We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
70 Church Street, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5H4, Canada
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    76
    117
    66
    35
    12
See reviews for
58
107
24
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (306)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Tacoma Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location overlooking the bay and all of its activity. Yet very quiet. Easy to drive to. Free parking! Helpful and friendly staff. Lots of small shops and restaurants. Had great fish and chips on the waterfront and then a nice walk on the promenade. Reasonable rates for a downtown hotel. All good things to say.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were at the Dorchester for a baseball tournament & glad we stayed. Perfect location near great restaurants (Trollers, Acme & Asteras), and the harbour area nice too. Older building so rooms a bit dated & quite small, but did the trick. Some nice touches like complimentary parking, coffee & cookies, but key feature was excellent staff. Drew on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The bathtub had black around the grouting (mold?) and the grouting was broken away from many of the tiles and the toilet had either urine or oil spilled on the floor beside it. I will never go back there again. Having stayed at other hotels in the area which I give high rating to, I feel generous with this rating.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eve C, Thank you for letting us know how your stay was. And, I apologize for any inconvenience that you had to go through. It is very unfortunate to hear that your room wasn't up to our standards. We've already looked into the matter, and have it fixed. Also, I've addressed your feedback on the service with our Front... More 

Travelers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here in July 2015. We were coming on the ferry from Vancouver to Nanaimo, and stayed one night at this hotel. The hotel is very well located, very near the beautiful boardwalk and close to the ferry to Gabriola island. The room is very clean and well furnished. The service is very friendly and was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jean R, Thank you very much for your great review. I'm glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to enjoy the beautiful harbour boardwalk as well. Will look forward to welcoming you again at any time in the future. Sincerely, Julie Park GM BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel More 

Metlakatla, Alaska
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms were very clean and updated as much as a historical building could be. It is very nice location. Right next to the pier, walking is wonderful in the area. There is a restaurant but it was never open when we were there. The rooms while clean were incredibly small. It was tight in there for the three of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, within easy walking distance of the harbor, great shopping and restaurants! The hotel is clean and comfortable, and we highly recommend it for your next visit to Nanaimo. The air conditioned room was very much appreciated as it was very hot outside during our visit.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quesnel, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

Limited parking it is first come first serve and hotel staff can not help you find parking. You are on your own, not good service. Side of building is stairs, and if you want to find the doors at road access you have to walk all around to the other side of building from the parking lot if you get... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Melinda N, Thank you for staying with us and let us know how your stay was. Our parking lot is attached to the building, and we have both back entrance and front entrance. Since we have limited parking spaces, we are limiting public usage in order to accommodate as many lots as possible for our hotel guests. All our... More 

Bainbridge Island, Wa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

Great value and location for visitors to Nanaimo. Free parking and walking distance to the conference center. Rooms are well appointed and the free wi-fi was reasonably fast. Staff was also courteous and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

First time to the Dorchester, met at front by a great Individual. Great accomodations and location, amenities great. Location is perfect for the person who likes to stroll around and check out the many shops. The harbor is close and great to see. Will be returning,

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Pildee, Thank you for your great feedback. On behalf of our staff, I'd like to appreciate your telling us how great your stay was. I'm also glad that you've enjoyed surrounding areas and you were able to stroll around the area. There're various types of interesting shops as you've mentioned and restaurants and historical sites all within walking distance... More 

Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

I have stayed at the Dorchester a number of time for business but this was the first time that I stayed for pleasure and I was not disappointed. Bruce, at the front desk has been at the hotel for a number of years and was as helpful as ever. While the hotel itself is an older building the room overlooking... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.1 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Nanaimo Harbourside
0.7 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Nanaimo Harbourview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay
Ready to book?