We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel at the Waldorf

Hotel website
1489 East Hastings St., Vancouver, British Columbia V5L 1S4, Canada (Formerly The Waldorf Hotel)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel at the Waldorf
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel at the Waldorf
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    2
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
3
9
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel is located outside of downtown on Hastings st. First impressions are bad but when you walk in the interior is nice and the front desk staff is always very friendly, welcoming and reassuring. Rooms were clean, had basic amenities. Just enough for the basic, no frills traveler.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Proctorville, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The front desk staff were very helpful and nice, and told us about an italian festival going on within walking distance. There is free parking in a lot next to the hotel. We were there on a sunday night, so the parties and Tiki Bar were closed, so it was quiet. We did consider having a drink at the bar,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel because it was priced very well on expedia. We did upgrade and had a larger room. The staff were incredible from the time we checked in until the time we left. Ate one meal at the italian restaurant which was very good. The hotel is not situated in a nice part of Vancouver but not so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I arrived at the hotel. The first thing we noticed was the rave going on in the parking lot with no parking signs posted everywhere. (In what is labeled as the hotels parking lot). We parked and walked inside to check in. There was no one at the front desk and a sign saying we will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan J, Manager at Hotel at the Waldorf, responded to this review

Hello M R, Thank you for your comments. On behalf of the Waldorf team, I am so very sorry to hear of your recent experience. We appreciate your feedback. Guest comment such as yours is very important to us to improve our services. Please feel free to contact me direct should you need assistance during your future stays. Thank you.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We staid there for two nights. These were the most terrible nights of my whole trip. As some of the others already mentioned, the hotel is located in East Hastings. That is the part of the city you should never visit. Drugs, crime, strange people. You feel unsave whenever you are on the street. We were not aware of that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan J, Manager at Hotel at the Waldorf, responded to this review

Dear Pinselmeier Thank you for your recent stay with us. We regret to hear that we fell short of your expectation. We may not be a traditional hotel; however, the hotel has unique characters. We wish you had a chance to visit our Tiki bar. It is one of the few remaining authentic Tiki lounges in North America. We are... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

Had a very pleasant stay of 5 nights. As others have said the staff are so friendly and helpful, rooms are basic but clean. Kudos to the housekeeping staff. Bed was as comfortable as any 4-5 star hotel. Truly enjoyed dinner in the restaurant. As for the area, I felt quite safe as a single woman, and the ample parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan J, Manager at Hotel at the Waldorf, responded to this review

Hello Joeymac999, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed our hotel and restaurant. We are working on the soundproofing in our guest rooms, so your next visit will be even better! We hope to welcome you back soon. More 

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

My stay at The Waldorf was great! rooms were tidy and clean and I also had a pleasant sleep. The room service was good and I especially liked the Tiki bar, it's a pretty chill place to go to! it is even better if you know the place around the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Girlfriend and I stayed at the Waldorf for one night. Service was superb, rooms better then we expected! The restaurant downstairs was good too. Quick drive to downtown, really nothing bad about it. We will definitely stay there when we return to Vancouver!! Gerard Bram, Portland

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tacoma, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

To understand the Waldorf you need to know the area and growth of condo developments in the city. It's on the ugly strip of Hastings, currently going thru modernization as the city is forced to grow into undesirable areas. So the owners have no incentive, my opinion, to make financial improvements, only pay the bills until the land value coughs... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
393 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

The two women at reception were super nice and helpful, but that's really all I can say that was good about the Waldorf. The area is not good. The first woman that helped us outright said not to walk around. There is off street parking in a lot next to the hotel and we were assured it was safe due... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay