We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Kamloops hotels

South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3438 Shuswap Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Dinner & Breakfast On Us!
Save Saved
You added South Thompson Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
85%
Ranked #3 of 54 hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (313)
  • Photos (140)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (94)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    88
    33
    8
    5
See reviews for
55
91
9
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed only one night, but it was wonderful. The owner is very friendly, and made us feel welcome. We dined at the restaurant on site, and the food was very good - and the service was impeccable. We enjoyed the hot tub outside, and it was a great clear night for observing the meteor shower. Our room was gorgeous,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here on our first night of a Rockies round trip - I found the hotel easily enough but it is a little bit East of Kamloops so I guess you need to accept you'll probably 'eat in' and stay in once luggage and bags are unloaded. The room was very fresh clean and comfortable; it didn't have coffee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our 1 night stay here. Although the South Thompson was quite busy with a wedding and all its guests, our stay was very enjoyable. We were given a lovely river view room with balcony (although this is shared with another room - not a problem if you know the people in the other room, but a divider might... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just stayed overnight on a roundtrip in BC. The choice was a good one. We had 2 rooms with 2 queen size beds for a family of 4 (2 teenagers). The beds were very comfortable. The design of the rooms all individual, romantic and very very nice. Our rooms were facing the river, nice views. We also used the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

I enjoyed reading your review, thank you! I am always happy when we our guests enjoy their stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your meals. We have a great Executive Chef. Thank you for letting us know. Every room in the Inn is different so you will probably get a different look if you return. Hopefully you do.... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nice hotel, situated in a lovely picturesque location overlooking the river. It is actually about 15-20 minutes outside of the main town and quite a way down a narrow road that doesn't initially appear to go anywhere. This is explained and something we knew before we had booked, but you still naturally question the instructions as you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

I am sorry we did something to offend a guest. It sounds like we did a poor job of explaining the $300 even though we may have mentioned it more than once. We did not charge your credit card the $300. It is only to make sure the card is valid and has a sufficient limit. I am sorry it... More

Regina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great overnight stay. If your tired of city noises stay here. We had the ribs and they were excellent We had them delivered to our room and ate them on the patio while watching a thunderstorm. We could see them golfing right next door. We'd stop again

Was this review helpful? Yes
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

I always appreciate that our guests will be back. Thanks for the excellent ribs comment. Sounds like you had a really nice evening on your patio, I love watching lightening and listening to thunderstorms as well. We had a great storm the other night and I missed it. Slept through it. David More

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped in for a night on our drive through Kamloops and decided to stay at the hotel after looking through tripadvisor. Check-in was a breeze, the front staff was helpful and friendly and the surroundings of the hotel were gorgeous. Our room was "kitschy" and cute and fit the ranch style of the hotel. All was great until dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on Tripadvisor about your stay with us. We sure appreciate your positive comments. I would like to apologize about your less than perfect meal. I sure hope you mentioned this to your server so they could make it right for you. . A restaurant is difficult to be 100% all the time although we sure try.... More

London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed three nights at the South Thompson Inn, with a young family aged 7 and 9. We found the staff on the front desk very efficient and very helpful. The room was clean and very comfortable with beautiful views of the river. The staff in the restaurant were brilliant, making my daughter pasta with simple tomato sauces even though... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us for a family getaway. I am happy to hear that you felt very taken care off. Hopefully we never say “no” to our guests and your experience with our restaurant is sure what we strive for. Hope to see you and your family again! Thanks David More

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I found the staff here to be excellent. They were very nice and always willing to help with a smile. I did find the rooms to be out dated and tired. They were kept very clean tho and the pool was very clean although the hot tub looked like it could use a water change. Overall location is picturesque, it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Our team never tires of hearing that they are excellent, thank you! Some, very few, of our rooms need to re-done. The original property was 100% Laura Ashley. Not my style then, even worse now. I hope the last of them will be redone this winter. So most have been redone and we would be happy to make sure you... More

bc
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The front desk gentleman was fabulous and welcoming and the lounge ladies were good. The location is pretty amazing however the hotel is showing its age. Our room had cleanliness issues. Beds were comfy and triple sheeting is wonderful. Ok place to stay if you get a deal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on Tripadvisor. I am happy you enjoyed our customer service and our comfy beds. Please call and ask to speak to me about your room condition, we strive very hard to keep our rooms spotless and as you have read on other comments we succeed the majority of time. I don’t know what room you were... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to South Thompson Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
Thompson Inn Kamloops

140 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Kamloops with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops #7 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops #8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
57

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from South Thompson Inn & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer