We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 63 Vancouver B&Bs / inns

Nelson House B & B

Save Saved
You added Nelson House B & B to your Saves list
977 Broughton St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2A4, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special Rate from $108 !
  • Overview
  • Reviews (97)
  • Photos (27)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
Nelson House B & B
Ranked #13 of 63 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    25
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
61
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We returned to Vancouver for our 25' wedding anniversary and this lovely B & B was our first accomodations. Our hosts were friendly, knowledgeable and oooooh the Breaksfasts!! We were close to everything, Stanley Park, the Waterfront, several beaches and the seawall - a real get-away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review

Merci, Susan. Hope it won't be another 25 years before we see you again in Vancouver. Cheers, David More

Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What gem. Wish there were more places like this. We were made most welcome by Michael but we met David later and both men are very pleasant with lots of ideas and helpful tips on what to visit and how to get to places. As we were so early our room wasn't ready but that was no problem - we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review

Thank you so much Vivienne. Not everyone understands or appreciates that we are offering hospitality, not just "service". All the best to you both, David More

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was looking for a change of pace on the weekend after staying in a string of business hotels for work during the week and I found it. It was located in a nice neighborhood and close to bars and restaurants. The owners' guide -- notes on places they preferred -- was very helpful as there are many restaurants to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review

Since you are new to the B & B experience, Jakerohn, I am really pleased that you rated us "Perfectly fine"! B & B s are found worldwide & have been around forever. Still there are some weird misconceptions about the modern-day, independently-run hospitality business. It seems just as odd to me that anyone would settle for the hotel norm... More

Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Located in the heart of Vancouver's West End, Nelson House B&B is just a short walk to all the high-end shopping on Robson or the diverse pleasures of Davie. I enjoyed fine cooked breakfasts and good conversation with other guests in the cheerful breakfast room. The adjacent living room is amply supplied with travel guides and other reading. The decor,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review

Thank you "cacadian". You are so right! We like to put the emphasis on fine food & conversation. And when it comes to décor, we definitely prefer comfort & a bit of fun over ye olde chintz. All the best, David More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We didn't have breakfast, so we can't comment on that. The breakfast table was set beautifully, however. We were underwhelmed by the Nelson House. It reminded me of a run-of-the-mill English B&B: It also reminded me of my grandmother's house in decor and upkeep: somewhat shabby; mostly clean but not overly so; OK beds but not hotel quality; worn-out bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review

The old adage holds true in this age of anonymous internet opinions: "You can't please ALL the people ALL the time". We keep trying though!! We have no idea who posted this review because no one uttered a word to us in person about beds, linens, pillows, décor, etc, Those are the kinds of things that can be so easily... More

Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed in the very spacious suite with lots of character. The room was lovely and comfy and the breakfasts were great. The location is pefect, short walk to some lovely restaraunts and the beach front one way and a short walk to the shops the other way.The hosts were very friendly and helpful, we really enjoyed our stay! What... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind appreciation and positive comments. We will hope to see you again! Cheers, David More

Airdrie, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

What a great place to stay. From the moment we arrived the hosts made our stay very welcome. The room was on the main floor and was very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was more than we could have asked for. (Eggs and sausage one day, French toast the next). The weather was very rainy for a couple days and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review

Thanks so much! We still believe in putting the emphasis on classic B & B virtues - genuine local hospitality and delicious home-cooking & baking. You and other Nelson House guests really do seem to appreciate it. All the best, David More

Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I were there for a few days in March. The facilities were clean as a whistle, the ambiance was perfect, the breakfasts were outstanding, the hosts Michael and David couldn't have been nicer. What more can I say? Oh, yes. I forget to mention, location, location, location! You don't need a car but if you have one,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review

Thank you folks. We loved having you. Please come back for Vancouver's warm summer weather;) Cheers, David More

Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here 6 nights. We were in the top floor suite. It was great! Michael took great care of us. His breakfasts were AMAZING! And you have to try the lemon poppyseed bread- it's the best I've ever had. He knew a lot about the area and things to do. He kept us updated on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you both again. Cheers, David More

Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Found the hosts to be helpful and accommodating. The B&B is on a quiet street, but very close to a number of main streets that have anything you might need. Enjoyed the cabin room, with a soft, cozy bed and Canadiana decor, although the door to the ensuite bathroom isn't as private as a full door might be. On the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review

"Breakfast" is one half of our name. We are so glad that you enjoyed! All the best until the next time, David More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Nelson House B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Nelson House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson House B & B

Address: 977 Broughton St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Nelson House Bed And Breakfast
Nelson House Hotel Vancouver

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Vancouver with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Character, comfort and convenience in Vancouver's downtown, West End. A three-story, century old home operating as a bed and breakfast since 1990. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nelson House B & B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer