We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostelling International Vancouver Central

1025 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L4, Canada (Formerly Royal Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
StellaBoreal Valparaiso, Chile
Add Photo

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    88
    49
    16
    10
See reviews for
6
46
84
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (195)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Valparaiso, Chile
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I think the hostel was good, more pricey compared to Europe, but it was a good location and friendly staff, and cheap for being Canada i assume. Breakfast included, and was good as well. They have activities every day, and I easily made friends!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is actually the most expensive hostel I've ever stayed at but understandable because of the location. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm. The room was small and I could see that it was an older building, but it was comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Free wifi worked well in the room Bathrooms were nice but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had booked a private room bit needed an extra night. We ended up having to be in separate rooms for the first night and as a young female I was lumped into a mixed dorm with 3 half naked males who snored loudly and a flickering light which was very annoying as I was on the top bunk. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel has ample space majority of the years I've been staying, the rooms are also big enough to store equipment (bikes, snowboards etc.). The hostel itself is pretty low key which is frankly a nice change of pace from the rest of downtown. You have to make your own fun a lot of the times and people are usually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

1. I checked-in from airport, I was told US$ to be 1=1, so I went next door and got 1.22 rate. This is negative image to the city as well, is this downtown of most livable city in the world? I calculated I would lose $9 per night for $40 rent for exchange rate! 2. Elevator was not working, totally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VCTHostelManager, Manager at Hostelling International Vancouver Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at our property. I’m sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your needs while you were with us. We absolutely do give an exchange on U.S. dollars, so I apologize for the misinformation you received at check-in. Our exchange rates varies week by week, but we always... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Good hostel. Some staff more helpful than others. One woman behind the counter was reluctant to help me. Everyone else was great. My room had a good view except for what was below the window: alleys, trash cans and roof tops. The rest was big city views! Check to see if your dishes are clean because patrons are sloppy sometimes.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Good place for sleep. You need to find another parking because not avelable there. The wifi is so bad, it is like no wifi. A lot of activitie near. Alot of activitie are planned by the staff. A lot of option for activitie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

I Stayed in a private ensuite for 4 nights in February 2015. My room was clean, large and very comfortable and quiet! (Except on a Saturday night, but that is expected when staying on Granville Street) Well worth my money. The downside of the this hostel was the fact as an 18 year old girl, I felt unsafe walking after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

I've stayed at lots of Hi hostel around the world and this is by far the grossest hostel I've ever stayed at. When we got in the receptionist had to buzz us in to ensure we were meant to be there and weren't some drunk just wandering in (which was both off putting but reassuring that they try and keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VCTHostelManager, Manager at Hostelling International Vancouver Central, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you very much for your feedback, and I’m very sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your stay. We take all of our guests’ comments very seriously; I appreciate that you took the time to let others know about your experience. I will just say that our housekeeping team is extremely dedicated, and they work very... More 

Western Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015 via mobile

Good location for shops and transport and felt reasonably safe. Great staff. Only downside is size of dining and lounge areas which only fit a few people. We had to eat sitting on corridor floors and were unable to get a chair in the lounge at anytime in our stay. As the rooms were bunks only there was nowhere to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay