We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Northgate Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
6450 Metral Dr., Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 2L8, Canada
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Northgate Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Best Western Northgate Inn
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    108
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
62
64
10
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (203)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

stayed for two nights, as numerous family members were staying there I called they quoted me $140 a nite, online it was $96 and family said they were all paying $100 mentioned this to the person on the phone and they said they couldn't do it that cheap even best western online was cheaper than $140. So hung up and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Delta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I like this hotel for my business stays in Nanaimo. I am in sales and I nornally get in the evening, Its the first on my route ans has resatusant as well as restaurants nearby around the Mall which is just a block away. THe staff is pleaseant and friendly as well. the rooms are very clean and comfortable for... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great friendly front desk ---- clean property and room -- nice basic breakfast in large area and constantly cleaned up by the lady that works there --- bit noisy from the highway --- superstore across the street for food / gas --- would stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
41 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Central to everything on the north side of Nanaimo. Easy road access. Nice comfortable rooms and super friendly and helpful staff. An included breakfast is pretty basic and could be expanded. I'd ask for the back side of hotel to avoid highway noises.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vernon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here many times. and always receive good service. Quiet place and good stay all the way around. Front desk staff are very helpful and friendly. Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast could maybe be upped a bit but ok just the same. Staff in breakfast room very good as well.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel. We checked in really late (our ferry was mega delayed) but the front desk clerk was still happy to see us. We were put in a room at the very end of the hallway, and could only hear the highway traffic when the window was open. Otherwise, it was nice and quiet.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank chanmight for their review and for taking the time to provide this feedback. We're glad they enjoyed their stay however it's disappointing to hear about the hair in the bathtub; that should not have happened. We take pride in offering clean accommodations and we will use this feedback to improve and make this guests next... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at The Best Western Northgate Inn in Nanaimo as we were attending our first pickleball tournament and wanted to be well rested for tournament day. Our stay was beyond perfect and would highly recommend this hotel. The rooms were large and beds very comfortable with the entire hotel spotless and clean. Excellent quality hotel and what amazed me... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this review

We would like to welcome 304leslieb to TripAdvisor and thank them for their first review. We appreciate all of the comments, and it's true we usually do have some fruit out for guests as well as coffee and tea in the lobby during the day until about 11PM. During the morning we usually stock a few options for those guests... More 

Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Standard room bed and linen was fine. TV was adjusted so picture only filled half the screen, making the 32 inch TV like a 16 inch, had o get close to watch. Hair Dryer did not work. Lots of noise came in from hallway and adjacent rooms. Breakfast buffet area was much too small - the lineups we 3 deep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank Jim C for their review and would like to apologize for not exceeding our guests' expectations. There was indeed an issue with the programming of the aspect ratio of the TV in this one room and that has since been resolved. We always appreciate feedback from guests both good and bad and we use this... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

We were moving out of town so spent the night here to catch the ferry early in the morning. I had a gift card that I was using to pay for the room. When I had called to make the reservation I was told that I didn't need a credit card as I don't Luke to use mine. When I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this review

We'd like to welcome leslie m to TripAdvisor and thank them for their review. We're always disappointed when we fall short and no guest should ever feel like we're not delivering superior customer care. That being said most hotels require a credit card at check in and we are one of few hotels left in the city that still accepts... More 

Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

I frequent this hotel for business and the staff know me by name and always try to accommodate me for a room on the "quiet side". Clean, comfortable, friendly and professional staff. Just make sure you ask to be on the "quite side" if available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank Kenneth T for their review and for being a regular guest of ours. We have a lot of regular guests who enjoy our facilities and staff and come back time and time again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities