We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 90 Edmonton hotels

Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10235 101 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3E9, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton to your Saves list
Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
42%
Ranked #59 of 90 hotels in Edmonton
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Danny5k Stevensville, Montana
  • Overview
  • Reviews (321)
  • Photos (58)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (69)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    93
    105
    51
    32
See reviews for
45
63
29
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville, Montana
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Management is "willing and able" but has its hands full with this property. Although improvements have been made to the Lobby, hallways, and Pool area, conditions of the rooms are VERY "tired". 313 rooms and 1 elevator was working during my stay. Other guests complained of walking down 23 flights of stairs to avoid further wait. One of the 'chiller'... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I can't say I was impressed at all by this hotel. The top floor pool was beautiful and the location of the hotel was great but that's about it. We were here for our anniversary but I doubt we'll be back. Thankfully we had no issues with staff, they were all pleasant. We did not go into Chop. It feels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael H, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Our elevators are serviced and maintained by a licensed contractor to insure that they are continually operating under safe conditions. We try to lessen the impact on our guests of any maintenance issues in the hotel and unfortunately this weekend two of the elevators... More

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I stayed at the Sutton Place in downtown Edmonton for one night in on July 10th, 2014. From the moment we booked, we actually received fantastic, friendly service. I was quite worried after reading the previous reviews, but it seems as though the hotel staff are working hard to make guests happy. After a very late check-in,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Sutton yesterday (2014/07/06). The room was dirty, heck there was still a used condom left inside the ice bucket. Called reception got hung up on and had to call the 2nd time and the person who answered was rude. The Chop restaurant's staff were incompetent and unprofessional. First the waitress who I asked to bring me tea,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael H, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton, responded to this review

We must apologize for the experience you had during your stay with us at the Sutton. I can assure you we that this was a unique experience and not typical of our standards. We have reviewed this incident in detail with our housekeeping team to avoid a similar situation in the future. We have also shared your comments regarding poor... More

Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I decided to travel to Edmonton for my birthday weekend. I chose this hotel as I had stayed 4 times before on short overnight stays and liked the location. I booked the hotel for three nights and we were put on the 26th floor, which is also the floor the pool is on and had a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michael H, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We have reviewed your concerns with both the Front Office and Housekeeping teams to help improve our procedures and services delivered to our guests. It was not our intention to make you feel that we were indifferent to your concerns.... More

drgmobile
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my second time at a property branded "Sutton Place," and it was nothing if not consistent with my first. An aging property -- kind of a dump. The property appears to be in the midst of a renovation (on the cheap?) The rooms hadn't been touched yet -- since the mid 1990s, apparently. They still had old-style bedspreads... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael H, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. In the past 2 years we have updated the lobby and built the new Chop restaurant & bar. Earlier this year we completed updates to the pool area and will be expanding our gym soon. We have almost completed the upgrades to our public areas and are extremely excited to announce that will start our... More

Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

At check in there was an issue with authorizing cards but not actually ours when they took it manually. When we asked for directions they handed us a piece of paper without providing directions of turn right/left from the front door. When we asked for extra pillows it took 45 min before they were brought up. Had excellent service in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael H, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Your constructive feedback does help us to identify areas of opportunities to improve our products & service at the Sutton Place Hotel. As with all businesses in the hospitality sector, it is the staff which makes the difference. We at the Sutton Place Hotel are committed to continually seeking staff who have the values and... More

Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Tried this hotel a few years ago, it was worn out. It's still worn out, but at least appears to be under renovation. Unfortunately I had a non-renovated room with a rock hard bed. Staff were as kind as last time, but I will stay away until fully renovated.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael H, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are excited to be able to tell you that our long awaited guest room renovation project will begin soon. In the past 2 years we have completely renovated our lobby area and added a new Corporate Lounge and a two storey Chop Restaurant & Bar. Earlier this year we undated our pool and change... More

Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

While our stay was enjoyable enough, there were a few major issues I had with this hotel. As other recent reviewers have commented, our floor hallways were being gutted right while we were staying without any prior warning. Construction/ renovation noises were quite loud and disrespectful. It worried me a bit that the workers were wearing masks while doing this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael H, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience our current renovations caused you during your stay. It is always challenging when renovating a hotel but we are working with our contractors to insure that we maintain a safe work environment for both our guest and our staff and minimizing the inconveniences. In the past 2 years we... More

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel definitely needs some TLC. The hallways need new carper and painting. And the bathroom shower had a smidge of discoloration in the corner of the shower. Unfortunately they started some of the TLC process as I was there. The carpet in my hallway was ripped up day #2 of my stay which meant noise and dust filtering in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michael H, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that our renovation project affected your stay at the Sutton Place. We strive to continue this project with as little inconvenience to our guests as possible. We are happy to say that all of our hallways have now been carpeted and we are in the process of finishing the wall... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton

Address: 10235 101 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Edmonton
Edmonton Sutton Place Hotel
Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton Alberta

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
313

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer