We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
6450 Metral Dr., Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 2L8, Canada
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    64
    120
    28
    13
    4
See reviews for
71
70
11
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (229)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was in Vancouver Island for 4 days on business, I stayed at a couple hotels in Nanaimo, Duncan and Courtenay. This one was good. Friendly staff, ok breakfast, fast internet, clean rooms. It was a little far from the downtown area for business. But overall it was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I had a very pleasant stay here. Took a ride up on the north side of Vancouver Island and stayed overnight here. Close to the city of Nanaimo, mall next door and shopping plaza across the street with a great Thai restaurant and wine and liquor store. The pizza place was also excellent. Staff was phenomenal. Everything was A plus.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The location, staff, cleanliness, etc were all very good to excellent. The only complaint that I had about our room was that, in our suite, the master bedroom was quite warm and the a/c in the main room could not cool the M/B room without making the main room an icebox. This is my only complaint.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nanaimo & Valemount, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very clean, great reception desk personnel, breakfast offered is good, helpful staff with ample and comfortable seating. The amenities provided in the room are of top quality such as Seattle's best coffee. Lovely thick white towels. Comfy beds.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMNorthgate, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank Aleta D for their review and for the feedback about their stay. We do have some great in room amenities but I just want to clarify that we have Keurig Coffee Makers and our in room coffee is Van Houtte Colombian, and Original House Blend Decaf. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Even with the 'deal' we got through Cheaptickets.com, I was surprised at the cost for a room (we paide $160 all in), considering the location and that it's a chain hotel. I guess I was expecting to pay less. And when friends were looking for a room there just days before our trip, the cost had doubled! The outside looks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMNorthgate, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank Brooke H for their review and for their great feedback. Guests love our location in North Nanaimo with the proximity of the shopping centres and that we are only a 20 minute drive to Parksville. Because of this we are one of the busiest hotels in the city. Our rates fluctuate day to day and... More 

Didsbury
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel needs to upgrade its carpeting and kitchenettes. The fridge seemed to be 50 years old. the decor was of the 80's. There was a smell that needed to be aired out. Traffic noise was loud. We were disappointed with the appearance because we have stayed at other Best Western Hotels with nicer looks and charge considerably less.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMNorthgate, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank Joyce W for their review and also to welcome them to the TripAdvisor community. We're sorry they did not feel we offered good value but it's important to note that this stay was on one of the busiest days of the year. As such we may not compare favourably to a different hotel, in a... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel itself is in a nice area, however the hotel building itself seems rather out of date. The air conditioner in my room was the old style and extremely loud. I felt bad for the guests above and below me every time it turned on since it was so loud. It must have woken everyone up within earshot. Inexpensive,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMNorthgate, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank lokithefox for their review and for the feedback regarding their stay. Our air conditioners have certainly been well used during this abnormal Level 4 drought condition we have been experiencing on Vancouver Island. Our maintenance team is tasked with maintaining the units and replacing if necessary. Although we pride ourselves in finding issues before guests... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

• Spent 3 nights with my parents • Shanuna + Hillary at the front desk were helpful • Fast check in • Had to change rooms in the middle of the stay. Was it an inconvenience, yes. Was it the worst thing- no. • Breakfast was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GMNorthgate, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank afshan m for their review and for the feedback they have provided. We are glad to see that our service was good and they enjoyed their stay. We are very sorry this guest had to switch rooms but they extended their stay at the last minute and the room type they reserved was already sold... More 

Delta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We were traveling with a 17-18 yr girls Ball team and this hotel knew this as we had booked 10 rooms, there was also another team from the same tournament staying here with at least 10 rooms as well. The property has no courtyard or any space outdoors except parking lots so during the evenings most of the parents gathered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMNorthgate, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank Pete R for their review of our property and their stay. Because of our great location we have a lot of teams stay with us yet we rarely have problems with noise disturbances. This was an exception and our staff worked to correct the problem. There are some good choices in the area for teams... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

This was our second stay at this hotel and it will be our last. On the first trip several years ago we stayed on the third floor which had less noise, but the carpets were just as filthy as this most recent trip when we stayed on the first floor. Pros-very comfy beds and pillows, kitchenette in room, very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMNorthgate, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank dawntop for their review and for highlighting the pro's and cons of their stay. We have had a few reports of carpet issues and our maintenance team will continue to work on their cleaning. We also routinely bring a carpet cleaning company to clean all of our carpets. All of our carpet and wall paper... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
6.6 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
7.7 mi away
Days Inn Nanaimo Harbourview
6.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay