We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

American Backpackers Hostel

347 West Pender Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1T3, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
American Backpackers Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
American Backpackers Hostel
American Backpackers Hostel
American Backpackers Hostel
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    9
    5
    22
See reviews for
3
9
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We were booked in for 3 nights the place was disgusting couldn't stay there. Opened the door to our room there were cockroaches all over the place. The room stank and was dirty. I'm pretty sure the sheets and blanket had not been washed and the guy at reception would only refund us half of what we paid. Do yourself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This place is very cheap and so you get what you pay for. It was actually a fun experience and a good place to bond with other travelers. Good place to make new friendships. The place was however VERY dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mazara1, Manager at American Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We are sorry for not be clean, but we hire many backpackers for cleaning and they are hard working cleaning after you all day and we give many jobs to brooke travelers but they say that the home or apartment were backpackers live are much dirtier then the hostel, we usually hire beautiful girls but there are not many that... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I don't even know how this place is still working. In my country they would close it down at the first inspection. The rooms are so dirty that made me worry for my personal health and the smell is not possible to be described in a review...I woke up at 6 am and run out even if I was really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mazara1, Manager at American Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Smell from dirty socks was from another guest we don't wash socks , you should blame your roommate NOT the hostel .YOU only stay 1 night how can Judge? the other guest was here 3 month he did not complain If you rented a private room for $25 not a $10 dorm there was no smell 1 niter people always... More 

Port Coquitlam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

From the moment I got there i felt the good vibe and nice 5 star hostel ... it was extremely affordable and great staff and lots of cool people coming in and out so it was a great place to be at .... if you need to grab a hostel in van this place should be your first choice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The American Backpackers was a great experience for $10 a night, some of the most friendliest people that i have meet being at the hostel and it has such a nice vibe to it everyone is happy. The staff is great and owner Vincent is a great person, also cant complain with the free beer every Saturday. i had great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

For 10$, don't expect a palace. Just a place to sleep and relax in the common room. Bad points : - Messy and dirty room (but nothing to do with the owner or hostel) with a used tampon on the floor. Yellowish shower and curtain - 1 crazy roomate (still nothing to do with the hostel itself) - cockroaches !!!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
mazara1, Manager at American Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

we try hard to find the right chemical to kill pest but government has so many restrictions and some guest don't like the small and some animal activist are against pestsite but we got rid of bedbug lately thanks to a green revolution and the invention of a backpackers TOP SECRET More 

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This place has been great. As a young traveler I have felt very liberated while staying here at American Backpackers. Very open and communal environment, extremely affordable, and right on the cusp of downtown Vancouver!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This HAS to be the cheapest place in town. There is no beating these rates, hands down! Bar-none the best place in town; cheapest rates, best location and the best people. Staff is knowledgable and fun and always very helpful. The rooms vary from double occupancy to single and dorms. The dorms are separate male and female but there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The American Backpackers Hostel is true a gem found in the downtown heart of Vancouver City, Located on the corner of West Pender and Homer, its convenient location is ideal, with food & shops everywhere, easy access to transportation, and as a plus the famous Amsterdam Cafe is just a stones through away. The hostel itself is anything but dull,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed here last fall/winter, i came for the low prices but stayed for the friendly people and the great downtown location. I was able to enjoy downtown vancouver as a tourist and also able to easily walk to work everyday. I met a lot of really awesome travellers at this hostel. Definitly had an awesome time :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to American Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Backpackers Hostel

Address: 347 West Pender Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1T3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your American Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Backpackers Hotel Vancouver

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay