We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Recreation Inn & Suites

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
1891 Parkinson Way, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y7V6, Canada
Offers & Announcements
The Best Rate!
The Recreation Inn & Suites
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015
Sue A Kamloops
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    10
    11
    14
See reviews for
24
14
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (73)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Kamloops
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

This is an older hotel but it's clean and the price is great. The rooms are an average size but comfortable. Walls are thin however so you can hear the neighbours. It's also in a very convenient location; close to Harvey Avenue, the mall and restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this honest feedback in regards to your experiences with us. We will be the first to admit that we are an older property. We are not the fanciest or the most updated of hotels to choose from in Kelowna. But our top priorities are always our guests. From our friendly staff who always offer top... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

The only problem is parking. Parking stalls aren't marked with room numbers so guests parking anywhere they find empty. Personnel is very friendly it is clean and rooms are kept in good condition, housekeeping is fair and honest.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review of your experiences with us. We use these reviews to help us identify areas where we have room for improvement, and perhaps our parking lot is one of them. We have been doing a number of upgrades to the hotel recently. I do hope that you will return to stay with us again... More 

Kaslo, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Stayed here in June and was very satisfied, extremely helpful Reception clerk, comfortable, very clean well appointed room and...quiet even though it is so close to the Highway and thus easy to access. The garden area with BBQ's is a extra plus.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind comments in regards to your stay with us. We make every effort to ensure our guests are comfortable during their stay and thus can truly enjoy their time in Kelowna. I am so glad that our staff were able to accommodate you and that we were able to meet our high standards... More 

Fort McMurray, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Booked a room with a double and a sofa bed. The sofa bed was the tiniest thing I've ever seen. Maybe 30" wide mattress? For 2+2 kids it wasn't enough. The room was old but clean enough. The pool was small. All in all the worst stay at a motel for our family in 10 yrs. At around $150 for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experiences with us. I also want to assure you that the issues you encountered are considered to be far below acceptable. I offer you my sincerest apologies for the service you received and I want you to know that Rose is no longer a part... More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

The Hotel was amazing for my family of 6 there was enough beds and the Internet was fantastic the service is great and the Free breakfast just makes it even better, only one problem is the parking could be a bit more organized. Other than that my expericene was cheap and worth every second!

Was this review helpful? Yes
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accommodate you and your family. Please think of us again if you come back to Kelowna and come experience some of the exciting changes and upgrades we are implementing. More 

Port Alberni, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

Booked a room with a double and a sofa bed. The sofa bed was the tiniest thing I've ever seen. Maybe 30" wide mattress? For 2+2 kids it wasn't enough. All the cots were rented so one of us slept on the floor. The room was old but clean enough. The pool was small and full of aggressive pre-teens from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay. I am very sorry that you were dissatisfied with your time with us. We unfortunately do not reserve the pool for certain people, and allow all our guests to use it so it can certainly get busy sometimes, especially when we have teams in house... More 

Brampton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Spend 3 nights there.Very clean at reasonable rate hotel with full kitchen.Barbeques outside to guests.Quiet place with friendly stuff.Location in central Kelowna with restaurants and shopping nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasant review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that you will think of us again the next time you travel to Kelowna. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back. More 

Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were very pleased with this hotel overall. Beautiful grounds and very quiet. The breakfast was very good although the breakfast room is too small. Rosanna made our day start with a big smile and was so accommodating. The other breakfast server was the opposite. The beds are a bit uncomfortable (hard) but very clean. We had to ask for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words in regards to your experiences with us. I am so glad that you made use of and enjoyed the services and amenities we offer here and that Rosanna was able to help make sure your day started out right. I will make sure she sees your comments, and I am sure you... More 

St. Albert
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed at the Recreation Inn & Suites the week of August 10th. We had no problems or complaints. The room was clean, and the grounds are well kept. This is an older motel, so you have to expect some things that need upgraded. We love the full kitchen! Our room was very quiet and every time we went to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind and honest review! I am so pleased that as a repeat guest we were able to accommodate your needs and help make your visit to Kelowna enjoyable and relaxing. Customer service is of utmost importance to us, but it is guests like you who really make what we do worth it. Again,... More 

Nelson, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I got charged $150.00 for smoking in the room when I did NOT. Management refused to discuss the matter with me as I had signed a form at check in that stated I would be charged if I smoked in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all the reviews we get and we use them to identify areas where we can improve. We are now under new management, and as such have made some changes to policy and also have made a commitment to providing our guests with outstanding service. I am very sorry for the experience you had... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question