We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rochester Resorts

970 Lakeshore Dr, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada
Hotel amenities
Rochester Resorts
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014
Eric S Malahat, Canada
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    5
    2
    7
See reviews for
3
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (29)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Malahat, Canada
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

The location is fabulous. The rooms are older and could use an update. But, the managers were rude to the point of being "ignorant" and have the personality of a "dirty diaper". Unless you are an extreme recluse and don't leave your " 1980's" room after arriving, you should find another accommodations elsewhere. Also, try not to speak while outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
rochesterresort, Manager at Rochester Resorts, responded to this review

Having spent over $150,000 plus in the past year or so on upgrading our rooms with new custom made draperies throughout, 32" flat screen TV's in all suites and some rooms, new bathroom and kitchen fixtures in some rooms, air conditioning/heating unit replacement, ( including the one this writer stayed in ), purchasing 70 new Queen and King beds from... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Room we stayed in was tired and dated. The kitchen area did contain dishes/cutlery for 4 along with small appliances. Beds were well used and the pull out couch was very uncomfortable. Limited linens and toiletries. The location is excellent, right across from the beach but the rooms could use an up-dating.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We have stayed here several times over the past 6 years. We have always enjoyed our stay but after our last visit we will not be staying there again or at least not until the new managers change their demeanor and attitude. We understand why you changed managers and they are professional but the are also abrasive and abrupt boardering... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE! Rented suite and bedroom door doesn't close! Parking is ridiculous and the old man was so rude!I do understand that they have to watch over there place but you must have some professionalism!It's a total dump the bed is hard as a rock and the pullout couches mattress wasnt even barely a mattress!For 380 bucks you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
Langley City, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the long weekend. Despite a popular outdoor concert going on, this place was nice and quiet. The room was a good size and very clean. Spent a few minutes chatting with the owners who were lovely. We also loved that we could walk everywhere. Very reasonably priced. We both look forward to staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vancouver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

we had a great stay at the little old rochester motel! we booked 2 nights at the last minute on a long weekend. It was really reasonably priced so we didn't have high expectations and were a little worried that it might be really crappy. it wasn't! our room/suite (second floor at the end of the row) was very clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rochesterresort, General Manager at Rochester Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review folks. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at " the old Rochester " , and had the opportunity to relax and chill out with us. We do strive to ensure our rooms are clean and quiet, and family friendly. Delighted to hear you enjoyed the local restaurants and activities in Penticton,... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I loved the location but will not stay here again solely based on the fact that the man at the front desk was not welcoming at all! He was super grumpy and a bit rude. People in customer service need to be pleasant. It is simple. The rooms were danky. There were no lights in the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
New Westminster, Canada
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stay here as a family tradition every year for over four years now. We will not be returning again. The first night was fine, but the second night my brother was in town to visit. He wanted to park in the parking lot and come in for a quick dinner for an hour or two. The parking lot was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
rochesterresort, General Manager at Rochester Resorts, responded to this review

It is truly unfortunate your guest experience did not live up to your expectations, however that being said, it is clearly posted on our parking lot, and has been for years, on our and agency web listings, on our front counter in the office, and indeed on the guest registration form you signed when checking in, that we have guest... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I first stayed in this hotel August 2012. We had a very bad experience that warranted a negative review on this site. I was later contacted by hotel management and was offered a free stay to make up for the experience, which I took advantage of in July 2013. I was wary of doing so, but my experience this time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rochesterresort, General Manager at Rochester Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we will ensure to pass them along to our staff, and look forward to your return visit with us. More 

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Rochester last week and to sum up our stay in one word ... perfect!Our suite was sparkling clean and the kitchen had all the essentials (and more) that we needed. The location was perfect right across the beach. We enjoyed bbq'ing on the deck. The bbq's and tools were clean and ready for use. This will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rochesterresort, General Manager at Rochester Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We and our staff at the Rochester constantly strive to maintain cleanliness of the rooms and amenities, and provide a secure and enjoyable environment for all our valued guests. We look forward to your return. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question