We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 57 Victoria hotels

Island Travel Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4K6, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn Downtown) (Downtown)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Island Travel Inn to your Saves list
Island Travel Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
23%
Ranked #57 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    8
    2
    13
See reviews for
7
10
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Upon check in, you're made to sign a waiver stating you won't smoke in the hotel, yet the room reeked of smoke and had numerous burn holes in the bedding. The bed was horrible and seemed many years old. I would definitely look for a different place next time I visit the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We just needed a bed for 8 hours until the early ferry. This place was economic (~$100) so we took it sight unseen while transiting to Victoria from Sea Kayaking up in the Broken Islands. The bed was the best part. Clean, firm with good pillows. The A/C didn't work and the front desk was clueless as to how to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great location and friendly front desk people. But the microwave in the room didn't work, and the hairdryer burnt out, we got another after two requests. We were awoken at 5.00am by the front door man entering our room, never did find out why that happened. The other thing was that our rubbish wasn't emptied for 3 days and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

As many of the other reviews have horror stories-- I believe everything everyone has to say. We stayed for a few nights at this location and decided to cancel our last few nights Lacks service. When you leave for the day and come back to an unmade bed, beer bottles still in your room that were near the door, counters... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Good: The location - about 1 km from Victoria's inner harbour. Parking is close to the entrance. Liked the king size beds with good mattresses. Room has a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. Good wifi. The staff at the front desk is friendly and very helpful. The room rates are competitive. Not so good: The overall cleanliness leaves a bit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Skipton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Under new management this hotel was awful. The rolm had not been prepared, there were no towels and when some eventually arrived they were fill of holes and torn. There were no coffee making facilities in the room and at one point were unable to supply any tea. This hotel should be avoided at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in May for a friends birthday and will never make the mistake of staying here again. When we first arrived it was dirty, did not have towels or any soap in the bathroom, and the furniture was falling apart. We barely were in our hotel at all and when we left my visa got charged... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Worst hotel we have ever stayed in, and we travel as a family a lot and are not picky by any means. Our room had ants everywhere....not just a couple...I mean tons of them! Crawling on the dirty bedspreads, on the furnishings, on the walls. The carpets were absolutely filthy and we decided to keep our shoes on. Toilet did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Surrey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Having stayed for a night at a couple of the other Travellers Inn hotels in Victoria, we tried this one on the Victoria Day weekend for Saturday night. Booked a 2 king room, and when we arrived we opened the door to one king (for the four of us). After some time, they were able to find another room which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trevor P, Manager at Island Travel Inn, responded to this review

I am really sorry about the mix up on the long weekend with the rooms. I have had a talk with my desk agents about this and to make sure they have the room types right prior to check in Again sorry for the mishap and we would love to earn your business again please email me direct at gmislandtravel@gmail.com... More

Calgary
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a rather short visit at this hotel, as we checked in a little after 1 am on our holidays, over spring break. Our son crawled into bed after a long day of traveliing and we were so lookin forward to a hot shower and comfie bed to sleep in...when he felt something and we pulled back the covers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trevor P, Manager at Island Travel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review. As you know all large cities have Mice problems we have dealt with this issue in a very fast manner and have not had any further issues. If you would like to contact me direct at gmislandtravel@gmail.com and I can send you a direct email Thanks Trevor More

Been to Island Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Travel Inn

Also Known As:
Traveller`s Inn Downtown Hotel
Traveller`s Inn Downtown Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Downtown
Travellers Hotel Victoria
Address: 1850 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4K6, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn Downtown)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Travel Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Victoria location features 78 rooms. Free high-speed internet access in lobby, free parking. King size beds, air-conditioning, working desks and in-room coffee/tea. Jacuzzi suites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Island Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Travel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.