We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Tofino hotels

Marina West Motel

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   634 Campbell St | Box 69, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Weigh West Marine Resort)
Hotel amenities
Marina West Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marina West Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013
Della L Vancouver, Canada
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    64
    55
    36
    32
See reviews for
28
116
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
There are newer reviews for Marina West Motel
See the most recent reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you are looking for a top of the line resort, this is not your place. Rooms are comfortable and clean and close to everything. The diner and bar that are with the motel are good, food is tasty and service is quick. Only complaint, the room they advertise that is "Two Queens" is not...more like two Double beds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. I will look into the bed size as we do have queen sized beds. Look forward to seeing you back on the coast soon. More 

Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

First, I will say this is NOT one of those posh, exclusive out-of-town resorts - Marina West Motel is right on the main road entering Tofino, easily found, and so easy from which to explore Tofino, itself. And yet, you will experience almost no road noise or interruptions, as the rooms' backs and entrance doors face toward the road, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and have always prided ourselves on delivering best economical stay in Tofino as well as the convenience of being downtown so you can walk everywhere. Glad to hear our new mattresses were enjoyed. Please come again soon. More 

Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I travelled to Tofino for the first time this past weekend for an overnight adventure. I wasn't sure what to expect as my travel buddy booked the room, but I was pleasently surprised. The hotel has a ton of character, the evening front desk staff were very friendly & helpful, the room itself was spacious & had a great view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is a dump, staff is not even close to being friendly. Ants in the bed. We stayed in room 50 and there were signs of an electrical fire in one of the outlets. There is not enough electrical outlets so you get the privilege of crawling under the desk and unplugging the light so you can plug the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review

Appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience and sorry to hear the dissappointment in your stay. I have checked with management on some of your issues and am free to discuss if you would like to contact me at the hotel. Many Thanks Duane Bell More 

Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Obviously better known for the busy harbour experience. We found it very entertaining to sit and watch while having a beer on the outside deck. Huge salmon and halibut cleaned right there much to the delight of the crows. Fishing tours, plane trips all sorts of kayaking readily available. We did the whale watching and got a little history of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review

Glad to hear you got to enjoy one of our packages on the coast and feel the same about the views of our busy harbor (get to look at it out my office window everyday!) We have some great winter packages as well so hope to see you back out again soon. Many Thanks Duane Bell More 

Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you are not spending a lot of time in your room, this is a decent option to stay in. Rooms are spacious and clean, but it gets quiet noisy at nights, as the bar in the motel area is the only one open late in town. Staff was pretty nice, had a smooth check-in and check-out. Tofino is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I had to stay here for a few days for business in the end of May. I am sorry Marina west but I was really disappointed. The rooms were clean and small and I was initially happy to see a "modern" high def flat screen in my room. I quickly became disappointed to find out that they had an old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience and have looked into the various techincal difficulties while you were here. Please feel free to contact me directly at the motel to discuss. Many Thanks Duane Bell More 

Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the end of May. We purchased a coupon online which gave us two nights and $50 hotel restaurant credit for $155. It seemed like a good deal and we had never been to Tofino before, so we bought it. Here is a detailed review of the hotel. Check in: -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Formerly Weigh West Resort, now appropriately named a Motel. Some upgrades put it above typical motel standards but the walls are thin and our view was of the parking lot. The location was convenient, right off hwy with diner, pub, marine activity center and fish sales on site. Town centre is a 5 min stroll away. While overall neat &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We absolutely loved the whale watching adventure and John our guide was fantastic! The ladies that worked at the Marine Adventure counter were super friendly. We saw a grey whale, humpback, sea otters, seals and bald eagles ... amazing!! As for the motel itself, the front counter service was great, the rooms were very clean, but unfortunately our room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Marina West Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina West Motel

Address: 634 Campbell St | Box 69, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Weigh West Marine Resort)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina West Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marina West Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weigh West Marine Hotel Tofino
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay