket and our staff. I stopped by the Hotel desk before writing this and thanked them once again on your behalf. Your comments will be very helpful to future guest travel to Victoria. More 

Port Angeles, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our stay was awesome! The bed was super comfortable and the hotel staff were very nice and accommodating. I wished there was more natural light from windows but it's not a big deal. My only complaints are with the bathroom. There definitely was not enough light, the water pressure was terrible, and the shower head wasn't that great either and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Jill, Thank you for your review. I will pass along your comments about the shower hears to our housekeeping department. Next time you are in Victoria please ask for me so I can say hello. Joel. More 

Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A nicely recently renovated hotel in downtown Victoria. The hotel, restaurant, roof top and night club are well known with locals. Everything is within walking distance. The "Stath" as it is known locally has a roof top restaurant and beach volleyball in the summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

CDN, thank you for the review on the Strathcona Hotel and our venues. Just as a note the Rooftop Patio and Roofsand volleyball courts are open May thru September. More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Surrounded by homeless people outside the Strathcona claims to be a hotel but its more like a backpackers hostel. My room was small, dated and smelt real bad. The windows don't keep any noise out - even on the top floor! So when the nightclub on the bottom floor kicks out you can hear everything. Breakfast was a few stale... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brie-Anne E, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are located in the downtown core and with that adds additonal guests visiting the night club and pubs within the premises. Our continental breakfast is free of charge to all of our hotel guests and serves as an added service.... More 

Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

The Strathcona is a good example of one of those increasingly rare old gems that are still in service. I only stayed one night in this charming throw-back to another time but I thoroughly enjoyed what it had to offer. It felt a bit like spending a night at the museum (although nothing unexpected came to life). Yes, the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Sharich, Thank you for taking time to write a review of the Strathcona Hotel. You have let travellers coming to Victoria known who we are and what we do best. Your review is spot on and will be appreciated by future visitors to Victoria and the Strathcona Hotel. More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We always stay here when funds are limited. It is $69 0r $79 for A Room, $20 Credit in the pub, Free parking, ($15-$20 elsewhere), and a large Continental breakfast. The rooms are basic, small, poorly renovated and have that older home smell. But your in victoria. Walk around, go to a restaurant, have a coffee. This hotel could not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

VanisleTwo. I am pleased you enjoy the Strathcona Hotel when visiting Victoria. There are some packages you can book on the Strathcona Hotel website that include free parking and a Sticky Wicket Pub coupon but for basic Hotel reservations there is a parking fee of $10.00, still inexpensive for a downtown property, and there is not a pub coupon included.... More 

Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

I don't normally write review for hotels but this one deserve it for being the best of all in the end of a long travel across the pacific coast. We were really pleased by our stay at the Strathcona Hotel everything was great and there even was a funny seagull sneaking at our window every morning. The breakfast, tea and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel C, Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Mauded193, Thank you for taking time to wright a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, our continental breakfast and an even bigger thank you for the kind comments about our staff. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 via mobile

I visited this hotelcback in 2013 with a group of friends we had 5 in each bedroom and the rooms were so spacious and up to date. So to say I got a nasty surprise when I brought my parents there on their visit from Ireland is an understatement!! I booked two rooms both with queen beds. The rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question