We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 57 Victoria hotels

BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
88%
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
pgreene Santa Rosa, CA
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    215
    58
    14
    11
See reviews for
160
220
55
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

NEVER ever stay at this hotel. They take your money for a room and do not disclose at any time that you will not be able to sleep. A club plays deafening techno music with drums and bass. If you call to complain you are then told to take the earplugs out of the top drawer of the nightstand and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Santa Rosa, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent six fabulous days in Victoria. Not wanting to spend much money on this trip, I booked the downtown Carlton Plaza for its central location and reasonable room rates. It's one of several Best Western properties in Victoria. Although the hotel could use a facelift, we got more for our money than we expected. Location was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in Victoria for 2 nights and went with our travel agents recommendation for accommodation rather than investigating it ourselves. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly but the décor was very "tired" and old fashioned. The location was ok, within the easy walking distance of the key Victoria attractions, but was not on the actual waterfront.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Jo for your review and the kind words you have about our staff. We are happy to announce that over the winter we will be replacing all of the furniture on the side of the building you stayed in. I am also bringing your concern of noise to the owner of the bar. They are obligated to never... More

Palm Springs, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Horrible! Do not stay here unless you want to stay up all night listening to the techno music pounding from the ground floor nightclub until 2:30 in the morning! I didn't sleep at all. After the music finally stopped, the garbage trucks made their entrance at dawn, beeping and slamming dumpsters. This was all made worse by the sparse room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Peter for the information provided in this review. We are very sorry about the experience you had at our property and will be taking this feedback to improve how things are run. The issues you had with noise from the bar three floors down (the 1st floor, and Lobby floor are both in between) are completely unacceptable. Noise... More

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great place to stay, Location is great, within walking distance to the Inner Harbour and local attractions. Very large, clean room with kitchenette, large fridge and two double beds; came as a total surprise as we were expecting a standard room. The staff were very friendly and helpful; valet parking is the only way you can park,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jean, thanks so much for this lovely review. I'm glad that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade into one of our studio suites. The room described has two double beds, and also a full kitchen with seating area and pull out sofa. For any guests planning on doing a bit of relaxing and spending more time at the hotel, I... More

Surrey
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love staying at this hotel, very central and staff is always very friendly and helpful. I wish there was on site parking because I feel bad for valets as I come and go quite a bit. They never have a problem with it though.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Norman, thank you very much for taking a few minutes to leave us this great review! I'm glad that we're able to make your stays in Victoria a bit more comfortable when you're traveling on business. As stated in this review, we do have valet parking (like the majority of downtown hotels, we do not have onsite parking... More

Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

just spent the weekend in Victoria. did a 3 day Clipper package with this hotel as part of the package. It's conveniently located. A few blocks from everything but off the beaten path. Hotel was clean but the hotel freshener in the rooms was overwhelming but they have hypoallergenic rooms that are perfect!!! This was inexpensive. The hotel has a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Karen! We're so glad that you enjoyed your trip to Victoria. Our comfy, clean, well appointed rooms, friendly staff and great location attract many repeat guests, so it's always great to hear when someone has a good first time visit as well! Although we do use some scented cleaners, we are of course more than happy to accommodate sensitivities... More

Ottawa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place was great. Clean, comfy beds and in the heart of downtown Victoria. Very peaceful stay. Typical room sizes and aged looking appropriate. Tad expensive as much cheaper motels and hotels are only a couple kms away, but for downtown - appears to be a good deal. Includes wifi but unlike (all) other BW, no breakfast buffet! What????

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Greg and thanks for taking a few minutes to write us this review. As stated, we are located right in the heart of Victoria- walking distance to everything you might need whether that be transit, sights, attractions, restaurants or local business. Although we do not have a continental breakfast, the Stone's Throw Restaurant is located through our lobby... More

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Walked in to my room and was amazed by the view from my corner room with windows looking 3 directions. The room even came with a kitchen and was very clean. The valet service is fast and courteous although I would prefer to park it myself, not an option here as they park a couple blocks away. This was my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your Rick for this glowing review! As with most downtown hotels, we do not have onsite parking. Our parking costs $13 per night, and because it is located off site, we provide an unlimited 24 hour valet service. Guests who wish to park themselves are absolutely welcome to do so- though they do require a valet escort to let... More

victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Centrally located to all you would want to see in Downtown Victoria. Great eating locations all around Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Valet parking was nice but I thought a bit expensive since they don't have parking on site. Worth the value for sure.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Jeffery for this thoughtful review. As with most downtown hotels, we do not have onsite parking. Our parking costs $13 per night, and because it is located off site, we provide an unlimited 24 hour valet service. Our location is one of our strengths as we're right in the downtown area just steps away from all the restaurants, sights,... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Victoria with
any amenities