We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Tofino accommodations

The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens

1084 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 886, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Clayoquot Field Station at the Tofino Botanical Gardens)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens to your Saves list
The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
73%
Ranked #11 of 21 Specialty lodging in Tofino
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Maayan H Haifa, Israel
  • Overview
  • Reviews (20)
  • Photos (20)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 nights with family, booked the garden suite with private bathroom and a double room. This hostel is very clean and very special - even the soap in the shower is a botanical soap! They try hard to make the place look nice and unique. The only problem is that the men's bathroom are located only on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Beautiful Eco park attached to this very unique hotel. The breakfast is very good, wide variety of food including home made muffins and jams etc. Very helpful and friendly staff also. This hotel is unlike most hotels, it's very much like a bed and breakfast. There are robes for each guest staying in the room. No televisions in the rooms,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It IS like a hostel, but to my surprise, i didn't even mind sharing the bathrooms..hot water, very clean, perfectly usable and convenient. Our room was basic but pleasant, lots of light, just enough space and clean. Again to my surprise, I really enjoyed the communal living areas downstairs, eating at big tables..et fok form UK and Europe and..., and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here for 3 weeks for a yoga teacher training program in September. The staff at the lodge and in Darwin's Cafe were really amazing and easy to talk to. They worked really hard to accommodate all the needs of our big group. Towels and housecoats are provided and beach towels can also be borrowed. The shared living space... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cartersville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The lodge is basically a hostel, which is fine, but instead it was priced as a luxury hotel. The location is lovely--in the woods--and the design of the building is rustic and natural. However, the rooms very extremely overpriced. We stayed in the Garden Suite, which included a queen bed and a bunkbed, as well as a sofa and chair,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We just got back from our first trip to Tofino as a family. We stayed one night at the Ecolodge as we liked the idea of the botanical gardens, and the room was within our price range. The check in was smooth, and the front desk help was amazing (the same girl worked both days we were there) - she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked two nights at the Ecolodge. There were 4 of us sharing the Forest Suite, me, my husband and my two sons aged 12 and 14. The room was very comfortable and warm with an ensuite. There was only one other guest whilst we were there, so it was very quiet. We all loved the breakfast of porridge (oatmeal)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra day. Everything is clean, cool with a very relaxed and informal atmosphere. There is free access anytime to the gorgeous gardens which are temperate rain forest and are next to the sea and mudflats. Lots of beautiful Pacific beaches close by. Not ensuite so a bit expensive, but good breakfast included... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Don't expect a bedroom like the one shown on the website. The location itself is nice and it was high season, but paying CAD 149.00 plus taxes and not being able to sleep is unacceptable. The concept of sharing the kitchen and bathrooms was OK since it was the deal, but “eco” should not mean an old bed with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
George P, Owner at The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Camaci, We are sorry to hear that the Ecolodge at Tofino Botanical Gardens did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously, and will do our utmost to address the concerns you have raised. The bathrobes and slippers provided to guests are laundered between each stay, and we have inspected each bed frame to... More

Kalmthout, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Ecological stay. Communal well equipped kitchen encourages contact with other residents. Botanical Garden is highly recommended in the early evening to visit. Stacking Cots, common shower rooms is outdated. Breakfast is OK. Caution: the road from Port Alberni to Tofino in km long but not terribly long time (you can only 40-50km/uur drive and there are almost no stops).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens

Address: 1084 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 886, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Clayoquot Field Station at the Tofino Botanical Gardens)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens provides beautiful, comfortable, accommodations while maintaining respect for the environment. Our vibrant common areas promote shared ideas, shared experiences and even shared meals. With our 12-acre gardens at your front door and our natural history library, we provide everything the conscious traveler needs to discover the nature of Tofino. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer