We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
70 Church Street, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5H4, Canada
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After living in Nanaimo for 25 years, this was my first experience staying in a hotel and I'm happy I chose the Dorchester. The staff were all excellent. Especially Wilma in the restaurant. The hotel itself is beautifully remodelled and the room was clean and comfortable. The location downtown was my main reason for choosing to stay here because of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathy O
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very friendly and professional hotel. My only choice when in town for work. Always a warm smile at the front desk and a familiar face in the lounge. I have always chosen to stay at the Dorchester because of its charm and character as a hotel that is not your everyday Beast Western.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tobias J
Humble
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The front desk staff are great and quick at check in and check out. It can be like walking thru a maze to get to your room, but once there the room I had was cozy and furniture, tv and bed are modern. I did find the room a bit small. There was no more than a foot wide space... More 

Helpful?
Thank TwiggerTraveler
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

We so enjoyed our visit to Nanaimo. The beautiful city with the harbour view, great restaurants, our trip to New Castle Island with our own personal tour guiide on our return to Nanaimo, and our many other opportunities we experienced. The location of the hotel was excellent. All employees were friendly and helpful. The main floor of the hotel is... More 

Helpful?
Thank rosemary976
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rosemary976, Thank you very much for taking your time to review your recent stay with us. I'll gladly share your comment with our team. Once again, thank you for staying with us and will look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Nanaimo. Sincerely, Julie Park General Manager BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel More 

Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

I love this hotel and stay at the Dorchester whenever I visit Nanaimo. My only complaint on this trip was that the pillows on my bed were extremely hard and thick. I couldn't get to sleep and had a painful crick in my neck in the morning.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Judith G
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Judith, Thank you for staying with us and letting us know how your stay was. We'll implement your feedback to enhance our service for our future guests and will look forward to welcoming you again. Sincerely, Julie Park General Manager BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel More 

Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Living on an island close to Nanaimo means planning your return trip well before midnight and the last ferry. But, sometimes you are having such a good time you want to stay and this hotel being central in downtown Nanaimo is our go to spot for a comfortable bed. Just off the busy harbour this hotel is well managed and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jordan, On behalf of our team, I'd like to appreciate for taking your time to write your comment and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I agree that our hotel's location is vital for many of our hotel guests to enjoy all kinds of shops and restaurants and beautiful harbour front walkway all... More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel in monsoon-like weather around 530pm. Zero parking up front for drop off area and no valet parking - I was already cranky. The lobby looked quite tired and there was only one staff member on the front desk with quite a line up of patrons waiting to check in. Thankfully he was quite friendly and very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Toshposh

Travelers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

Carseland, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The property is definitely older, but the rooms have been redone and the location is great with quick access to the harbor, shopping and restaurants. We had an awesome view of the harbor but there is traffic noise on this side. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lori C
Sidney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

This older property in a good downtown location has been tastefully upgraded. Rooms are comfortable. Lack of a breakfast facility is inconvenient, especially on a weekend morning when other meal pl;aces in downtown Nanaimo do not open early.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gerald K
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

I was travelling with my dog so we were likely given one of the worst rooms in the hotel, but it was really horrible. The room stank of stale cigarette smoke, it was very small and dated. I won't be returning.

Helpful?
Thank Moselle D
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Moselle D, Thank you for letting us know how your stay was so that we could improve. I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room. We allocate our pet room on certain floor not to cause any trouble people with allergy. However, we do deep clean them every stay and our building is 100% smoke... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.1 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
0.7 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Nanaimo Harbourside
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Nanaimo Harbourview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay