We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Fort McMurray hotels

Chateau Nova

Mod 3, Comp 9, RR 1 | Fort McMurray Airport, Fort McMurray, Alberta T9H 5B5, Canada
Hotel amenities
Chateau Nova
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chateau Nova to your Saves list
70%
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Fort McMurray
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
2Fiver Ottawa, ON Canada
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (24)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Ottawa, ON Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here at the advice of someone who lives in Fort McMurray. They told me it was "close tot he airport, and had a good restaurant". Both of these are true. The hotel is only about 1 km from the old North Terminal, and about 3 or 4 km from the new South Terminal. There is a free shuttle... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shoreline
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is a moderately nice airport hotel, located a stone's throw from the soon to be old airport. With the move to a new terminal across the airfield, the hotel won't be so convenient - fair warning. The one thing I would say is that the hotel restaurant is pretty much mediocre all around. The food is un-execeptional and largely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed at the Chateau Nova for one night while on airport business, and as far as getting business done at YMM it was the perfect option. The only real downside to staying here is its remoteness from anything else in town; apart from the airport there's nothing within walking distance. But from the standpoint of hunkering down and getting work... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Chateau Nova, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. We always appreciate guest feedback such as yours. We wish you all the best. Sincerely - Mindy Smythe More

Howell, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I have been coming to Ft Mac for some time now and have had the chance to stay at other local hotels and a few camps. This place is by far the best and cleanest place around. Yes it's a little pricey but you get what you pay for. The closest to the airport. Great staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Chateau Nova, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. And look forward to welcoming you back throughout the future. All the best - Mindy Smythe More

Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Our family went out to celebrate and ended up at the restaurant located in Chateau Nova. What a pleasant surprise to find it was the Seafood buffet night. The food was tasty, but I think some of the staff were having problems with the concept of "buffet". Our server came to our table TWICE during the whole time we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stay all over the country and pillows here are the worst by far. Who buys ones that resemble sacks of flour and think.... "Hey these look comfy " Ended up rolling up jacket and using it like camping. Good ones aren't that expensive. On the bright side... Staff is amazing and hotel is clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Chateau Nova, responded to this review

Thank-you kindly for your review. It is unforunate that you didn't enjoy the pillows as we are constantly praised for the comfort of them! We are glad to hear that our staff exceeded your service expectations however. We wish you all the best throughout the future. Mindy Smythe More

Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
152 hotel reviews
439 helpful votes 439 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here overnight while putting on a conference in this hotel. For location close to airport for early morning/late night flights, ya can't beat the place. It's literally right down the road a block or 3 from the terminal building. Very accomodating staff both at desk, restaurant/club and for conference room. Rooms were very clean, quiet (even though at an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Chateau Nova, responded to this review

Thank-you for your great review. We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy both our rooms and banquet space during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Sincerely- Mindy Smythe More

british columbia,canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here but the location is remote. The taxis gouged us. With our group of 8 it cost us close to $500 for two days. The drivers had poor english and no clue where we wanted to go most trips.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Chateau Nova, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. And were sorry to hear about your problems with the local cab services. Sincerely - Mindy Smythe More

Greenwood, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed twice in the past month and wasn't disappointed either time. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the restaurant was fantastic as well. The only downside is their limited hotel shuttle hours. It stops at 8:00 pm and the one non-stop from the U.S. gets in at 11:30pm. You're then forced to take a taxi that's run by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Chateau Nova, responded to this review

Thank-you kindly for your review. All the best- Mindy Smythe More

Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Spent two nights in this hotel and was very favorably impressed. The hotel is very new and as spotless as can be. Lobby area very nice and right across the street from the airport. Don't need a $35 cab ride from the other hotels to get to airport. Stayed one night in a dump, the Hotel Bridgestone, for twice as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Regi0nalsalesmanager, Regional Sales Manager at Chateau Nova, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. All the best - Mindy Smythe More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chateau Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Nova

Address: Mod 3, Comp 9, RR 1 | Fort McMurray Airport, Fort McMurray, Alberta T9H 5B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Fort McMurray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Nova Fort McMurray, Alberta

10 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay