We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HI-Jasper

1 Skytram Road | 4 km south of Jasper off Hwy 93, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Hotel amenities
HI-Jasper
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #14 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
GreyNomad2014 Jannali, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    28
    23
    20
    12
See reviews for
6
21
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (99)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Jannali, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only had a short stay because our train from Edmonton left 12 hours late so we lost half a day. The front desk stayed up to check us in at midnight and did not show any sign of impatience. We had a private room that had a double and two bunks though we only needed the double. The morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parkersburg, WV
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed in hostels before but only in the UK not in Canada. The staff couldn't have been nicer but the facility was more rustic than other hostels where I've stayed. However, the other hostels I've stayed in were all located in more urban areas so the rusticity of the facility is not surprising. I stayed 3 nights and enjoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The service was informal but friendly and helpful. The private room was noisy being next to the main corridor to the female dorm, and hot, and somehow the noise of the trains carries up the mountain in to the window all night. On the other hand the mixed dorm the next night was quiet and cool! The toilet and shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a private room here for 1 night, which although lacked ventilation it was clean and the bed was comfortable. There probably isn't enough showers (3) for the volume of women staying at the hostel (sorry don't know how many showers were in the men's washrooms), but they were clean and I personally didn't have to wait to take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review HI-Jasper. More 

Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015 via mobile

We've travelled across Canada and wanted something a bit out of the ordinary to the big city life. Jasper and this hostel hit a home run! It's in the middle of the woods and the big dorm didn't feel weird at all! We stayed for a week and left with the sensation of relaxation and calmity. This place isn't for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience at HI-Jasper. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed it. More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

I stayed one night here in the hugeeeee female dorm. I was shocked at how many beds it has but that's also quite nice. I think many people throw comments around on trip advisor that don't have much experience of hostels or traveling. I've been traveling for 7years and I've lost count of how many hostels I've stayed in! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review HI-Jasper. we are happy you enjoyed your stay. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

I stayed one night here in the hugeeeee female dorm. I was shocked at how many beds it has but that's also quite nice. Definitely meet people! The kitchen and lounge area was very nice, staff were great. It's not even a five minute drive from jasper town but its a little too long to walk. I hired a car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

First of all, the hostel isn't even in Jasper, it's way out of town - not even walking distance. And the buses circulate max. every hour. Second of all, you feel like you're in a refugee-camp - dorms filled with 28 people. The kitchen is too small and dirty, same as the bathroom, the internet is slow, the staff isn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Hi Sophia, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to read that you had a bad experience. We will follow up on the issues you are addressing. Sincerely, Michel Tremblay More 

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

When walking in the dorm I had the feeling I ended up at a kids camp. There are 40 people on a room, but it was quiet, so I had no problem falling asleep. The kitchen and bathroom are clean. The internet didn't work that well. The hostel is a little outside of the village so I was happy I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We're happy to read that you had a good sleep. We would simply like to add, that the free shuttle is for the winter season only (mid-October to early May). During the summer months, the shuttles is more frequent but costs $5 one way and $8 for both ways. Sincerely,... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Stayed here for two nights last weekend with my boyfriend and we both loved it, clean,pretty quiet and a great location, the pillows were super comfy and the beds weren't bad also can't anything negative about this place would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#7 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
2.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#17 of 17 in Jasper
3.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
2.1 mi away
Athabasca Hotel
Athabasca Hotel
#15 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay