We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1176 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L8, Canada
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #72 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Mike W
Add Photo Write a Review

441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    106
    118
    106
    52
    59
See reviews for
43
134
71
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (441)
  • Mar-May only
    (117)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (154)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (110)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I found this to be a huge scam, actually. We stayed here for two nights from Canada day until Friday (July 3rd). I booked the room through booking.com and looked carefully at the pictures. While I know that most hotels only present their best rooms, I had a good impression overall. Booking said that they had dropped the rates from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location was outstanding, close to everything including the bus stops for site seeing. The staff was very helpful in helping with everything a tourist would need. Vince at the front desk was especially helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review

Dear MikeW. Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our property.We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy our location and found our staff helpful. Thank you for your business. More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived early and checked to see if there were rooms available for early check-in. There were none available but they took our bags and secured them for us as we went off to explore the great city of Vancouver. The room was fine and included basic amenities that one would expect in this hotel category. No free breakfast served as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review

Dear VictorB, Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy your stay and liked our city. Hope your cruise is great and weather behaves. Thank you for your business. More 

Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overpriced ,dingy dated hotel. Booked through reservation counter and got totally ripped off.the rooms we booked were not what we got. All we got were excuses from the front desk and when we called Reservation Counter they totally bailed on us. We had been assured by Lewis that we would get two double beds.When we checked in our room had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review

Dear BillH, Thank you for taking your time to review our property. As explained at check in and during your stay, you have booked for 1 double bed and that's exactly what we gave you. When booking with 3rd party booking sites, you need to be extremely careful and pay attention what you are booking for. Your e-mail reservation clearly... More 

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Lake Stevens, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was fine for our need to have a place to sleep for one night. The parking was terrible because there was not even close to spaces available for rooms in the hotel. The rooms were small. The beds were very soft. It wasn't bad but wasn't great either.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review

Dear Andrear, thank you for taking time to review our property. And thank you for staying with us. Yes, we do not have enough parking for all of our guests, that's why we advise everybody ahaed of time of this problem. I hope you appreciated us finding you a spot in our loading zone to accomodate your large oversized vehicle.... More 

Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel & it was quite comfortable, except no fridge in the room. I thought it was fairly clean, however, on our second night I saw a mouse in our room! The next morning I went to Reception & they did offer another room, however, the room they offered was smaller than our existing room! You... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly, we were hesitant after reading some of the negative reviews. We travelled with another couple and all agreed that the location was the deciding factor. Yes, it's older and the decor is dated. But most importantly, it was clean. Our room was adequate, bed was very comfy, AC worked fine. Staff was pleasant. It would have been nice to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review

Dear LaurieH, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy everything that our location has to offer. I'm glad you found our rooms clean and staff friendly. Thank you for your vote of confidence that you would stay here again. Thank you for staying with us. More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great central location in Vancouver, although the area is somewhat seedy and down market. The hotel is a little dated but they were renovating rooms while we were there. Rooms were compact but all facilities were included.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review

Dear PeterB, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm happy to hear you were able to enjoy your stay and found our location really handy to all your needs. Thank you for your business. More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night as we found it to be the best price in town given the excellent location (Yaletown). The hotel is within walking distance of Gastown, Canada Line station, Chinatown, Granville Island, Stanley Park, English Bay, downtown, Kitsilano beach, Canada Place, Choices grocery store, Robson street, Davie Street (gay district), etc. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hojovan, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review

Dear submart, Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. I'm glad to hear you were able to enjoy our location and the price for the rooms. We are budget friendly hotel right in the heart of the city. Thank you for your business. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay