We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HI-Jasper

1 Skytram Road | 4 km south of Jasper off Hwy 93, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
HI-Jasper
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

I was in a room of about 20 and we had to share a common bathroom that had only 3 showers and 2 working toilets. The bathroom was not very clean at all. The location was pretty far from the town of Jasper...especially if you don't have a car. The receptionists were great though. Shuttles were offered throughout the day.

Helpful?
1 Thank dxrae
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. We are sorry to read that your experience was clouded by the state of the washrooms. We will keep an close eye on the cleaning in the future. Sincerely, Michel Tremblay More 

Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

I booked this hotel in October and stayed in the female only dorm. It was completely full and aside from the fact it was a little noisy I can't complain too much. It is a hostel and you are booking a dorm, so if you complain about the noise, well it's your own fault for not bringing ear plugs. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank bittenbytravelbug96
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

Not a bad little hostel, a little out of the way (we went off-season) and it was good we had a car because otherwise it would have been quite a hike from the town. We stayed in the large dorm room which probably sleeps about 40 but there were only around 10 people in the room. The bathrooms were okay,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gera_312
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you in the summer someday. Sincerely, Michel Tremblay. More 

Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015 via mobile

Loved our stay here, we stayed in a dorm- which was a huge room of around 40 beds. It was all sectioned off nicely though which didn't make me feel like it was a huge room with lots of people. The lights went out automatically at either 10/11pm and back on again at 8am. I liked this idea and people... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lydia r
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. Safe travels, Michel Tremblay More 

Denmark
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

You should only choose to stay here if you do not have any other options in Jasper. I stayed here for 1 night in September 2015 in a private room. The room was located next to the reception and entrance, so there was a lot of noise in the room during the day. Most of the night it was also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim A

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

This place is absolutely fabulous and I can't believe they haven't got better reviews on here? What is wrong with the young adventurous people in the world today? I am a little lazy and so I am going to copy and paste the email that I sent the manager. "Sent: September-18-15 11:58 PM To: HI-Jasper Subject: Re: Email from Hostelling... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AquariumRescueUnit
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015 via mobile

How can you sleep with 40 people in one room? Who is the man who thought this is his way to make money. Cone on..this was a mistake, did not sleep all night. With snoring/ringing you name it. The concept doesn't work for 12 people not to mention 40

Helpful?
Thank aces99
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to read that you had a bad experience. To answer you question, thousands of travelers sleep in our dorm every year and very few of them complain about the size of the dorm in the morning and think HI-Jasper is one of the best places they've stayed... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour group. We stayed in lots of hostels on the trip and this one was the most disappointing. The large female dorm was not well equipped with sockets or lights near beds. The toilets and shower room were not clean and there were only 3 of each. The hostel is... More 

Helpful?
Thank docs_26
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We took good note of you comments and will try to upgrade what we can to assure a more comfortable stay for future guests. More 

Jannali, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

We only had a short stay because our train from Edmonton left 12 hours late so we lost half a day. The front desk stayed up to check us in at midnight and did not show any sign of impatience. We had a private room that had a double and two bunks though we only needed the double. The morning... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GreyNomad2014
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We're happy to read you had a good experience. More 

Parkersburg, WV
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

I've stayed in hostels before but only in the UK not in Canada. The staff couldn't have been nicer but the facility was more rustic than other hostels where I've stayed. However, the other hostels I've stayed in were all located in more urban areas so the rusticity of the facility is not surprising. I stayed 3 nights and enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
Thank kevanrijn
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review HI-Jasper. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we are working on putting more outlets in the female dorm. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
2.1 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#10 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#3 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 stars 934 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
2.5 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#9 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay