We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Ottawagal62 Ottawa, Canada
Add Photo

719 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    356
    261
    72
    18
    12
See reviews for
182
259
63
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (719)
  • Mar-May only
    (172)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (247)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (185)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (115)
All months
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked the Best Western Carleton Plaza at the last minute, for a quick business-related trip. My stay was a short one, for one night only and I found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and welcoming. Staff helped us out with maps and pointing out our travel route when we decided to take a 25 minute walk to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Good hotel, friendly staff, rooms are nice but small. Staff is very friendly and attentive. There is currently no restaurant in the hotel, but there are lots of good places for breakfast or dinner in the area. Hotel is in a great location within walking distance of the harbour, etc. the one thing I didn't like is that the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jarales nm, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the room was excellent. the staff was young, professional, knowledgeable and helpful. the staff was well dressed and spoke very clearly. they made my wife and my stay as we planned for one night and extended for three with no problem. Thanks so much kids. You are the best western in the west.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sukhothai, Thailand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Awesome room! Very clean, staff was helpful. Great location close to the harbor and many great restaurants. This was my second time staying at this location and again I am extremely happy with our experience.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night before leaving for Vancouver. The room was HUGE! It had two beds, a living room area with sofa and chairs, and a kitchen. The beds were very comfortable as well. The location was great. Very close to lots of restaurants and shopping. The service was great and everyone was super helpful. I'd definitely recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, LbeforeE, for your kind review of our hotel, and we’re glad that you enjoyed one of our suites. The suites are a great option for travellers, as they are larger and do provide a couch, kitchenette, and table. Guests find staying in a suite, which is only $20 more a night, does save them money because they do... More 

Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We needed a hotel for meeting up with friends for dining and exploring. This was a good choice. An older but well kept property, friendly and helpful staff. Valet parking. Comfortable rooms and a good breakfast at the connected coffee shop. An easy walk to several good eateries and some specialty shops. Would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such as nice review, vv67954. We’re happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are close to many great restaurants, and the staff is always happy to give recommendations and directions, but we are pleased to announce that we do have a new restaurant that just opened up in our hotel called the London Tube. They... More 

Merriam, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has small, but comfortable rooms - we were only there for one night, but found everything adequate and clean. The location was a big plus - it was in walking distance for just about anywhere we wanted to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, Masit888. We’re glad that you found the room comfortable and clean. We do have an excellent housekeeping staff that does a great job of making sure every room is professionally cleaned and welcoming for every guest. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again. More 

Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed staying here - our room was upgraded so we had a small loungeroom and kitchen, which was handy to make yourself a quick breakfast. This was great to relax after being out during the day. Staff were very attentive, fast wi fi and they even had bikes to take out for free. Location right in the middle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, Swanee59. We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you did get a chance to use the bikes, which are free to rent for three hours. Guests find it is a great way to see parts of the city that they normally would not see. Victoria does... More 

Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is both the best and worst thing about this hotel. It is walking distance to many attractions but is in a neighborhood that is not comfortable to walk in at night. There were homeless people outside making noise late at night. For security, the elevators require your room key and the main elevator does not operate from 11pm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

First of all, thank you to the writer for this review of our property. All residence of Victoria are saddened by the number of homeless in our city. There are numerous factors involved and many great people trying to assist in reducing the issue. Sadly, this is a problem throughout downtown. Residing myself in James Bay and walking through downtown... More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff too aloof; attached diner/restaurant dirty, unkept and food a disgrace; rooms by elevators are too noisy and room smelt of dirty socks and musty. Old airconditioning noise and smelly. Close to the bars and restaurants in town

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you to the writer for their review of our property. I am terribly sorry about your experience in the independently owned restaurant attached to the hotel. I agree with you that the concerns you mentioned are understood by management. Fortunately, I am happy to announce that you did stay during the restaurants last week of operation. There will be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

127 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay