We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Jasper hotels

Tonquin Inn

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Tonquin Inn to your Saves list
Tonquin Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
59%
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Jasper
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Debbie K Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    159
    119
    61
    31
See reviews for
154
180
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked our room enroute to Jasper through Expedia and were actually surprised to be able to get one as it was the Thursday before the long Easter weekend. The beds were awesome - I also like the sink being apart from the shower and toilet. The room was a bit small - not a lot of room to walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our studio unit with kitchenette was a nice layout for 4..much better than a standard queen room. Loved the proximity to town. Cons were hearing the trains go by thru the night, the floors were super squeaky, and we could hear all our neighbours, even those not right next to us. Definitely needs some soundproofing. The staff here were awesome!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The indoor hot tub had a lot of sand in it. The outdoor hot tubs were fine but there was never any towels available at the tubs. Our entrance light bulb was burned out, so our room was very dark. The breaker tripped on our first morning while I blow dried my hair, and we had to wait about 20... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pros: Location - it's Jasper and we love Jasper. It's not a big town so location desirability is limited. Anywhere in Jasper is decent. We like this location as it's away from right down town No other pros Cons: Noise-walls are paper thin. Rooms-temperature controls are poor. Was either too hot or too cold. The decor and upgrades are terrible.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vernon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at the Tonquin Inn in Jasper AB on our way to Grande Prairie and also on our return trip. When we checked in we found the room to be small and crowded with oversized furniture. We stayed in this room for the night and my wife banged her leg and banged her head on the coat rack hanging... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Tonquin Inn. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that you might have received misinformation regarding the availability of rooms. The only personnel that have accurate information regarding available rooms is the front desk. We do not "lie" to our guests. We always have... More

Edmonton
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We booked online..checkin was efficient, room only had one back window and our view consisted of another row of rooms, walls were paper thin, could hear anybody walking in other rooms and could even hear them using the bathroom facilities, floor was squeaky, TV went out just as we started to watch it and they couldn't fix it..gave us breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. It is with valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to address the concerns of our guests as we continue to try and improve our product. Thank you for posting your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Tonquin Inn in the... More

Alberta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We stay here purely for the room layout but I think this will be our last stay here. We have 2 small kids and the family suite works well for us. This stay however is very conclusive of not staying here again. The walls are paper thin, we can hear the niehbors having a shower. The bed when we arrived... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for informing us of the issues you had with your room during your most recent stay. Your comments have been shared with our Housekeeping Department and our Maintenance Department for them to address the issues. Please be assured, that the issues regarding housekeeping are not indicative of the high standards we have set. We are constantly upgrading our... More

Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
4 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Tonquin had a deal with Sun Dog tours for the ice walk. Stay two nights and get a free ice walk for two adults. So we stayed. All in all it was good, the rooms where modern, clean and all you need. The deal as such, was debatable. In the winter, a hotel in Jasper can be had for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. I am glad to read that you found your room modern, clean and all you needed at the right price. Although we do not have a shuttle, we will reimburse a guest for their taxi fare from either the train station or the bus station, especially... More

Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed there over New Years for a snowboarding trip. Got a room with a king size bed which was comfy and the room was clean but that's about where the upsides end. They had so much furniture packed in the room there was no place to put your suitcases and you could barely move around. Not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We normally receive very positive comments from ourr guests about our property and our staff. It is valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to address concerns of our guests and we will certainly take your comments under consideration as we move forward. More

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This hotel is fine for a convenient place to stay while on a ski trip to Jasper, and the front desk staff was good. But the description from the hotel’s website: "All the cozy amenities and luxuries you might expect in high-end hotels can be found here at affordable rates" is greatly exaggerated and the rates I felt were too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a thorough and helpful review of your stay at the Tonquin Inn. Responding to initial guest comments and concerns is very important to us. We received your first email on January 24, 2014 at 9:09 am and we responded on January 24,2014 at 9:49 am. As well, subsequent emails were responded to in a timely... More

Been to Tonquin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper
Tonquin Hotel
Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic mountains and endless opportunities to appreciate the great outdoors, The Tonquin Inn provides a perfect getaway for adventure seeking families, friends and couples. Located in the heart of Jasper, this property features easy access to hiking trails, ski fields, rafting adventures and so much more! With its cozy sunken living rooms, convenient kitchenettes and "home away from home" charm, the Tonquin Inn is the ideal spot for an escape from the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tonquin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.