We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge

Hotel website
Hotel deals
4009 Gateway Boulevard, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 5H2, Canada
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Worth it for the price (inside rooms much nicer than outside hallways) Stayed for 1 night Great staff - very impressed with both the man in the evening and woman in the morning - very friendly, approachable, attentive to any concerns Room was bigger than expected - nice amount of space with two single sofa chairs and one table on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shosh3
R J, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Shosh, Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. I am very happy to hear that our service met your needs and expectations. Please don't hesitate to let us know if you're visiting again soon. Our staff... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at this motel for 3 months waiting to get into housing. The rooms are kept clean and the housekeeping staff are very efficient. The management is friendly and accommodating. The only thing that really annoyed me about my stay, was the night desk man... He was very snoopy and harassing. Other than that, I would recommend these accommodations to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey Lynn E
R J, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tracey, Thank you for your positive comments and I am pleased that you have had a good stay overall. However, I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with our night clerk. This is very disappointing to hear. All your comments are essential to educating our staff about good and bad service, and please note that... More 

Smoky Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

My wife and I stayed here on December 17, 2015 after I had some day surgery. We checked in midafternoon and were quickly processed and handed the keys to our room. The hotel has been updated to enclose what were at one time outside hallways, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were very pleasant and accomodating, and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SmokyMark
R J, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. It was a pleasure... More 

Kingston, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

I stay there when ever I am in Edmonton. The service is great the rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and very helpful. They make you feel at home witch is nice when you travel a lot like me.

Helpful?
Thank Bernie B
R J, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Bernie, I am delighted to hear that we have been part of so many journeys that you've taken. Our staff are always ready to welcome you. Thank you for making our hotel your second home when you're in Edmonton, your continued patronage of our hotel is sincerely appreciated. Thank you for your loyalty and trust, and don't hesitate to... More 

Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015 via mobile

This is the most dilapidated and unkempt hotel. I actually checked out after staying one night, but paid for two nights, as it was well after checkout time when I did so. I very deliberately slept on a friend's couch instead of sleeping in a bed that I had already paid for. The cleanliness in the hotel is nonexistent. There... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy M
Brian C, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an... More 

Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

My Mother-In-Law & I stayed only one night, but that was enough...I would not recommend this property to anyone....It is very run down and not clean at all, with a possible exception being the sheets....Everything else was just bad.....The poor girl at the reception desk tried her best to make us happy but unfortunately it wasn't happening...I can't believe that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
R J, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Terry, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our... More 

Western Canada
Level Contributor
325 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

We stayed here while we were in Edmonton for a concert. No it's not the fanciest place in the city but it served it's purpose. The wi-fi in our room worked well and so did the TV. Want something better? Dig into your pocket and pay a hundred bucks more per night somewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank RocketQueen101
EcoLodgeEdManager, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Edmonton! Regards, GM Econolodge Edmonton More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

It is my fault...I generally refuse to book a hotel until I have checked the reviews. But in this instance, I let myself be clouded by the fact that I have never had a bad experience at a Choice Hotel chain motel. Never again!! I knew there were no elevators but I asked for a ground floor room. Turns out... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BJPToronto_Canada
EcoLodgeEdManager, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, First, please allow me to apologize for our failure to provide a pleasant stay. The hotel ownership strives to provide excellent customer service and quality, at a reasonable price. We are very sorry we have failed to meet your expectations and are striving to improve, through renovations and upgrades and better training for our staff. The hotel... More 

Revelstoke, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Due to construction I was unable to find the place fairly late in the evening. Her English skills were very poor but I was distraught and lost, she was unwilling to help me with directions. I told her the exact address where I was and asked for directions she was not able to come up with any assistance. When I... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Debra B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Lady at front desk won academy award for the worst customer service. It's -13 outside, 27 in my room. Ac worked for 2 hours, after 6 days they still haven't fixed. Here from BC on medical. Who's the owner, I want to talk to them. Have to stay two more nights

Helpful?
2 Thank Pissedre
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Edmonton South Travelodge
#62 of 90 in Edmonton
3.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Calgary Trail South
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#17 of 90 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Argyll Plaza Hotel
#51 of 90 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Thriftlodge Edmonton West
#68 of 90 in Edmonton
3.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay