We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tonquin Inn

3.0 of 5 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Hotel website
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tonquin Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tonquin Inn
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    195
    162
    79
    39
See reviews for
185
233
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (586)
  • Mar-May only
    (95)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (217)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (171)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (103)
All months
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My Family and I frequent the mountains (Banff/Canmore/Jasper) mostly in the summer but about 6-7 times in the winter. We have gone to a good amount of the hotels in jasper over the years but have settled quite well at the tonquin in the last few years. We love the peoples attitude and believe that although jasper hotels are expensive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would rather sleep in a snow bank than sleep here. We informed management of the bugs in our room and they said they would investigate.When we came back they said it was a common bug,,,,.there are no bugs in janurary in jasperWhen we went to the room we checked for more bugs..we found a toenail in the tub and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolutely dismal, very disappointed. The so-called family room has two twin beds in the main area of the room and the queen was in the bedroom. Not a very functional set up for a family as the kids generally go to bed before the parents.... Are the parents then supposed to sit in the bedroom with no tv? There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After a poor experience at a pricier hotel in Jasper this little gem was a needed relief!! The room was toasty warm, clean and looks like it's been recently renovated. Jasper seems to have a lot of aging buildings and it shows on the exterior design but not in room 256. It was modern and cozy. I didn't care that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed the comfort of your room and the facilities provided by the Tonquin Inn. We trust that you had an enjoyable visit to Jasper and look forward to welcoming you back to the Tonquin Inn on your next visit to Jasper. Please feel free to contact me directly so... More 

Okanagan Valley, British Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We read the reviews on this property a few days' prior and dismissed the "noise" cautions as there were very few vehicles in the parking lot and we didn't think that noise would be an issue. We heard very few disturbing outdoor noises other than the staff who were snow-blowing and shouting loudly in the lot in the morning. In... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. We apologize for not providing you with an exceptional experience. Your comments are being reviewed by my Maintenance Manager regarding the noise created by his staff in the morning. We hope that you enjoyed your visit to Jasper and we look forward... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We have stayed at the Tonquin many times because it does have some good qualities but looking after repeat customers is no longer one of them. The General Manager and I had an argument over pricing and she told me to take it or leave it. We ended up staying for 2 nights at a high price only to find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent experience at the Tonquin Inn. When determining the rate charged for a room, availability and the time of year are taken into consideration which impacts the opportunity to provide flexibility in the rates. We apologize if you were given the impression of a less than satisfactory service... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Hotel website pictures are completely different than the actual hotel. The room window was open when we arrived and it was -20 outside. It took until 4 am for the room to warm up. Outlets didn't work. Beds were sagging. The front desk kept forwarding wrong numbers to our room, waking up our baby. The shower door handle fell off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We offer our most sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments are being reviewed by our entire management team so as to address the issues you had during your stay with their respective staff. We hope that you had an enjoyable visit to Jasper and the Canadian Rockies. Thank you again for sharing your comments. More 

Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Stayed here one night while enjoying Marmot Basin. Rooms were very tight and is in desperate need of a renovation. Bathroom was dirty with hair on the floor. The walls in 118 creaked all night while the heat was on but the only plus was the bed was comfy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments and feedback and we are glad to see that you found our beds comfortable. We are disappointed to hear that the housekeeping services were not up to par and we will definitely address this with our Executive Housekeeper. Renovations and upgrades to our rooms are ongoing as part of our annual planning process. Thank you for... More 

Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

I enjoyed my experience here as it is in quiet area of town but not too far from everything. The beds were very comfortable and the room seemed quite modern. However, I agree with the reviews that said the the walls are "paper thin" and it was like elephants were upstairs as people were stamping on the floor. That's my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Tonquin Inn as your hotel while visiting Jasper. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and upgraded rooms. We will take your comments regarding the "paper thin" walls into consideration as we move forward to continue improving our product. We look forward to seeing you back at the Tonquin Inn on... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

The Tonquin Inn seems to rely on repeat business and is probably more popular to those frequent travellers in the area who aren't necessarily on a big vacation. I've been here a few times in the last few years and live close enough to have checked out a few places over the years. It's pet friendly, an important factor in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the Tonquin Inn and that you were able to experience one of our Junior Suites with the fireplace. The outdoor hot tubs are definitely very popular with our guests and the closing time is set so as not to disturb other guests that are staying in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tonquin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay