We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Middle Beach Lodge

400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Hotel amenities
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Middle Beach Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

840 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed here many times over many years. The location is outstanding. You can hear the waves crashing on the shore from your room, and the views are gorgeous. Breakfast in the morning is great, and the lodge is cozy. The only downside is the wifi: it's atrocious. You can connect from your room, but you cant actually use it... More 

Helpful?
Thank TAC53
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I come to middle beach at least once a year for a long weekend getaway. Every trip has been near perfection including the most recent. Although their main lodge was closed for deep seasonal cleaning, and therefore we couldn't have the dinner, they certainly made up for it with the same fantastic breakfast bread and cinnamon buns... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elljae08
MBL_Manager, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Elljae08, Thank you so much for your positive review and for taking the time to write one so thorough and detailed. We are so thrilled that you had a wonderful time and we truly look forward in having to back to stay with us! I am sorry to hear that you did have a negative experience with the person... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow....we loved this place. Just a couple miles outside of Tofino itself but situated right on the beach edge with views of the 'wild' Pacific. The hotel is rustic throughout but so thoughtfully decorated and maintained. Our room was on the small side but we didn't care at all as we had windows on two sides affording views of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ilovetheatre
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago and it was one of the best places I've ever stayed at! I hope to return with my son in the near future. We also spotted a black bear on the way which was very exciting. The beaches were beautiful and very clean. We took a whale watching trip which was worth every penny.

Helpful?
Thank Loustanley7707
MBL_Manager, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Loustanley7707, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time staying with us and that you got to experience the wonders of the West Coast. We truly hope to see you back again very soon! Warm regards, Britt Chalmers General Manager Middle Beach Lodge More 

North Saanich
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

I stayed solo for 2 days while visiting family in Tofino and loved the common room with incredible view, comfy couches, Tofino-related books and outstanding homemade cinnamon buns and cookies. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate is free all day and included breakfast offerings were casual but more than adequate. Did I say don't miss the hot cinnamon buns? Fruit was... More 

Helpful?
Thank cocopep11
MBL_Manager, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Cocopep11 Thank you for writing us such detailed and thorough review. We appreciate the time and that you chose Middle Beach Lodge as your destination. We are thrilled that you did enjoy your time with us and that you were able to relax and rejuvenate! We do have plenty of other room types if you were looking for a... More 

Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

We return to Middle Beach Lodge for the amazing west coast view and for the sounds of the ocean right at your doorstep. The staff are always friendly and helpful in keeping your visit peaceful and relaxing. Good location relative to Tofino town centre and all the nice restaurants. Oh yes, can' t forget the 8 pm cookies right out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bonelltravell2
MBL_Manager, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Bonelltravell2, Thank you for writing us such a positive response! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Tofino was a wonderful experience for you. We hope to see you back again in the near future! Warm regards. Britt Chalmers General Manager Middle Beach Lodge More 

Victoria BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

This is a really beautiful property in a great location. It is intentionally rustic and caters to those seeking a quiet getaway. It is focused on giving adults a quiet relaxing vacation and there is not much there for children except the beach. Beach access is good. Set out on a small headland, you can hear the waves below from... More 

Helpful?
Thank DTSMVic
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Hello DTSMVic, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your insight with our rooms and we do apologize about any access noise that you may have experienced or the in-completion of dirty dishes in your suite, We take... More 

Seattle
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

This was our 6th visit to MBL, most recent being in 2012, and 3rd time in dog-friendly cabin #38. I can't say enough good things about it, nor can I wait to return. Thoughtful touches everywhere and I noted a few upgrades since our last visit. I'd rather not everything be perfect than have a corporate take-over.

Helpful?
Thank GoodEaterstoo
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Goodeaterstoo, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our return stay with us and that everything was to your liking. We appreciate your choice to come back to Middle Beach Lodge and we truly hope to see you again in the near future! Warmest regards,... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

When you check in, the view just past the reception and past the floor-to-ceiling fireplace draws you out to the large deck that cantilevers out over the rocky beach facing islets and the huge Pacific beyond. Created by Chris LeFevre, a proponent of using reclaimed timbers and other materials, the 'great room' with its magnificent large timber posts and beams... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 154943Nancy
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 154943Nancy, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a thorough review. We truly appreciate it! We are very happy to hear that your stay was overall very positive and that you enjoyed the rustic touches to the lodge. Thank you for bringing forth your concern about the road in to Middle Beach Lodge. This is a... More 

Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

The bad: The little road going in is full of deep potholes. Pretty annoying with a small car. A simple fix with a pick up truck or two of gravel doesn't seem like a difficult fix. The bed was horrible. If this was my resort I would personally lay in every bed and get rid of the bad ones. Springs... More 

Helpful?
Thank morris4321
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Morris4321, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your experience. It’s appreciated! The road off the highway is maintained however sometimes with heavy rains and vehicles pushing out the gravel it can result in those pot holes returning. We are very sorry to hear you did not sleep well! We absolutely take pride in ensuring all of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

539 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (485)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (164)
Viewed
Room/suite (102)
Viewed
View from room (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (26)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (128)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
2.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#10 of 17 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Star Beach Retreat
Sea Star Beach Retreat
#11 of 17 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
2.6 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay