We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pioneer Guesthouse

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
167 3rd Ave East | Cow Bay, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1K4, Canada (Formerly Pioneer Backpackers Inn)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Pioneer Guesthouse
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    114
    38
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
48
57
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (164)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Mission, British Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were not made to feel welcome at our first meeting. It was late, we were off the ferry, and perhaps the staff were tired. The room was very small with no where to spread out our luggage. You may wish to consider a motel room as a preferable option.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canmore, Alberta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed in a private room with our small bichon frise dog Oliver. Well worth the extra $20 for Oliver : ) It gave him a lovely clean homey place to snuggle up into amongst our us-scented dufflebags while we went out an enjoyed a fabulous sushi meal at Sushi Opa, just down the street. The kitchen... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This newly remodeled hostel is scrupulously clean, very attractive, with comfortable beds and bedding, a well-equiped kitchen with a large cooler and shelving for one's food, a good collection of "free food" and books, computers, wi-fi...and the managers will often pick up,their guests from the ferry south of town. The hostel is conveniently located in the "Cow Bay" tourist district,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Coquitlam, British Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very surprised to find that this hostel was so clean and well kept. The room rate was very good and the staff was very helpful with suggestions and information. They were very accommodating about storing our luggage and letting us hang out since we had a late flight. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wetherby
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment . We made the booking via booking.com and had to get both the apartment and a double room to accommodate our family of 5. On arriving we saw the apartment could accommodate up to 7. The staff were very obliging and we got a partial refund for the double room. The quality of... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

17 months into my around the world trip this has been one of the best hostels. Cleaner than any other hostel, superb bathrooms, no bunk beds which is awesome. Super friendly and helpful staff. Very nice kitchen and outside area. Super nice fellow travellers. Keep up with the amazing work, it's been a pleasure staying here!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canmore, Alberta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff very friendly & helpful - went above and beyond to help out my son, who had just arrived in PR from 12-day sailing trip, get settled in. Clean rooms, great location, great value. Will come again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Catharines, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very comfortable rooms. Clean and updated bathrooms. Very pleased overall. We stayed in the room with bunks great if you need two beds. Great location. Strange that they use a different name on different booking sites.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the nicest hostels I've been too, really bright and clean with a nice vibe. Only one downside, the wifi was pretty awful! Everything else was perfect! Thanks for a great stay, would recommend!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Pioneer_Inn, Manager at Pioneer Guesthouse, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We apologize about the poor Wifi during your stay. We had problems with our internet supplier - apparently we were not the only one, it seemed to have affected all of Cow Bay. We had a technician here several times, upgraded our modem and router, and installed signal amplifier throughout the... More 

Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I love to stay here. It is very nice hostel with good atmosphere. Location is ok. Close to nice cafes and supermarket. Around 15 walk from airport express bus station. Remember to book with HI card.Highly recommend to stay here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.2 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#6 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#7 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Black Rooster Guesthouse
Black Rooster Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay