We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Fort McMurray hotels

Chateau Nova

Mod 3, Comp 9, RR 1 | Fort McMurray Airport, Fort McMurray, Alberta T9H 5B5, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Chateau Nova to your Saves list
Chateau Nova
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
69%
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Fort McMurray
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014
hfulghum Shoreline
  • Overview
  • Reviews (23)
  • Photos (10)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shoreline
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is a moderately nice airport hotel, located a stone's throw from the soon to be old airport. With the move to a new terminal across the airfield, the hotel won't be so convenient - fair warning. The one thing I would say is that the hotel restaurant is pretty much mediocre all around. The food is un-execeptional and largely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed at the Chateau Nova for one night while on airport business, and as far as getting business done at YMM it was the perfect option. The only real downside to staying here is its remoteness from anything else in town; apart from the airport there's nothing within walking distance. But from the standpoint of hunkering down and getting work... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Chateau Nova, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. We always appreciate guest feedback such as yours. We wish you all the best. Sincerely - Mindy Smythe More

Howell, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I have been coming to Ft Mac for some time now and have had the chance to stay at other local hotels and a few camps. This place is by far the best and cleanest place around. Yes it's a little pricey but you get what you pay for. The closest to the airport. Great staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Chateau Nova, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. And look forward to welcoming you back throughout the future. All the best - Mindy Smythe More

Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Our family went out to celebrate and ended up at the restaurant located in Chateau Nova. What a pleasant surprise to find it was the Seafood buffet night. The food was tasty, but I think some of the staff were having problems with the concept of "buffet". Our server came to our table TWICE during the whole time we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stay all over the country and pillows here are the worst by far. Who buys ones that resemble sacks of flour and think.... "Hey these look comfy " Ended up rolling up jacket and using it like camping. Good ones aren't that expensive. On the bright side... Staff is amazing and hotel is clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Chateau Nova, responded to this review

Thank-you kindly for your review. It is unforunate that you didn't enjoy the pillows as we are constantly praised for the comfort of them! We are glad to hear that our staff exceeded your service expectations however. We wish you all the best throughout the future. Mindy Smythe More

Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
153 hotel reviews
447 helpful votes 447 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here overnight while putting on a conference in this hotel. For location close to airport for early morning/late night flights, ya can't beat the place. It's literally right down the road a block or 3 from the terminal building. Very accomodating staff both at desk, restaurant/club and for conference room. Rooms were very clean, quiet (even though at an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Chateau Nova, responded to this review

Thank-you for your great review. We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy both our rooms and banquet space during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Sincerely- Mindy Smythe More

british columbia,canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here but the location is remote. The taxis gouged us. With our group of 8 it cost us close to $500 for two days. The drivers had poor english and no clue where we wanted to go most trips.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Chateau Nova, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. And were sorry to hear about your problems with the local cab services. Sincerely - Mindy Smythe More

Greenwood, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed twice in the past month and wasn't disappointed either time. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the restaurant was fantastic as well. The only downside is their limited hotel shuttle hours. It stops at 8:00 pm and the one non-stop from the U.S. gets in at 11:30pm. You're then forced to take a taxi that's run by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Chateau Nova, responded to this review

Thank-you kindly for your review. All the best- Mindy Smythe More

Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Spent two nights in this hotel and was very favorably impressed. The hotel is very new and as spotless as can be. Lobby area very nice and right across the street from the airport. Don't need a $35 cab ride from the other hotels to get to airport. Stayed one night in a dump, the Hotel Bridgestone, for twice as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Chateau Nova, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. All the best - Mindy Smythe More

Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is beautiful but not cheap. Close to airport. Poorly made though so you hear the person above you walk and sneeze. Buffet is great but not cheap. A very spotless hotel. The suite that we had, had a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. We found it hard to adjust the controls to cool off our bedroom. Out of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Chateau Nova, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. We always appreciate guest feedback and will certainly take your comments into consideration for future. All the best - Mindy Smythe More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Chateau Nova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Chateau Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Nova

Address: Mod 3, Comp 9, RR 1 | Fort McMurray Airport, Fort McMurray, Alberta T9H 5B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Fort McMurray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Chateau Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Nova Fort McMurray, Alberta

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Fort McMurray with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our full service hotel is conveniently located by the airport and is within close proximity to all that Fort McMurray has to offer. At Chateau Nova, you will enjoy exceptional rates, welcoming atmosphere, great service and our wide range of amenities. Our location has a great restaurant and lounge as well as meeting space and recreational facilities making our hotel the perfect destination. Join us at our full service hotel for your short or long term stay in Canada’s energy capital. This young and vibrant city is never short of something to do whether you are taking advantage of the prospering oil sands and energy sectors or hiking, canoeing or fishing in Northern Alberta’s great Boreal plain lands. Relax while we make your experience one worth remembering. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
163

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chateau Nova staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer