We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gage Residence at UBC

5959 Student Union Blvd, Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 2C9, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gage Residence at UBC
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gage Residence at UBC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
8
3
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great way to stay in Vancouver without breaking the bank. Not only are you not breaking the bank but you're paying very little money for lodging in a fairly expensive city. Caveat is that it's a dorm, so even if you get a single room (and I recommend you do), it's small and spartan with a communal bathroom. But there's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
22 hotel reviews
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My review is for the Gage apartments. For a price that is low by Vancouver standards, I got a fully equipped room with kitchenette and bathroom: quiet, clean, with a free breakfast included in the price: a great deal. Since I needed to see someone at the university, this was perfect for me. On the downside: there is no air... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My employer booked this accommodation and paid for it, so I can't comment on the price. But I was absolutely blown away by these modern, clean, and spacious apartments (my review is of the Gage Apartments, not Towers). These rooms are a far cry from the dingy, dirty, and outdated dorms I lived in as a college student. My only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My review is for Gage Apartments at UBC. The title on the page indicates 'Towers'. There are three different types of accommodation at Gage: Tower, Apartments, Suites. They are all together in the same area, but separate entities. My wife and I stayed here while visiting our daughter who lives in Kitts. This is my second visit to this great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quesnel, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed here with a group of 20 Special Olympics athletes and coaches, and was expecting something out of my own university days... The rooms were a bit expensive, but compensated for with a convenient location (competing that weekend on UBC campus) and a great buffet breakfast. The athletes appreciated their own rooms, as opposed to sleeping four to a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while attending a UBC sponsored conference. Rooms are good for one person - small and efficient, close and convenient to many conference rooms on the campus. Beautiful spring setting. Only issue would be room temperature control (or lack thereof). Poor circulation meant that the ceiling fan and small windows were only way to cool down the space since... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UBCConferences, Manager at Gage Residence at UBC, responded to this review

We are sorry that our unusually warm weather this past week had made it rather uncomfortable for your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location in relation to campus amenities and conference rooms. Thanks again for staying at UBC and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to UBC. More

Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

During summer, the university rents out these student accommodations. I stayed in a studio apartment with kitchenette while attending a conference. Overall it was a pleasant stay. Very good breakfast is included. It is close to the bus terminus and well connected to downtown. A very nice food court, restaurants and convenient stores are closeby. The campus is beautiful to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Calgary
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here as a family, in a unit which slept five. This is a low quality residence with ambivalent employees. Maintenance matters were ignored and the cleaning staff enter the unit and do their work while we you are there. they even entered the bathroom while one of us was showering! yes the shower is in cubicle, but still,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hexham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Noticed some negative comments out there, mainly based around standard of accom and cost. This isn't a hotel - it's student rooms in summer so don't expect top quality features. But if you want a room to yourself, a pleasant kitchenette and sitting area shared between a few rooms and a great breakfast included at the university cafe then this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Make no mistake this is University student dormitory housing. The rooms in the Gage towers are the rooms the university students living during the year. So there is a bare hostel like feeling in the rooms. The rooms do not have air conditioning and our suite did not even have a telephone. The carpeted areas were dirty. Pros: - Good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UBCConferences, Manager at Gage Residence at UBC, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and the views. We are sorry that the carpeted area was not as clean as it should be. We have advised our housekeeping team to look into it. Unfortunately, we only have wired Internet available in the rooms. We hope you had a chance to... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gage Residence at UBC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gage Residence at UBC

Address: 5959 Student Union Blvd, Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 2C9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 708
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gage Residence at UBC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gage Towers At Ubc Hotel Vancouver
Gage Hotel Vancouver

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay