We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Summerhill Guest House

Hotel website
1101 Fellowship Drive | PO Box 512, Tofino, British Columbia British Columbia, V0R 2Z0, Canada
Offers & Announcements
CAD115 (CAD)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Summerhill Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    29
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
New Mills
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a great stay in Tofino and Summerhill was a great base to explore the area from. Harold was a great hos and made some excellent recommendations. Location is very quiet and peaceful. You can walk downtown but it is close on a 30 minute walk. There are facilities closer by and easy access to two fine beaches. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed a wonderful visit and our stay at Summerhill was perfect - absolutely everything was done to provide for our needs - we were so well looked after and the suite was spotless and comfortable. Terrific hosts and a warm welcome. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This accommodation was clean - but unfortunately not exactly what we were looking for. Our mistake. The room was adequate - the bathroom was very large and fitted out well. This was not close to the water (another of our "wishes"). The toaster did not work, the expectation was that dishes were done in the bathroom hand basin. There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Summerhillguesthouse, Owner at Summerhill Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. I am sorry that you found the suite lacking some of the things you really wanted. This is our smallest and least expensive room and I know that you were hoping for something larger, but as we had discussed it was all we had open at the time. If you plan to... More 

Toronto, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

These guest houses are situated in a beautiful and calm location. They are clean and well organized, as well as close to several amenities that we used (Live to Surf, Tacofino, Black Bear Kayaking). The owners were very helpful with any questions we had.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Vancouver, British Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The sleeping area was adequate and the bathroom was extremely spacious. The flooring and bedding could use with an update to give the space a fresher look. The small fridge was not working well and our food and beverages were not as cold as we would have liked. TV was available for watching DVD but there was no cable. The... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Summerhillguesthouse, Owner at Summerhill Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that overall you enjoyed yourself and had a pleasant stay. I am sorry that I forgot to warn you about the fridge. I had a new one that was delivered right at the end of your stay and we have since replaced the faulty unit. I would like to have had it... More 

Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

We really enjoy our stays at this guest house. The owners are very friendly and you can't beat the proximity of this location. Our baby loved playing in their yard. We loved playing in the waves of the beach around the corner. We will be back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Summerhillguesthouse, Owner at Summerhill Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am glad you enjoyed yourselves, and it was a real pleasure to have you stay with us. More 

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Harold was a great host; he offered good suggestions for places to eat and things to do. There was also a good resource binder in the room. Room was clean and sufficient for our needs & good location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Summerhillguesthouse, Owner at Summerhill Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you! More 

Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

Stayed at the Kitchen Garden suite for 3 nights. The hosts are very hospitable, the kitchen large and very well equipped. The location is very convenient - close enough to Tofino, without being at the center of the noise. Cons: The beds are small, squeaky, and the mattress uncomfortable - especially the extra bed. The towels and the sheets were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Summerhillguesthouse, Owner at Summerhill Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Guesthouse. I am sorry that your visit was not completely satisfactory as we know how much planning and expectation goes into any vacation. We are surprised that you found the beds small, as they are as advertised: 1 full queen size and a futon (double) bed. The Queen... More 

Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

We visited Summerhill Guest House in June 17-19. We stayed at Sunset Suite. It is very clean and beautiful decorated. The place is very quiet and relaxing. The owners are very friendly. We will definitely be beck.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Summerhillguesthouse, Owner at Summerhill Guest House, responded to this review

We really appreciate your lovely review. Thanks for dropping in, and we'd be glad to host you again when you return to Tofino! More 

Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

We stayed at the Summerhill guest house Sept 11-14 in their "Rose Room.". It was clean and comfortable and everything that we needed was right there. We did not make full use of the facility as we did not make any of our meals there. The hosts were very friendly and recommended some really good restaurants. The only minor complaint... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Summerhillguesthouse, Owner at Summerhill Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad you're thinking of coming back. Perhaps next time you could try our Sunset Suite which is really spacious for a couple, with an enlarged sitting/TV area and handy built-in kitchenette. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
1:50
Videos (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge
0.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 17 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#10 of 17 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities