We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Nanaimo hotels

BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Church Street, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5H4, Canada
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel to your Saves list
60%
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Ilagam1 Victoria
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    85
    55
    31
    12
See reviews for
50
85
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (243)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Victoria
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is centrally located in quaint Nanaimo downtown core, walking distance to a bunch of restaurants. The room was comfortable, clean , and quiet. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in was very easy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ilagam 1, I'd like to appreciate taking your time to letting us know how great your stay was. We're located in the centre of Downtown Nanaimo and surrounded with all different kinds of shops, restaurants, and attractions that are all within walking distance. I'm sure all the rest of viewers who plan to visit us will enjoy the location... More

Powell River, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a nice hotel. The room was bright, with a view of the waterfront. Beds were comfortable. Shared this room (2 Queen beds) with 3 other women so, for 4 persons it was crowded but for 2 people it would be more than adequate. The bathroom had a wall to wall counter to accomodate 4 womens' toiletries. This is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Olivian 48, Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. I appreciate taking your time to letting us know how our team had served you well and I'll certainly share your compliments with our hardworking staffs. I'm sure it'll be the most valuable rewards for all of us knowing that they're appreciated. We'll always strive to accommodate our guests... More

Victoria, BC, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Small, older Hotel, nicely refurbished, with good amenities. Helpful staff, knew the neighbourhood. Interesting lay out, many steps, interesting décor, clean. Has washer and dryer - long term quests? Some noise from hallway. Nice breakfast. One entrance at street level, entrance from parking means walking up a couple of flights of stairs.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donald S, Thank you for your feedback. Our hotel was built in 1889, and has been refurbished over past several years to accommodate our guests with better amenities. Some guests find it interesting and we have a unique Charm that guests are saying it feels like staying at one of those historic European style hotel, some guests especially younger... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed 5nights for business at this hotel. At breakfast i enjoyed the delicious eggs benny. During the evening i took a stroll along the waterfront My room was clean and with the normal amenities expected in a best western. I felt very at home and will definitely be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in room 227 for 1 night. Overall, the lobby was large and bright, but the hallway on the second floor was dim, and with thick carpet, I felt like I was in a old hotel that really needed renovations. Room 227 is at the end of the hall, near the vending and ice machines, so it was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adventuregirl, Thank you for staying at Best Western Dorchester Hotel! Your feedback is very important to us and I'll assure you that we'll implement your feedback to enhance our service for our future guests. The Vending Machine on the 2nd floor has been removed. The rest of your feedback has been brought to our attention and we'll make sure... More

Cumberland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean, comfortable and helpful staff, hotel is a little old and dated. Check in was quick, helpfull staff during check in and the restaurant serves a good breakfast. Lobby was clean and nice, room was clean, small and too much furniture in the room. Hallways to the room reminded me of one of the old CN hotels.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vernon, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

although the hotel claims to be 100% smoke free in reality it smells of stale tobacco smoke in the public areas as well as our room. We ate in the dinning room and would describe the food as overpriced and the quality was terrible, it appeared that it was cooked in a microwave.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Matt C, Please accept our sincere apology if you were not satisfied with your stay. We're smoke free building and we implement our smoking policy very strictly. We'll double check the room that you've stayed at and make sure that this will never happen to any of our future guests. Thank you very much for your feedback in regards... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Found the prices a bit high for this hotel as it is older. The rooms were nice, comfy bed, clean. Excellect location though close to downtown and harbor activites. Overall good experience, would stay again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is clean and neat. A friendly staff member will greet you at the front desk. The decorating is back to the years the hotel was built. The room was comfortable. Had free wifi in the room. The dining room had some elegance with the chandeliers and old style furniture. Air conditioning in the room but I preferred opening... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Jeffrey M, Thank you very much taking your time to letting us know how your stay was. It will help us including our hard working staff members and myself to understand our guest's needs and what we can improve. We are actually in the process of developing our newer menu. We'll be adding more variety of menus in near... More

Duncan, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were not charged the amount quoted. When checking out we were then charged extra for our dog bringing the price over $200. We asked for a 2 bed and on arrival we had 1 bed and a hide-a-bed. Great, fine, super, wonderful, excellent, friendly, expensive, understanding, nicer than nice, This survey is too long and I wouldn`t agree to... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Harold A, If the Best Western Guest's survey was too long, I do apologize. Those surveys are automatically sent to all best western checked out guests and we have very limited control. If it is not convenient for you, you may unsubscribe for receiving the survey through your email. If you need further assistance for this matter, please feel... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel

Address: 70 Church Street, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay