We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

529 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    156
    272
    78
    11
    12
See reviews for
136
226
51
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (529)
  • Mar-May only
    (136)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (183)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (152)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location was ideal. It is within walking distance to many outstanding eateries of diverse offerings and pricing. As far as the hotel itself, the bar was low. Our stay barely met it. Free wifi, parking. Clean room as far as the naked eye. But the dated decor and the obviously old upholstery and linens do warrant a once-over with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We flew in at night, stayed out by the airport and took the train into the city in the morning. Our best hope was that we could drop our bags and go exploring. Instead, we found that our room was ready and well located. Throughout our stay we were impressed by the friendly service and convenience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
United States
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is very pleasant. I enjoyed the clean rooms and wifi. The lobby is on the small side and also the breakfast area as well. The breakfast was decent and enough to get you thru the morning. There is a market next door that can help fill in the gaps. The bus stop to downtown is about a 2... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Overall the hotel was clean, It is not really walking distance to downtown but the location is still reasonable. The parking lot was very interested, It was this small underground space and you have to be an expert driver to maneuver your car in that lot. The morning staff at Reception could have been friendlier but the girl in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent three nights at the BW Uptown. We booked via Expedia and got a reasonable rate. Check in was fast. We had a nice room on the 3rd floor. Upon first look the room was in good condition but we were disappointed to find hair on the bathroom floor and a empty pop can and plastic cup on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Sobrante, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great price/value but not convenient to downtown. However, if you get an all day pass you can ride buses and metro all day. Was able to see all the key tourist areas with this pass without the hassle of traffic and finding parking..highly recommend the pass. Also, there is a fantastic Italian restaurant (Italia Bella) next door to the hotel...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am happy to hear that your first visit to Vancouver was enjoyable. Also thank you for your recommendation of the day pass. Vancouver transit is fantastic and from our hotel for most attractions only 1 bus is needed the number "19 - Stanley Park"... More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel located beside a small shopping center and a terrific Italian restaurant. Entire hotel is very clean, rooms and beds are comfortable with fridge and Keurig coffee maker. Bathrooms have extremely short/low toilets and no grab bars. Breakfast is extensive and delicious, though seating is limited when hotel is full. Staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much your review of our hotel, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and for future stays we do have rooms available with more accessible bathrooms if you require it you can call the hotel direct to request these rooms. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Dave... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros (not in order): friendly staff; clean; excellent breakfast; decent price/value; medium size room; refrigerator/microwave in room; decent wifi speed (whereas many motels/hotels have abysmally slow wifi speeds) Cons (not in order): very crowded breakfast room; very limited parking; questionable area crime-wise; sink drained very slowly; AC did not cool down room (complained but got unsatisfactory result/reply); try to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Roadtripguyaz for your review of our hotel, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality. Though I am sorry to hear that we were not able to resolve the issue with your Air Conditioner to your satisfaction, all of our units are within 2 years old and in good working condition, unfortunately we cannot know when... More 

Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
216 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is up to the standards of Best Western. Our room was clean and equipped with everything we needed (bath products, hair dryer, water boiler, coffee maker..) We would have loved for the bed to be a bit bigger though. We both love some space while sleeping. Airco was very noisy. Free wifi was available. The hotel is located... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel, I would just like to clarify a few key points in regards to some of your concerns. Our breakfast area is indeed small and in the early morning hours it is almost always empty (I recommend taking breakfast between 6:30 and 8am or after 9:30) These size constraints also restrict our ability... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel location was outside downtown area but very walkable that we got to know the area. Found a very nice eatery a block away, 'Charlie's Little Italian', that had a wonderful staff and food. Hop-on-Hop-off was a great way to see the city and get around.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel, I am happy to hear that you got to experience Mount Pleasant and some of its fantastic eateries. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Dave Stevens Assistant General Manager Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

258 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (198)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
King Suite (43)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (8)
Viewed
Standard Double Full Room (33)
Viewed
Standard King Room (34)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (27)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (Upper Level) (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Fairview
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#42 of 96 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#62 of 96 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#49 of 96 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Fairview
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay