We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

#11 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
650 Victoria Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B4, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    169
    79
    22
    5
See reviews for
130
140
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (410)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (146)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (120)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I've just had a fantastic stay at the Thompson Hotel! We booked it on Hotwire while having car trouble at the beginning of a very long road trip. Every staff member I've interacted with has been warm, friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice and clean. Great complimentary coffee. We had to stay an extra night and the person... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Old school charm. Spotlessly clean. Not the newest or flashiest but comfortable well appointed room with good bath room. On Main Street with all the resturants. Nice indoor pool and spa and games room

Was this review helpful? Yes
Na
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there for a soccer tournament and there were lots for the kids to do between games with the rec room and indoor pool. The food in the included breakfast was good, fast and easy. Rooms were pleasant.Hotel close to lots of restaurants and riverside park.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear P2744azkenm, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed our great downtown location and hospitality. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Kind Regards, Jocelyn Bennett More 

Ahmedabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Average staff quality at front desk. At breakfast it was dull .we actually saw entertainment area when we were leaving . No one gve us proper info about the hotel .location is very good .The next day staff gave good suggestion to visit whister on our way

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Apoorva T, Thank you for all your feedback regarding your recent stay with the Thompson Hotel. Our team takes a great deal of pride in making sure all our guest are welcomed and taken care of. We are very sorry that you feel we did not execute this during your stay. I will make sure that we address this... More 

Kelowna
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice for families or sports groups. Large activity room for gathering, which keeps kids out of the hallways. Nice breakfast. Room comfortable and clean. Nice location for wondering downtown. Seemed slightly expensive for Kamloops and had a 3 night minimum for booking, we only needed 2. So was an expensive 2 nights, that was the only downside.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear 293elleni, Many thanks for sharing such great feedback on Trip Advisor! We are happy that you enjoyed our downtown area and our hospitality. We hope that we will get the opportunity to host you again at the Thompson Hotel. Kind Regards, Jocelyn Bennett Hotel Manager More 

Googong NSW
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as part of the Rocky Mountaineer tour. Our room was spacious and quiet. Toiletries were good, and there was really hot water in abundance. All staff were friendly and helpful. Kamloops seems to be a mid-point for several long journeys, so there is no feeling that this is a destination in itself, rather a good place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Chris Kenyon136, Thank you for your review of the Thompson Hote! We are very pleased to host our Rocky Mountaineer guests as they travel through our lovely city.I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, location and hospitality. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey. Kind Regards, Jocelyn Bennett Hotel Manager More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Thompson was an average hotel - I;ve been advised that all accommodation in Kamloops is 'moderate'. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. There are several restaurants nearby - none in the hotel itself, although the Italian place next door does deliver. Its a bit if a walk to the city centre from the hotel but its all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Janine H, Thank you for your review of the Thompson Hote! We are very pleased to host our Rocky Mountaineer guests as they travel through our lovely city and province.We are a full service hotel offering meeting rooms, a games room/play area and, of course our indoor pool with hot tub. Kamloops is home to a large university (TRU),... More 

...
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were adequate for a family stay. Kids were a little disappointed that there was no pay-per-view movies. A little more information about restaurants and amenities in the immediate vicinity would be helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear 710gavinr Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your feedback. We appologize that you did not feel that we offered you adequate information, our team take a great deal of pride in making sure that you are well informed. We will definetly look at this with our team members as we... More 

Whistler
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Thompson was very easy to find, had great amenities and the staff were very considerate. We stayed during a soccer tournament and the location was ideal to easily get to each venue. The pool and games room were a great place to hang out in-between games. Don't hesitate to book your stay here. Great all around

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Duanehepditch, Good Morning, I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete the review of the Thompson Hotel as we appreciate the input and the business. We are so happy you had a chance to really enjoy team Thompson hospitality. We hope to see you back. Kind Regards, Jocelyn Bennett Hotel Manager More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel as a group of 4 friends in April 2015. We had two double rooms, which were really clean and well kept, which was the same throughout the whole hotel. The staff we friendly and helpful. We had a really good nights sleep, and I tried out the pool the next day which was quiet and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jocelyn B, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear 460 Kelly, Many Thanks for sharing your review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate all the great feedback. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, location and hospitality.We hope that you will come back and visit us again one day. Kind Regards, Jocelyn Bennett Hotel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay