We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HI-Jasper

1 Skytram Road | 4 km south of Jasper off Hwy 93, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Hotel amenities
HI-Jasper
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #13 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
vkiilune Turku, Finland
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    26
    22
    20
    11
See reviews for
6
19
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (94)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We've travelled across Canada and wanted something a bit out of the ordinary to the big city life. Jasper and this hostel hit a home run! It's in the middle of the woods and the big dorm didn't feel weird at all! We stayed for a week and left with the sensation of relaxation and calmity. This place isn't for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed one night here in the hugeeeee female dorm. I was shocked at how many beds it has but that's also quite nice. I think many people throw comments around on trip advisor that don't have much experience of hostels or traveling. I've been traveling for 7years and I've lost count of how many hostels I've stayed in! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed one night here in the hugeeeee female dorm. I was shocked at how many beds it has but that's also quite nice. Definitely meet people! The kitchen and lounge area was very nice, staff were great. It's not even a five minute drive from jasper town but its a little too long to walk. I hired a car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

First of all, the hostel isn't even in Jasper, it's way out of town - not even walking distance. And the buses circulate max. every hour. Second of all, you feel like you're in a refugee-camp - dorms filled with 28 people. The kitchen is too small and dirty, same as the bathroom, the internet is slow, the staff isn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Hi Sophia, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to read that you had a bad experience. We will follow up on the issues you are addressing. Sincerely, Michel Tremblay More 

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

When walking in the dorm I had the feeling I ended up at a kids camp. There are 40 people on a room, but it was quiet, so I had no problem falling asleep. The kitchen and bathroom are clean. The internet didn't work that well. The hostel is a little outside of the village so I was happy I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We're happy to read that you had a good sleep. We would simply like to add, that the free shuttle is for the winter season only (mid-October to early May). During the summer months, the shuttles is more frequent but costs $5 one way and $8 for both ways. Sincerely,... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Stayed here for two nights last weekend with my boyfriend and we both loved it, clean,pretty quiet and a great location, the pillows were super comfy and the beds weren't bad also can't anything negative about this place would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Outside of Jasper, so a car is usefull but not necessary (twice a day free shuttle-service). Dorms are big but you can sleep well. It is not very loud. Very nice kitchen/commenroom. We had also a nice fire in the back of the hostel. I can just recommend to stay there. It is the perfect defintion of a hostel, not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

It's a nice place for a hostel, staff are great and kitchen/common area is nice. The place is kept very clean and tidy but it sorta feels like a kids camp. It's really far outside of Jasper so it's not the best if you wanna spend evenings in town. Parking is pretty slim but for the price I would say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

If you don't have a car, this location would seriously suck. Staff is super friendly though. Hostel is a little older, but still decent. Pretty much just a cheap, comfortable night so you can get on with the awesome things you came to do in Jasper :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

The HI is an awesome hostel. Everything about it was great except the location. It costs $18 one way to/from town. The hostel rooms and bathrooms were clean and inviting. The walk in area has heaps of information about Jasper and its sights and activities. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay