We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 97 Vancouver hotels

Gage Towers at UBC

5959 Student Union Blvd, Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 2C9, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gage Towers at UBC to your Saves list
Gage Towers at UBC
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
52%
Ranked #76 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
operalover939 Toronto, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (34)
  • Photos (22)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
8
3
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
23 hotel reviews
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My review is for the Gage apartments. For a price that is low by Vancouver standards, I got a fully equipped room with kitchenette and bathroom: quiet, clean, with a free breakfast included in the price: a great deal. Since I needed to see someone at the university, this was perfect for me. On the downside: there is no air... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My employer booked this accommodation and paid for it, so I can't comment on the price. But I was absolutely blown away by these modern, clean, and spacious apartments (my review is of the Gage Apartments, not Towers). These rooms are a far cry from the dingy, dirty, and outdated dorms I lived in as a college student. My only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My review is for Gage Apartments at UBC. The title on the page indicates 'Towers'. There are three different types of accommodation at Gage: Tower, Apartments, Suites. They are all together in the same area, but separate entities. My wife and I stayed here while visiting our daughter who lives in Kitts. This is my second visit to this great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quesnel, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed here with a group of 20 Special Olympics athletes and coaches, and was expecting something out of my own university days... The rooms were a bit expensive, but compensated for with a convenient location (competing that weekend on UBC campus) and a great buffet breakfast. The athletes appreciated their own rooms, as opposed to sleeping four to a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while attending a UBC sponsored conference. Rooms are good for one person - small and efficient, close and convenient to many conference rooms on the campus. Beautiful spring setting. Only issue would be room temperature control (or lack thereof). Poor circulation meant that the ceiling fan and small windows were only way to cool down the space since... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
UBCConferences, Manager at Gage Towers at UBC, responded to this review

We are sorry that our unusually warm weather this past week had made it rather uncomfortable for your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location in relation to campus amenities and conference rooms. Thanks again for staying at UBC and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to UBC. More

Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

During summer, the university rents out these student accommodations. I stayed in a studio apartment with kitchenette while attending a conference. Overall it was a pleasant stay. Very good breakfast is included. It is close to the bus terminus and well connected to downtown. A very nice food court, restaurants and convenient stores are closeby. The campus is beautiful to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Calgary
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here as a family, in a unit which slept five. This is a low quality residence with ambivalent employees. Maintenance matters were ignored and the cleaning staff enter the unit and do their work while we you are there. they even entered the bathroom while one of us was showering! yes the shower is in cubicle, but still,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hexham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Noticed some negative comments out there, mainly based around standard of accom and cost. This isn't a hotel - it's student rooms in summer so don't expect top quality features. But if you want a room to yourself, a pleasant kitchenette and sitting area shared between a few rooms and a great breakfast included at the university cafe then this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Make no mistake this is University student dormitory housing. The rooms in the Gage towers are the rooms the university students living during the year. So there is a bare hostel like feeling in the rooms. The rooms do not have air conditioning and our suite did not even have a telephone. The carpeted areas were dirty. Pros: - Good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UBCConferences, Manager at Gage Towers at UBC, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and the views. We are sorry that the carpeted area was not as clean as it should be. We have advised our housekeeping team to look into it. Unfortunately, we only have wired Internet available in the rooms. We hope you had a chance to... More

Surrey, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in a suite on the second floor for two nights. Initial impressions upon walking in was that the suite was quite nice until it was time to actually sleep in there. The beds are quite hard, the sheets made me itch all throughout the nights, and the bugs... the complex has quite a few bugs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UBCConferences, Manager at Gage Towers at UBC, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your recent stay. As a world class university, clean – pest free rooms are critical to our reputation and we have a professional pest management program in place. We take your claim seriously. Please let us know which room you were in so we can follow up. Thank you. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gage Towers at UBC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gage Towers at UBC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gage Towers at UBC

Address: 5959 Student Union Blvd, Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 2C9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gage Towers at UBC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gage Towers At Ubc Hotel Vancouver
Gage Hotel Vancouver

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Vancouver with
any amenities

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From May through August, a wide array of accommodations available from shared apartments, to private studios and 1-bedroom suites on the beautiful UBC Vancouver campus. Only 20 minutes by car to downtown or the airport. The Gage Residence is within walking distance to UBC bus loop, restaurants, shops, recreational facilities and attractions. Our B&B rates in the shared apartments starting at $45 per night. Everyone can stay with us. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
708

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gage Towers at UBC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer