We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kelowna International Hostel

2343 Pandosy Street, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 1T5, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Kelowna International Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    9
    7
    0
    8
See reviews for
1
6
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hostel staff were very helpful and friendly. There was lot of activities to join and opportunities to meet people and do fun things around the city. We booked a private room which was perfect for the two of us. Highly recommended :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really enjoyed the atmosphere of this place. I was quickly and efficiently checked in and told of the amenities of the hostel. The door wasn't always locked to my room, but that didn't bother me as there was a locker in the room that could be secured.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed there for a long weekend - Samesun was already fully booked so I was glad I found this place. 25 CAD a night is definitely a great price. The hostel is clean, staff is friendly, but you can sometimes not tell them apart from travelers, which makes it a bit difficult to figure out who to ask for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Be very careful with this hostel. There is NO refund policy listed on their website or in any emails they send you. They re-direct you to a their site on hostelworld.com that is the only place there is the clause. Regardless, I cancelled well beyond the 24 hour mark and they are still saying they will be taking one night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathleen M, Front Office Manager at Kelowna International Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your comment. As in most hotels and hostels, we have a 24hour cancellation policy. It is free of charge if you cancel 24 hours before your stay. Regarding your case, this was an honest mistake from one of our new staff, who understood you were cancelling the same date of your arrival. Once again, we... More 

Hickory, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

The staff at KIH were pleasant and efficient. As a middle aged guy with 3 minors, I felt a little out of place in the midst of a vibrant crowd of youth backpacker hipsters, but people here were unfailingly polite and the hostel really was very quiet. I think my biggest criticism would be the facilities. 4 toilets but they... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathleen M, Manager at Kelowna International Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you very much for your helpful and constructive comments. We are glad to hear you found our hostel peaceful, friendly and welcoming. As you say, the kitchen and common areas work well for all of our guests, even though it can get busy in the summer. We will make sure the beds in room 6 don't squeak... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

One of the beste hostels I ever stayed. It only has around 30 beds, what makes it pretty familiar. All the staff are travelers and it's nearly impossible to be alone at this place because everybody is open-minded and friendly. The house is beautiful coloured and has two big outside decks with a quiet area and a BBQ. They organize... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathleen M, Manager at Kelowna International Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much. We really appreciate it and we hope that you stay with us again soon! More 

Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

We stopped here for the night on our way through to Alberta from Vancouver. The hostel is in an old residential house that has not been updated to meet the commercial and traveler needs. There was at least 20 people sleeping in the house, most of whom were gathered around watching movies and it was like navigating a pub through... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathleen M, Owner at Kelowna International Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so very much for your review. We are sorry you did not have an amazing stay at the hostel! We do strive to serve our international guests to the utmost of our ability with a great hostel, inexpensive accommodation, excellent service and all that a traveler could need or want. The hostel is situated in an old heritage house... More 

Kiel, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

I stayed in this hostel for a long time and really enjoyed the good atmosphere. It is a small and lovely hostel where you find awesome people from all over the world. We did a lot of fun activities together and I found good friends there. I recommend this hostel to everyone who wants a nice atmosphere and a place... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathleen M, Manager at Kelowna International Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much! It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us. More 

Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

I tried to book a dorm bed at this hostel. The receptionist told me there were bunks available, but upon finding out that I live in BC, refused to book a bed for me. Her reason was that I was not an "international traveller". Why a business would deny service to Canadian residents is beyond me. I noticed a review... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathleen M, Manager at Kelowna International Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Drew, Thank you for your review. Indeed during the high season we give priority to international backpackers, who often have a small budget and need a bit of a home after a long time on the road. Our apologies for this. Kind regards, Kathleen More 

Neumarkt in der Oberpfalz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

the staff was friendly the kitchen the rooms and the toilets were clean the two decks are awesome.+ they also have nice events like all you can eat bbc. i appreciate it to everyone who wants to stay with young and friendly people

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathleen M, Manager at Kelowna International Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much! All the best on the rest of your travels. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#17 of 35 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#15 of 35 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel and Conference Centre
Hotel Eldorado
#4 of 35 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay