We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostelling International Vancouver Central

1025 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L4, Canada (Formerly Royal Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
cte2015 Temuco, Chile
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    33
    88
    53
    17
    10
See reviews for
6
48
84
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (201)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Temuco, Chile
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

You find the hostel in the heart of Vancouver. There for it's great for nightouts, public transport is close by and you can reach everything from here. Having that great location and the partys it can be really noisy. The bathrooms in general are tidy. In my opinion there are to less showers, once booked out there can be a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Myself and a number of friends chose to frequent the hostel due to its close proximity to the centre of Vancouver and its affordable price tag. A distinct lack of air conditioning led to our room reaching a heat comparable to the sun's fiery core. However the unbearable heat wasn't the only concern during our stay. Upon arrival it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rizal Province, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I attended an event at Vancouver Convention Center. Most of the hotels around the area are fully booked that's why I opted for this hostel. So, I lower my expectation but what's good with his hostel it exceeded my expectation, checking in was a breeze, I booked private room with private bathroom. I stayed for 1 week. Receptionist are all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed in another Hostelling hotels in europe and in USA and the best thing is the location is very central the hostel itself is quite old and gray but the price was cheap compared to other options around the area. We chose a Private room with bathroom and besides being a bit old and carpeted it was average.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valparaiso, Chile
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I think the hostel was good, more pricey compared to Europe, but it was a good location and friendly staff, and cheap for being Canada i assume. Breakfast included, and was good as well. They have activities every day, and I easily made friends!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

This is actually the most expensive hostel I've ever stayed at but understandable because of the location. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm. The room was small and I could see that it was an older building, but it was comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Free wifi worked well in the room Bathrooms were nice but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

We had booked a private room bit needed an extra night. We ended up having to be in separate rooms for the first night and as a young female I was lumped into a mixed dorm with 3 half naked males who snored loudly and a flickering light which was very annoying as I was on the top bunk. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

This hostel has ample space majority of the years I've been staying, the rooms are also big enough to store equipment (bikes, snowboards etc.). The hostel itself is pretty low key which is frankly a nice change of pace from the rest of downtown. You have to make your own fun a lot of the times and people are usually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

1. I checked-in from airport, I was told US$ to be 1=1, so I went next door and got 1.22 rate. This is negative image to the city as well, is this downtown of most livable city in the world? I calculated I would lose $9 per night for $40 rent for exchange rate! 2. Elevator was not working, totally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VCTHostelManager, Manager at Hostelling International Vancouver Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at our property. I’m sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your needs while you were with us. We absolutely do give an exchange on U.S. dollars, so I apologize for the misinformation you received at check-in. Our exchange rates varies week by week, but we always... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Good hostel. Some staff more helpful than others. One woman behind the counter was reluctant to help me. Everyone else was great. My room had a good view except for what was below the window: alleys, trash cans and roof tops. The rest was big city views! Check to see if your dishes are clean because patrons are sloppy sometimes.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay