We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Kelowna hotels

The Recreation Inn & Suites

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1891 Parkinson Way, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y7V6, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay, Park and Fly Rate
Save Saved
You added The Recreation Inn & Suites to your Saves list
The Recreation Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
48%
Ranked #24 of 34 hotels in Kelowna
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013
diana m Castlegar, Canada
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    11
    8
    14
See reviews for
19
13
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had seen the reviews and thought it would be a clean and lesser priced hotel. Wrong! I have never left a motel before, I would have stayed in my car or the homeless shelter before staying here. The heat didn't work. The phone line was cut. It smelled awful. There was no manager on duty when I got there.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed at this motel 01/15/14. When I checked in I signed a document stating that I would be charged $150.00 if I smoked in the room. I willingly signed this form because although I'm a smoker, I haven't even smoked in my own home for 20+ years. By signing this form I also was aware of the consequences and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Right from check in room was freezing cold, there were pieces of napkin balled up and some change in one of the drawers by the bed and one of the garbage bins hadn't been emptied. The bathroom was gross and smelled strongly of urine. The whole room was very unclean. I checked out and got a refund after only being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Castlegar, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I stay at the Recreation Inn when we travel to Kelowna because we highly value the helpful and personable staff, the coziness "at home" feel of the room which is always tidy and kept clean and a great location which is quiet and near all services and immenities. Recently, my husband had open heart surgery at Kelowna... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did! Your comfort and well being in such an intense time with your husbands heart surgery was very important to us. We are happy you are home once again as a family and if the time comes again when you require a room please think of us. More

Osoyoos, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Myself an a friend had picked to stay here because of the location because a cheap cab right to the bars and the fact that it was pet friendly. We found this place via trip advisor and all the reviews seemed good. Apparently those are not to be trusted. We pre booked a standard room with two queen beds and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Please contact me directly to discuss your issue with both of our properties! More

Trail, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

the service was very good the rooms where nice and clean the price was excellent the back area was good - the back rooms are a bit noisy I would recommend it to all my friends we will definite use it again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review, and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please think of us once again when your travels bring you to the Kelowna area. More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a super nice place! When we check-in and went into the room, we were really surprised! There was a kitchen with oven in the room and also an individual bedroom!! A huge room with resonable price. Both front desk and housekeepers were very friendly to us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for such a positive review, and we are thrilled that our property and housekeeping staff met your expectations. Please visit us once again when travelling to the Kelowna area. More

Kelowna, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on our way from Vancouver to Big White. Might not look like much from the outside but when we opened the door we were pleasantly surprised. Bathroom and bed was great, spacious enough room. Very clean. Was honestly the best hotel we had stayed in the last three months of our travels around Europe/UK... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay. We do take pride on our cleanliness of our property and we are happy that you were able to get rested and prepared for the Big White ski season. Please be our guest once again when travelling through Kelowna. More

Inuvik, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

While the room seemed old and run down at first glance, all the important stuff was actually newly renovated; The bathroom was completely new (and very nice) and the kitchen amenities were all new as were the beds. The hotel would benefit greatly from updating the rest of the furniture and getting flat screen TVs, but overall no complaint. Friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are continuously upgrading our property and pleased that you felt comfortable and had a good stay. Please think of us once again when and if you travel to the Kelowna area again! More

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very cute little spot. Two separate rooms. The staff were great, very helpful. Very clean and a great little place to stay for a few days. It is also in a very good location. Walking distance from a lot of things.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on the Recreation Inn. We value your business and your positive comments. It ensures us that we are headed in the right direction in customer service and product. Please think of us once again if and when you travel to the Kelowna area. More

Been to The Recreation Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Recreation Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
The Recreation Hotel Kelowna
The Recreation Inn And Suites
Recreation Hotel Kelowna
The Recreation Inn & Suites Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Address: 1891 Parkinson Way, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y7V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 hotels in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Recreation Inn & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Recreation Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Recreation Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.