We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coast Penticton Hotel

950 Westminster Ave. West, Penticton, British Columbia V2Z 1L2, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coast Penticton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Coast Penticton Hotel
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    27
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
25
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Lumby, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Maybe it was the day(Friday 13 of March).We were not impressed with the indifference in having to wait 50 minutes to get into our room.Check in time 3pm.We had to wait until 10 to 4pm. The bathroom had sptder webs behind the door and when turning fan on in air conditioner it looked like the vents hadn't been cleaned in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoastPentictonFD, Front Office Manager at Coast Penticton Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry about your wait. We did have staffing shortfall that day due to illnesses. So the cleaning of your room may have been rushed. We do clean the vents in our room AC units every 6 months. More 

Smithers BC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After checking out prices and reviews for hotels in Penticton, I chose this one. I had 2 teens with me and wanted a pool and hot tub. I agree the hotel is a bit dated, but our stay was very satisfactory and we would stay here again. I agree with the review that Harvey C below made, the rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoastPentictonFD, Front Office Manager at Coast Penticton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It's always great to hear positive and constructive comments. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My last visit was extremely disappointing. There were very few people staying at the hotel, and the room I was given had a giant pillar in the middle of the room! Unacceptable. They seemed to try with putting in nicer furnishings, but you can tell it is all cheep. The bed was uncomfortable, the chair at the desk was far... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CoastPentictonFD, Front Office Manager at Coast Penticton Hotel, responded to this review

I apologize for the appearance on the interior of our elevator. All hardware, gearing and control systems were upgraded last December and we have not yet refurbished the interior panels. regarding the WiFi situation, my understanding is that our connection supplier was having dropped connection issues Monday and Tuesday last week but I do apologize that we werent able to... More 

Abbotsford, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My sisters and I stayed at this hotel and were not very impressed with it at all. The elevator was fit for one person maybe two, when you got to the top floor or any floor for that matter the elevator opened two high so you could not get their one little dolly out to the floor without someone lifting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoastPentictonFD, Front Office Manager at Coast Penticton Hotel, responded to this review

I am Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I can say that the Elevator has been fixed with completely new gearing and controls. The elevator carriage is still currently the same but should be getting a face-lift this year. More 

Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Location: about 5 mins from the main (downtown) area. Reception: fantastic... friendly and professional. Thanks Manda! Facility: Have you ever heard the expression, "Don't judge a book by its cover"? The saying applies to this hotel. From outward appearances the place looks a bit tired. The lobby is nice and clean but the elevator is a tad tiny and old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoastPentictonFD, Front Office Manager at Coast Penticton Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay, it is always great to hear some praise when things go well for a guest. One correction the Bear's Den is only open For Breakfast and Lunch. Hope to see you again Soon. More 

West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
69 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

This hotel has obviously been through a few ownerships and appears to be very tired. Our room was likely smoking at one time and the odor was noticeable. However the location is excellent since it's downtown and convenient to restaurants and shops. The price was right for the type of accommodation offered.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoastPentictonFD, Front Office Manager at Coast Penticton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. I hope we'll see you next time you pass through Penticton. I am sorry for the remnant smoking odor in your room, we try our best to air out and febreeze the rooms if someone has violated our properties Non-Smoking policy. More 

Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Stayed in the Coast Hotel in Penticton on Friday november 21,2014. It's an old hotel that has been renovated however not nearly to the brand standards of Coast Hotels. Newer sink in the bathroom but still the old tub with hot and cold taps. Old shower curtain rod as well. Power cord for the in wall air conditioner was hanging... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoastPentictonFD, Front Office Manager at Coast Penticton Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry your room was not up to standard upon your arrival. On a positive note we have upgraded our Hotel management software to now mesh with the Coast Hotels Central Database, on your next visit we will be able to access your full guest history. More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

dog friendly !!! was greeted with treats. and put us on a first floor so easy taking our pup out. they have a big field in the back we just let our bulldog run around in the back. also It was nice having the indoor and outdoor choice for the pools.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Hole in bathroom ceiling with electric wire and plumbing visible. Elevator not in service. Very rude lady at check in. Carpets on stairs very dirty. Other staff friendly and courteous. Told hotel was full but vacancy sign out all night. We stay at Coast all the time elsewhere and enjoy our stays. Maybe just a bad day

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoastPentictonFD, Front Office Manager at Coast Penticton Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I do recall that weekend and know that all of our rooms with 2 beds were booked up by a Hockey team, so we were unable to relocate you into a different room as you required 2 beds. Our elevator was out of service for 7 weeks in October- Dec... More 

Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We arrived around midnight and the person at the front desk was very nice and helpful. The beds are really comfortable. The rooms are not fancy but they are clean and have coffee maker and fridge. I would stay here again if I come back to Penticton.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
2:42
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question