We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 97 Vancouver hotels

Gage Towers at UBC

5959 Student Union Blvd, Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 2C9, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gage Towers at UBC to your Saves list
Gage Towers at UBC
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
50%
Ranked #76 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
theadguy Ontario, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (32)
  • Photos (22)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
8
3
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My review is for Gage Apartments at UBC. The title on the page indicates 'Towers'. There are three different types of accommodation at Gage: Tower, Apartments, Suites. They are all together in the same area, but separate entities. My wife and I stayed here while visiting our daughter who lives in Kitts. This is my second visit to this great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quesnel, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed here with a group of 20 Special Olympics athletes and coaches, and was expecting something out of my own university days... The rooms were a bit expensive, but compensated for with a convenient location (competing that weekend on UBC campus) and a great buffet breakfast. The athletes appreciated their own rooms, as opposed to sleeping four to a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while attending a UBC sponsored conference. Rooms are good for one person - small and efficient, close and convenient to many conference rooms on the campus. Beautiful spring setting. Only issue would be room temperature control (or lack thereof). Poor circulation meant that the ceiling fan and small windows were only way to cool down the space since... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
UBCConferences, Manager at Gage Towers at UBC, responded to this review

We are sorry that our unusually warm weather this past week had made it rather uncomfortable for your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location in relation to campus amenities and conference rooms. Thanks again for staying at UBC and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to UBC. More

Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

During summer, the university rents out these student accommodations. I stayed in a studio apartment with kitchenette while attending a conference. Overall it was a pleasant stay. Very good breakfast is included. It is close to the bus terminus and well connected to downtown. A very nice food court, restaurants and convenient stores are closeby. The campus is beautiful to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Calgary
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here as a family, in a unit which slept five. This is a low quality residence with ambivalent employees. Maintenance matters were ignored and the cleaning staff enter the unit and do their work while we you are there. they even entered the bathroom while one of us was showering! yes the shower is in cubicle, but still,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hexham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Noticed some negative comments out there, mainly based around standard of accom and cost. This isn't a hotel - it's student rooms in summer so don't expect top quality features. But if you want a room to yourself, a pleasant kitchenette and sitting area shared between a few rooms and a great breakfast included at the university cafe then this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Make no mistake this is University student dormitory housing. The rooms in the Gage towers are the rooms the university students living during the year. So there is a bare hostel like feeling in the rooms. The rooms do not have air conditioning and our suite did not even have a telephone. The carpeted areas were dirty. Pros: - Good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UBCConferences, Manager at Gage Towers at UBC, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and the views. We are sorry that the carpeted area was not as clean as it should be. We have advised our housekeeping team to look into it. Unfortunately, we only have wired Internet available in the rooms. We hope you had a chance to... More

Surrey, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in a suite on the second floor for two nights. Initial impressions upon walking in was that the suite was quite nice until it was time to actually sleep in there. The beds are quite hard, the sheets made me itch all throughout the nights, and the bugs... the complex has quite a few bugs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UBCConferences, Manager at Gage Towers at UBC, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your recent stay. As a world class university, clean – pest free rooms are critical to our reputation and we have a professional pest management program in place. We take your claim seriously. Please let us know which room you were in so we can follow up. Thank you. More

Kamloops
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is very good value for Vancouver. I was at UBC for an appt. at the hospital on campus. Gage Towers are very convenient for that purpose. The included breakfast was okay I was a bit surprized by the $11 charge for parking but there was less expensive parking very nearby in a parkade. I did have a car so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
UBCConferences, Manager at Gage Towers at UBC, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to learn that you found our accommodation is of good value and convenient for your visit. We apologize for the lack of WiFi in the guest rooms but I understand that the free Campus WiFi in the lobby served your needs. Our parking fee is probably one of the cheapest in the... More

Quebec, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great place, very clean, modern furniture (except maybe for the kitchen's furniture), plenty of space, large shower, good price for the location (on UBC campus), beaches nearby, 10-15 minutes from downtown, los of buses nearby, calm place (never heard any neighbour). Bed is a little hard, but still comfortable (pillows are very comfy though!). Absolutely nothing wrong with this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UBCConferences, Manager at Gage Towers at UBC, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our campus' proximity to downtown to be convenient. We trust you had a chance to visit some of the beautiful beaches nearby and attractions on campus. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gage Towers at UBC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gage Towers at UBC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gage Towers at UBC

Address: 5959 Student Union Blvd, Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 2C9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gage Towers at UBC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gage Towers At Ubc Hotel Vancouver
Gage Hotel Vancouver

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From May through August, a wide array of accommodations available from shared apartments, to private studios and 1-bedroom suites on the beautiful UBC Vancouver campus. Only 20 minutes by car to downtown or the airport. The Gage Residence is within walking distance to UBC bus loop, restaurants, shops, recreational facilities and attractions. Our B&B rates in the shared apartments starting at $45 per night. Everyone can stay with us. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
708

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer