We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duffin Cove Resort

Hotel website
215 Campbell Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Duffin Cove Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    37
    42
    23
    12
    14
See reviews for
29
64
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (128)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Berkeley, California, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Duffin Cove is easy. Being a block from downtown means that the furthest reaches of Tofino are within a short walk, but with its waterfront location, town might as well be a million miles away. It’s easy because the staff makes everything run smoothly. Traveling with two small children and their myriad needs, all our requests were met with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shannon H, Front Desk Clerk at Duffin Cove Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Here at the Duffin Cove Resort we pride ourselves on location, views, and friendliness. especially being able to make every little detail of a vacation work out! We hope to get the chance to host your amazing little family again in the future. Thank you for the great review! Cheers Natalee More 

Kelowna, British Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

was able to get a great room overlooking the ocean. hotel is right in town so you can walk everywhere rooms are clean. Could use bigger beds . It was really busy in Tofino but you would never know in this place private and nice atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shannon H, Front Desk Clerk at Duffin Cove Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the amazing review! We are glad to hear that you have had a great experience here at Duffin Cove Resort. Our views are one of our greatest attributes, alongside making sure our guests enjoy every bit of their vacation. Thank you again! Cheers, Natalee :) More 

Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We got room 103, beautiful view, unbeatable in the town i am sure. Room had a nice size, everything was clean but the bed cover could have been laundered more often. Complimentary coffee and tea was great. WIFI signal is not very good, but enough unless you need to work using internet. Location is excellent for walking to great restaurants.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shannon H, Front Desk Clerk at Duffin Cove Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review and for the constructive input. Our guest are our #1 focus here at Duffin and we take action with every review we receive. Tofino Being a very unique area of the world, high season can tend to get a bit expensive; which is why we continue to maintain competitive rates all year round.... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

My Husband and I went on a "wing it" road trip this July and found ourselves in Tofino. We drove down Campbell Street until we couldn't go any further and stopped at Duffin Cove Resort. We got extremely lucky getting a room on short notice/walk-in. Shannon was amazing to deal with and was super accommodating. She said the room had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Shannon H, Manager at Duffin Cove Resort, responded to this review

Lacey! Thank-you very much for the awesome review! We are so happy the incredible view distracted you from our lack of high-speed internet! Being that Tofino is in the stone-age compared to bigger cities with the internet! he-he. Here at our small Resort we pride ourselves on the view, location, and friendliness. We hope to host you again sometime soon... More 

West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

If you are looking for luxury, look somewhere else; if you are looking for peace & quiet, with almost nothing between you & Japan, then book an ocean view room & relax. Really friendly people who care, and the ability to walk anywhere in the community of Tofino. Yes, some updates could be done, but I wouldn't swap those for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shannon H, Front Desk Clerk at Duffin Cove Resort, responded to this review

Dave, Thank you for the B-E-A-U-tiful review! Everything you have commented on is truly what we pride ourselves on. Duffin Cove Resort is waiting here for when you return to our Coast. Thank you again. Cheers, Natalee More 

Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

If view is your priority, cant beat this. All rooms face the water. However . . . this is an old old property. The rooms are very small. The furnishings and appointments are funky. The managers are WONDERFUL people. Very accommodating. The grounds are lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shannon H, Front Desk Clerk at Duffin Cove Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review! As one of the oldest establishments in Tofino we try very hard to appeal to every one customer. We are glad to hear all the different opinions, it helps us to focus on what we need to work on in the different rooms. Hopefully our amazing view has made up for some of... More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

This hotel is right in Tofino so you can't beat the location. We had a 2 bedroom suite that looked out on the ocean. The bedrooms were in the back of the suite and were dark with tiny windows and smelled overwhelmingly of vinegar that was used to clean the walls. The furnishings were outdated and tired. Overall, we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shannon H, Front Desk Clerk at Duffin Cove Resort, responded to this review

Margot, I am happy to hear you had enjoyed your stay within Tofino! Our location and views are some of our biggest selling points. However, our room should have been on the same path. Thank you for the review, as it allows us to keep up on what we truly need to look for in the changes we are going... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

We had reserved a weekend getaway about 2 months in advance and were booked into room 106. Upon arrival we were given room 105, which was not as good as 106. When we first checked in to the room we were appalled at the state of the bathroom, and noticed that there was no shower curtain. The staff were friendly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shannon H, Front Desk Clerk at Duffin Cove Resort, responded to this review

Dave, We apologies for your unpleasant stay. As a small team of our 13 room establishment, we strive to keep things going well throughout our busy summer months. Sadly, the room cleanliness was not up to snuff. And are glad when we receive constructive criticism, as we are always willing to learn and grow as a small business. Thank you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Tofino hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

This is not a luxury hotel, but we enjoyed it almost as much as the Wickinninish, where we had stayed the night before! Probably the view is what will really win you over, but the small room had other touches that we were impressed with, such as a larger than average fridge, a full coffee and tea setup, and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shannon H, Front Desk Clerk at Duffin Cove Resort, responded to this review

Janna, We are very glad to hear how you have enjoyed your stay! My oh my!!! A comparison to Wickanninish Inn. Thank you! We pride ourselves on the amazing view we have to the Pacific Ocean! That is truly one of the highlights of our Resort. The adirondack chairs were made by the owner, and the view... by mother nature!... More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

We had an amazing time, quiet, beautiful view, manager is amazing, love everything about it including how close it is to everything. Would not hesitate to go back, or recommend it to close family and friends. Two thumbs up, 10/10, I want to live there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shannon H, Manager at Duffin Cove Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the awesome review! Our team here at Duffin Cove Resort is quite small, as is the Resort. I will be sure to pass the message on to everyone. Excellent stays are what we strive for! It sounds like you enjoyed indeed! We are here on the west coast waiting for you to enjoy another... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.1 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge
3.6 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 17 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
1.3 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#10 of 17 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay