We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HI Victoria Hostel

516 Yates Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1K8, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
HI Victoria Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015 via mobile

HI Victoria was a very good experience from what I had. Very clean, and comfortable. I didn't actually spend much time in the hostel apart from sleeping, so I can't really be super in-depth with it! But the staff were very friendly, and the location is great. Down by the water, within walking distance of tons of great things to... More 

Helpful?
Thank GoosefaceKillah
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015 via mobile

We made our booking on booking.com. But when ee came at The hostel we suddenly had to pay more. They say that they cant help it. But i'm pretty sure that booking.com brings in The biggest part of their guests. The hostel was clean but it was noissy. Especially at girls dormetry where you litterly could hear what they were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fitah
HI_Victoria, Manager at HI Victoria Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it is very valuable to us. Please allow me to respond to some of your concerns and comments. First, we have been on Booking . Com for 3 weeks, so no, at this time our client base generated from booking.com is very small, but will grow I'm sure. Unfortunately, Booking .com does not allow many... More 

Travelers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015 via mobile

The staff is very friendly. It's a big dorm but quiet. I slept one week and everything was good. The hostel is located well. Breakfast 7.3 to 8.3 Good value for money. there are lockers which has provisions to secure our stuff. The showers do not allow change in privacy which is a bit annoying .The kitchen and common rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank wywy34
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

I stayed there for one night in July. It was hoooorible! The staff was not friendly at all. Rooms are overcrowded with over 20 beds in one room. There was supposed to be breakfast from 7.30 to 9.30 am. When I came to the kitchen at 9 am there was nothing left! Even if it's just 30$ I wouldn't stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ungva
HI_Victoria, Manager at HI Victoria Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, sorry your experience with us was so negative. We take great pride in providing excellent customer service and have a very good customer service rating. The summer is very busy but we always try to answer questions and give good advise on a one to one level. Some of our rooms are large but clean as are our washroom... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

This place is cheap dirty and nasty. Drug addicts, homeless and general riff raff,the staff were rude and unhelpful. Unfortunately its a place Intrepid Travel/Peak Adventures take people to, clearly to save money but its truly a horrible place. Expect poor service, horrible staff and filthy dirty bedrooms and bathrooms.

Helpful?
Thank nancy v
HI_Victoria, Manager at HI Victoria Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay but I feel your judgement of people staying here is a bit sewed. We do not knowingly house drug addicts, the homeless or other people of this nature. If fact unless you have official gov't ID with picture we will not check you in. We also do not accommodate anyone with a local... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

Avoid this place if you care about hanging out with seniors, homeless, senior rude staff and you enjoy the ambiance of a shelter for seniors. There is a lack of cool traveler ambiance here, people cooking at 4am that probably were sneaking into other people food (I caught an old lady taking someone else food and asking me if it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope P
HI_Victoria, Manager at HI Victoria Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your feedback. We cater to all age groups and do not discriminate by age as others places might. All guests we accommodate are not from Victoria or area because we do not allow locals to stay here. There are many travelers in the world over 30yrs and we welcome them if they provide the proper documentation to... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

I stayed here for 3 nights in July, I booked the female dorm as usual. Found it strange that you're not given a key, card or code to access the building or your room - pretty much anyone could walk in, I never got asked for ID or proof that I was staying there once. I also hated the dorm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alix L
HI_Victoria, Manager at HI Victoria Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your valuable feedback. Our WIFI has now been upgraded and all devices have a better connection and staying power. Our staff are extremely busy but we always take the time to help people out one on one. We have full time cleaners who clean the Hostel everyday for 7.5 hrs and then our night staff... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

84% on Hostelworld.com!? For what??? Most important thing to do when considering booking with the HI-Victoria is to read their policies. Somewhere in the fine print it said that single males and single females, travelling by themselves or in small single gender groups cannot book into their mixed dormitories. They confirm this in an email confirmation but of course I... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua K
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

I really enjoyed staying in this hostel. Everybody was just so nice and helping! Of course it depends on the other guests in your dorm but all I can say that I had a great experience here. The staff was really welcoming and supportive!

Helpful?
1 Thank mmoep
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Hostel is very dreary - nothing going on other travellers seem to just sleep and not interact. Very bizzare that there are no keys, all that gets you in and out is a piece of paper with your name on it and all that separates the dorms are curtains (so dont bother paying more for the 4bed). Staying in an... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank twhi365
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 57 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,798 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 57 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#18 of 57 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 2,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 57 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 57 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,562 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 57 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay