We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Tofino hotels

Marina West Motel

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   634 Campbell St | Box 69, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Weigh West Marine Resort)
Hotel amenities
Marina West Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marina West Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
n0ts0g00d Nanaimo, Canada
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    63
    53
    36
    32
See reviews for
27
113
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (211)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 2 nights. Our room was on the top level that was just a walk in form our car. The girl on the receptionist was nice and did a good job booking us in. The room it self was an older type room but I love the 2 easy chairs that we could sit on to watch a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarinaWestTofino, Front Desk Representative at Marina West Motel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Great to hear your enjoyed your stay with us! Did you know that motel guests receive a discounted rate on whale watching, bear watching & hot springs trips at our on-site Marine Adventure Centre? The season kicks off in March and runs until September! We look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Many Thanks, The... More

Courtenay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this motel for the past week-end and what a nightmare. My husband asked for a specific room which we had last time and was told we couldn't as it wasn't provided through the Island Daily Deals. Then when he said we got it last time we were told it was under construction. We insisted on a room with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MarinaWestTofino, Front Desk Representative at Marina West Motel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank-you for your review. We do take your feedback seriously and have made note of these issues to better serve our guests in the future. If you would like to speak to us further, our Front Desk Manager may be reached at 250-725-3277 or groups@marinawest.com Kind Regards, The Team at Marina West More

Port Townsend, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We'd booked via a nationally known third party and looked forward to the 2 night stay in a queen suite with kitchenette. Upon opening the door of our unit we were dismayed discover only one light bulb in the overhead light working, the living area consisted of two overstuffed chairs, no side tables and a standing lamp with one lightbulb.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MarinaWestTofino, Front Desk Representative at Marina West Motel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank-you for your review. We do take your feedback seriously and have made note of these issues to better serve our guests in the future. If you would like to speak to us further, our Front Desk Manager may be reached at 250-725-3277 or groups@marinawest.com Kind Regards, The Team at Marina West More

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I read some of the negative reviews and all I can say is that it was no my experience of the place. Nice sized rooms, nice views, close to all the water activities and tours, also a great Resturant attached where you can watch the float planes, fisherman and wildlife. No problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarinaWestTofino, Front Desk Representative at Marina West Motel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank-you for your review! Did you know that motel guests receive a discounted rate on whale watching, bear watching & hot springs trips at our on-site Marine Adventure Centre? The season kicks off in March and runs until September! We look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Kind Regards, The Team at Marina West More

Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We had booked the Marina West for two nights for the first weekend of October. Apparently a standard room means that you'll get no view, be on the backside of th building and look only at your truck. We asked to upgrade and we're given a rude no and that there was no availability. The hotel was clearly not full... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We stayed at this motel on September 29, 2014, were unhappy with the state of the room, and when asked if we could switch, no other rooms were available. The attendant provided a $25 food coupon and we returned to the same room. When checking out the following day, the Manager informed us that no charge would be made for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
MarinaWestTofino, Front Desk Representative at Marina West Motel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are sorry to hear you were given this response by the 3rd party, and have followed up with them to request that your refund is issued. Since the room was booked & paid for via a 3rd party, the refund would need to be issued through them, and as part of their policy the first step... More

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple nights, after finding a good deal on booking, so our room was about $75 per night. The room was great with a balcony and super comfy beds. The girls at the desk were helpful and friendly. The restaurant just a few mins away had good food and drinks for a fair price. No complaints.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarinaWestTofino, Front Desk Representative at Marina West Motel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank-you for your review. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, The Team at Marina West More

Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this Motel. First we were getting a bit scared off by lots of negative reviews, we read on booking site. BUT : we had a perfect stay. great beds, coffeemaker, WIFI, fridge, seats, and a very nice balcony. nice surrouding & view. The staff at the desk gave us a room far away from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

I will start off with what was good; not only was there coffee they provided tea (common in hotels) but also hot chocolate (they were the only place in the six we have used so far that did). The towels were the best we have come across on this trip, soft & very absorbent. There was plenty of parking but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We loved the view from our room which captured all the sounds and goings on of a working fishing harbor. The room was extra large with lots of seating areas, a very comfy bed with good linens, and a good supply of coffee and tea. We only stayed one night, but with the fridge and microwave, a multi night stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Marina West Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina West Motel

Address: 634 Campbell St | Box 69, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Weigh West Marine Resort)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina West Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marina West Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weigh West Marine Hotel Tofino

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay