We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Red Deer hotels

Sandman Hotel Red Deer

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2818 Gaetz Avenue, Red Deer, Alberta T4R 1M4, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sandman Hotel Red Deer to your Saves list
Sandman Hotel Red Deer
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
30%
Ranked #19 of 24 hotels in Red Deer
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Kim479 Edmonton, Canada
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    17
    8
    8
See reviews for
11
8
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our sports team had blocked a set of rooms and we were told we would receive a group rate which would be very economical. Upon check in, some received a cheaper rate because they said they had a corporate account. Others called in were told there was a "best weekend rate" which was considerably lower. Those who chose to take... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Sandman Hotel for 3 nights. I was very happy with my stay there! The location is unbeatable for jumping on/off the highway and there's tons of shopping really close by. When I first saw the hotel I was impressed, not run down or dingy looking. The inside was clean and the staff greeted me. When checking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I will start at the beginning. I am not inclined to stay at a Sandman Hotel. That stated this is a new Sandman with Moxies built in.We are a family of 4 so we booked a "king size suite". I made 2 phone calls to ensure that there would in fact be a king size bed. My partner is nearly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is the worst place I have stayed at in a long time. I consider this because; our door wouldn't close unless you really pushed on it and locked it (housekeeping didn't even shut our door). No fan in the washroom and when you have to other people in your room with you and we all have showers and really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

When I booked this room, I was told that there was no construction going on and that was a lie. When we got into our room the door wasn't closed proper, I had to lean on it very hard to latch it. There was no fan in the bathroom and trust me I at -40c you really don't want to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerRedDeer, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Red Deer, responded to this review

Thank you for providing feedback relating to your most recent stay with us. I’m sorry to hear that your stay was anything less than ideal. All of our employees are aware that we are currently upgrading our rooms to better suit our guests needs, I must apologize if this was not effectively communicated to you. We do not have fans... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This place is dirty!! What ever u do don't look behind the bed, nasty!!! Obviously they don't clean very well or better yet never!! And our room smelled like a old dirty ashtray it was non smoking! I honestly feel like we got stuck in the old non renovated part of the hotel because we got compassionate rate for hospital... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerRedDeer, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Red Deer, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. I’m extremely disappointed to hear that you didn’t get to share our typical guest experience in regards to cleanliness. I have passed your concerns along to our Executive Housekeeper who will be addressing this with her department. We are proud winners of the AHLA Housekeeping Award and have... More

Three Hills, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed one night & enjoyed a King suite courtesy of a 3rd party discount offer. Suite was very nice, clean & well equipped. This facility has an attached restaurant eliminating the need to go outside on cold nights. But...you've got to get to the front door first. I was rather dismayed at the condition of the parking lot - snow... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Calgary
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed there last Friday nite for a conference. They did give me the conference rate, although the advance registration was over. However the room was right outside the ice machine, it bumped and made noise all night. The chairs were so dirty I was afraid to sit in them. Lots of plugs, but could use more where I wanted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stay-over for 1 night only. Got assigned main floor suite which is convenience. Room is alright, clean and neat but can't believe there are hotel still using blanket with bedspread!! Overall, it's a good short stay-over hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Revelstoke, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Recently stayed at the Sandman hotel with my family. There were a few of us staying there with the same last name. Everytime I called I was greeted very nicely and their central reservation agents were very nice. When I checked in around 9:00pm I was informed I had already check in (which is hard as I had just arrived).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerRedDeer, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Red Deer, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time necessary to provide us with feedback relating to your, and your family members’, stay. On behalf of the Sandman Hotel Red Deer I would like to apologize that your stay was anything less than ideal. We do confirm all reservation details with our guests at check-in, at which time your family... More

Been to Sandman Hotel Red Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Red Deer

Also Known As:
Sandman Red Deer
Sandman Hotel Red Deer Alberta
Address: 2818 Gaetz Avenue, Red Deer, Alberta T4R 1M4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 hotels in Red Deer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Red Deer 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sandman Hotel Red Deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Hotel Red Deer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.