We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

American Backpackers Hostel

347 West Pender Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1T3, Canada
American Backpackers Hostel
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    9
    9
    5
    23
See reviews for
3
9
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

I have stayed here for two weeks now, so here is a REAL review from this place. If you're expecting a 5 star hotel for 10$ a night, than you'll be disapointed. If, however, you're looking for a cheap but cool place to stay for a while in van... you won't get a better deal. people are nice, there's always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

this hostel is very nice there are a lot of nice people in there and its very clean site if you come this hostel you will feel very nice and you will really enjoying here because its very nice haha. You should coe this hostel for sure

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Vincent and the gang have been at the backpacker game for ages and they have it right! Price, location, community, cooperation and the rest is up to the people that are there(you must participate in life). 10$ for a night, 60$ for a week and 240$ for the month... Ask not what your hostel can do for you.... But what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Ahhh Reminds me of being in the old style of Gassy Jacks Gastown, This place is the ultimate place for travellers who want an adventure , The location is the best! The price is a steal! for 10 bucks a day you get free internet, a nice warm dry place to sleep and lots of cool people from around the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

This rustic hostel you are not loving for it cleanness but for its awesome atmosphere. It is the cheapest hostel you can find in Vancouver or even Canada. Therefore you should not be surprised to get just the basics. I made some good friends and I always coming back to plan my next trip. It became my travel base.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

We were booked in for 3 nights the place was disgusting couldn't stay there. Opened the door to our room there were cockroaches all over the place. The room stank and was dirty. I'm pretty sure the sheets and blanket had not been washed and the guy at reception would only refund us half of what we paid. Do yourself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mazara1, Manager at American Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

we have rules that guest must clean the room before checking out the couple before you cheated by not cleaning the room you could come to the office and change room or we clean for you you used the room for 2 days had fun ,sex, we had to clean the condoms of course we give half refund More 

Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This place is very cheap and so you get what you pay for. It was actually a fun experience and a good place to bond with other travelers. Good place to make new friendships. The place was however VERY dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mazara1, Manager at American Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We are sorry for not be clean, but we hire many backpackers for cleaning and they are hard working cleaning after you all day and we give many jobs to brooke travelers but they say that the home or apartment were backpackers live are much dirtier then the hostel, we usually hire beautiful girls but there are not many that... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I don't even know how this place is still working. In my country they would close it down at the first inspection. The rooms are so dirty that made me worry for my personal health and the smell is not possible to be described in a review...I woke up at 6 am and run out even if I was really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
mazara1, Manager at American Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Smell from dirty socks was from another guest we don't wash socks , you should blame your roommate NOT the hostel .YOU only stay 1 night how can Judge? the other guest was here 3 month he did not complain If you rented a private room for $25 not a $10 dorm there was no smell 1 niter people always... More 

Port Coquitlam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

From the moment I got there i felt the good vibe and nice 5 star hostel ... it was extremely affordable and great staff and lots of cool people coming in and out so it was a great place to be at .... if you need to grab a hostel in van this place should be your first choice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The American Backpackers was a great experience for $10 a night, some of the most friendliest people that i have meet being at the hostel and it has such a nice vibe to it everyone is happy. The staff is great and owner Vincent is a great person, also cant complain with the free beer every Saturday. i had great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question