We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Fort McMurray hotels

Nomad Hotel and Suites

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10006 Mac Donald Avenue, Fort McMurray, Alberta T9H 1S8, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Nomad Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Nomad Hotel and Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
  • Overview
  • Reviews (33)
  • Photos (14)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
1
1
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was clean but not maintain as well as it should be. Room 302 is beside the noisiest ice machine. Breakfast was not worth the stay as the staff in the breakfast lounge were rude new Canadians that should be deported and the food was marginal at best

Was this review helpful? Yes
Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights and hotel and room was good for the price. Staff accommodating, parking convenient and no extra charge, good location for walking around the city and to the waterfront. Quiet environment and beds very comfortable. Needs some updating but everything clean and well stocked.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend mention to that the Nomad Hotel in Fort Mac was great because you could smoke in the rooms.I rented a suite for one night as I work in camp. I was looking forward to my room an smoke, has I got to the hotel they mention there is no smoking in suites, an they gave me a smoking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed 34 nights at the Nomad and all in all it was pleasent! The only issue I had was the shower drain was a might slow, but not terrible. I travel 300+ days every year for work and have been in some holes! The room was average, cleaned well every day and the staff was always helpful. I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athabasca, AB
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Arrived on Monday afternoon to stay for 2 nights. We were in town to volunteer at a casino fundraiser for our figure skating club and our club booked and paid for many rooms (10+). Overall I heard nothing but complaints from our travelling companions and my husband and I were not pleased. The rooms are worn down and shabby looking.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nomadinngm, General Manager at Nomad Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet up to your expectations on this trip, and will share your comments with our staff. If you would like to contact me directly I would be happy to discuss with you the issues you encountered, and hope that your next visit will better meet... More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

stayed here in february. 279$ a night i was expecting more.. fort mac or not at that price you can update your rooms. for what i paid for a week they could have redone the room completely lol.. box tv... yes i said old tube tv .. hmm deft not what i expected at all..closet door was broken.. yes it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nomadinngm, General Manager at Nomad Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments I will pass them on to our front desk and housekeeping staff. We were at the time of your stay just in middle of replacing all of our TV’s in the hotel and now have 42”LCDs in all of our guest rooms, and are looking to continue with more renovations in the near... More

Yellowknife
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Fort McMurray is an expensive town to stay, but for $200 this is one of the leas expensive hotels in town. The rooms have been updated but the building is old and It shows. Beds were reasonable. Duvet covers did not appear to be changed, but rather flipped over To appear cleaned. This seems to be the case based on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nomadinngm, General Manager at Nomad Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments both positive and negative. We have examined the issues you rose and implemented some new procedures to make sure the housekeeping concerns are better handled. I have passed on your comments to all of our staff, and I hope that the changes we have implemented will show on your next stay and meets your expectations.... More

Sherwood Park, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I travel regularly from Calgary to Fort McMurray for work. When available, I always try and stay here as it close & convenient to our downtown office. The hotel is definitely dated but the front office staff are friendly and the rooms are always clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
nomadinngm, General Manager at Nomad Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are in the midst of completing our latest renovations and upgrades. Included in this we should very shortly have all of our hotel rooms upgraded with 42" flat screen TV's as well as a high quality HD signal. I will also gladly let the staff know to keep up their good work as it... More

Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this hotel!! I had never been to Fort Mac before and had to go for business. I looked at all the hotels in the area and read several reviews before making my choice. And I have to say I couldn't be happier with my stay at the Nomad. EVERY staff member I encountered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nomadinngm, Manager at Nomad Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments; I will make sure to pass on your compliments to all the staff and department heads. I hope to welcome you back soon. Mike Harlick GM More

Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I have been staying at the Nomad every week for the past two months for one night a week. I have just been told that I am no longer welcome there as I will not take the 2 night minimum that they have now set as hotel policy. I will be coming for the next year and will no longer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
nomadinngm, General Manager at Nomad Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments; we appreciate all feedback that we receive. I would first like to express that you are a valued Guest, and I would like to explain from our side what you experienced when you tried to make a reservation recently. When our availability is extremely limited, we sometimes limit our inventory so that we can ensure... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Nomad Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Nomad Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomad Hotel and Suites

Address: 10006 Mac Donald Avenue, Fort McMurray, Alberta T9H 1S8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Fort McMurray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nomad Hotel and Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Nomad Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomad Hotel Fort Mcmurray
Nomad Hotel And Suites Fort McMurray, Alberta

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Fort McMurray with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
165

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nomad Hotel and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer