We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Kamloops hotels

South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3438 Shuswap Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Family & Golf Specials
Save Saved
You added South Thompson Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
84%
Ranked #1 of 54 hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    66
    28
    7
    6
See reviews for
44
78
8
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our family just came home from a weekend at South Thompson Inn. If you want to get away from it all, this is the place. Ignore the bad comments from the 1%. Every staff member from Reception, Housekeeping, Groundskeeping, and Dining staff were creditably friendly and attentive. Lots to do if you want eg. golfing, hiking, fishing, biking, feed the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were at a function last night and the food was awesome. Great recipe, great service at the bar. This isn't just a place to stay for the night but a place to go for a nice dinner with a great view. I have stayed here before and it is definately an all round great destination with a golf course... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

So happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and the service. I love that you mentioned that we are a place to go for a nice dinner even if you are not staying the night. Brenda our Executive Chef is going to have a difficult time putting on her chef’s hat with comments like this. We will now... More

Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently had the privilege of staying at this lovely property We were hugely impressed by the property itself, the service and the truly fine restaurant. The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. I would highly recommend the South Thompson Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for staying with us and for highly recommending us! This sounds like a sales spiel from me but I think the privilege of you staying with us is ours. Without you and guests like you we would not need to be here. There are other places to stay in the area and we sure appreciate... More

Port Hardy, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is perfect for a relaxing, tranquil stay. Not very close to stores or restaurants, which for me was actually a plus. Staff was friendly, helpful, and the cook was fantastic. The rooms are homey and quiet (I'm a light sleeper) and clean. My bed was a bit too firm, but everything else was so great I didn't mind.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

We sure appreciate you writing a review on Tripadvisor and always love to read such positive comments. The tour is a good idea. I will speak with our team to see if we can make it work Glad you enjoyed the food, our chef Brenda, and her crew sure will appreciate the compliment. You mentioned getting your security fee back... More

Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Owner charges your visa without authorization. Allways refers to the fine print on the contract. Staff does not let you know abouy rules until charges are made. No proper signage. Uses the bylaws in some parts of the building but not on other sides of building. Building needs updating not safe in some parts. Security is overkill in my opinion... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Mob attack It is unfortunate we are getting these recent unfair attacks. Social media is great until it is not. I hope everyone who reads this guest comment and the following 6 will look at the previous ones that made us #1 on Tripadviser We work so hard to look after our guests and have been at the top of... More

Ladysmith, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Charged $300 for smoking in the room and I don't smoke. They stated it was due to ashes found on the deck. The decks from each room are attached and not divided. Anyone with access to the deck could have smoked outside the room. They refuse to remove the charges from my credit card and will not return calls.

Was this review helpful? Yes
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Smoking admitted You may not have been the smoker but your guest or visitor did and it applies to everyone in the room. I don‘t know where the ashes on the deck comment came from but we only charged two rooms and both rooms admitted smoking on the decks. As far as not returning calls. We have had and spoke... More

Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was really excited to have been able to visit there...cute rooms, beautiful views....but after hearing through our group that there is now more than one person who is getting the "smoking on the deck $300 charge" and he doesn't even smoke!!!!!!! Hello? Ashes on the deck? because the wind chooses where it lays them...people were smoking on the deck... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

This is continuation of Social Media abuse We have had 6 negative Tripadviser comments about charging two rooms for smoking on their decks when not allowed. This person does not even have a complaint of their own, just part of the organized social media blitz to harm us and our reputation. We have been at the top of Tripadviser for... More

Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent location/bar/banquet hall, the food was great, the place is very clean - but the stay was marred by some poorly enforced hotel policies which happen to benefit the hotel monetarily. I have read through the other reviews and I'm not the first person to point these out. It seems the hotel doesn't want to fix them. 1. "Alcohol must... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Hope everyone reads my responses to this Social Media blitz of this and rest of his group. Thank you for the positive comments and it appears you would not have complained if we had not charged for the smoking I was offered to have all this go away if I returned the money for the two rooms we charged. I... More

Kamloops, British Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was there for the "Kamloops Reunion" beautiful location, building, decor etc, not to mention great food. Some of the staff were less than stellar however, perhaps the level of service and attitude I might expect at maybe an airport hotel, not a destination location such as this guest ranch. Also, many of us were quite disappointed to learn that one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Same complaint as previous one I hope anyone reading this looks at previous comments and responses First let me thank you for the positive comments. This is what we strive for. We are always congratulated by our guests for great guest service and awesome staff. Actually this was the case for this group until the smokers who got caught complained.... More

Kamloops, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As part of the Kamloops reunion bunch i just have to say i wasn't really impressed by any one who worked there's "service attitude". The night time entertainment crew, didn't even smile when they were tipped except when i handed the one older lady who cleaned up most of the glassware after dinner. she smiled when i tipped her, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Threat carried through We had a couple guests threaten us with bad reviews if we did not refund the penalty for smoking. We said we would not be blackmailed. They carried through. First of all the organizer said we did a great job. He is the one who booked and paid for the evening. Not one complaint. Our team are... More

Been to South Thompson Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Also Known As:
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
South Thompson Hotel
Thompson Inn Kamloops
Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.