We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Glacier View Inn

Icefields Parkway (Highway #93 North) | Just north of the Banff/Jasper National Park Border, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Glacier View Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Glacier View Inn
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    76
    50
    28
    14
See reviews for
68
101
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (211)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (108)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

We got the last available room on canada day. It was huge two level loft. Very quiet clean and oh so soft bed. The fresh water comes strait off the glacier. Kinda sweet. The restaurant is very classy considering the out of the way location. Very good 5 star food and service. The ticket office for the glacier walk bus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

No other option than this hotel and it is fine. Clean and no frills. Book a glacier view to make the hotel special. The Chinese restaurant (yes, Chinese, don’t ask, have no idea why there in the middle of nowhere) is good and the waiters are fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowmanville, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

After reading some of the negative reviews, I was a little concerned about staying at this hotel. The hotel is old and dated but given it's location, in the middle of nowhere, we were pleasantly surprised by the accommodation and the dining facility. We had a corner room which overlooked the parking lot on one side and the glacier at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andre_Giannandrea, Front Desk Supervisor at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review

Dear BJS499253 Thank you for your review of the Glacier View Inn We value the feedback and insight you have provided as a vital tool to improve the Glacier View Inn moving forward and I am happy to hear your experience was an overall positive one and allowed you to take full advantage of the amazing attraction and hiking opportunities... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Wasn't really expecting much when booked online, but the room surprised us. It is huge, well-maintained and clean. Not to mention that the view of Athabasca Glacier from our room is magnificent. Although there isn't much to do around the area (besides the Glacier and Skywalk), the overall experience in the Inn is still considered a good stopover, before heading... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andre_Giannandrea, Front Desk Supervisor at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review

Dear Phashion Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your stay at the Glacier View Inn We are very happy to hear it was such a positive experience and we value your insight in order to know our strengths and address our weaknesses moving forward with the property. We hope we will be able... More 

brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

There are limited options to stay along the icefield parkway and we chose to stay here based on the location. The position is incredible and although expensive, we were pleased with our accommodation. There were 2 adults and 3 kids in our group and the room was plenty big enough for us all. The loft area with 2 single beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andre_Giannandrea, Front Desk Supervisor at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review

Dear wadeandnat Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback and insight regarding your stay at the Glacier View Inn. Let me say how sorry we are to hear about your experience with the Food and Beverage aspect of your visit, we have passed your comments onto to the people in charge of those facilities in... More 

Solihull
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
84 hotel reviews
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

This Inn is actually on the top floor of the Columbia Icefields Discovery Centre . Our room was described as "Standard Double Room with view (No internet access). Unfortunately they neglected to tell us that the room was at the back with a view of hills with the hotel's waste bins in the foreground. The restaurant was busy and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andre_Giannandrea, Front Desk Supervisor at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review

Dear SolihullBob Thank you for your review of the Glacier View Inn We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us but we deeply value the feedback you have provided in order to improve and provide better value at the Glacier View Inn going into the future. David Crossland Front Desk Supervisor Brewster Hospitality More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

This hotel was to be the highlight of our tour through the Rockies. We upgraded to a glacier view room, wanting the experience to be extra special. However, it was rather like a motel! The room had a queen bed, with a further 2 single beds in a loft. The window offering the view was far from panoramic. We took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andre_Giannandrea, Front Desk Supervisor at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review

Dear 18Sue18 We thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your visit to the Glacier View Inn. We value the opportunity to hear from our guests so that we can address their concerns and improve the experience as much as possible going into the future and we deeply regret that you did not have... More 

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

The views from this hotel are spectacular...I can't imagine there is any other hotel built almost at the foot of a glacier..it's amazing....a one night stay here is A MUST...fabulous photographic opportunity

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andre_Giannandrea, Front Desk Supervisor at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review

Dear Heather R Thank you very much for your glowing review of the Glacier View Inn We are very happy to hear you had such a positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the amazing views of the Glacier. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey through Canada and we thank you for making us part of... More 

Liverpool
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We booked here for one night on the journey from Jasper to Banff as we planned to do the glacier and the skywalk. When we arrived we where a bit unsure where the hotel reception was as it is on the same level as the gift shop and the ticket sales behind frosted glass. We were checked in quickly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andre_Giannandrea, Front Desk Supervisor at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review

Dear LittleFatNinja Thank you for your review of the Glacier View Inn We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and we apologize about the many issues that brought you to the conclusion. We value your feedback to know areas we can improve to create an even better guest experience as we prepare for... More 

Kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We chose to stay here because it was convenient as we travelled through the National Parks and came as part of a package alongside the Glacier Experience and Skywalk, which in themselves were really enjoyable for us as a family. However, the hotel was the poorest we experienced during our three weeks in Canada. Issues as follows: 1) Nobody on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andre_Giannandrea, Front Desk Supervisor at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review

Dear BR4clan Thank you for your review of the Glacier View Inn. Let me first say how very sorry we are for your experience, I am shocked at some of what I have read here and I can assure you this is not at all consistent with our standards and was unacceptable. As we look to improve and provide an... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (111)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question