We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
15540 Stony Plain Road | NE Corner 156th St & 101st Ave, Edmonton, Alberta T5P 3Z2, Canada
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Howard Johnson Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    27
    25
    27
    12
    19
See reviews for
23
15
25
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (110)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Revelstoke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having come from a concert, it was easy to find. They were in the middle of some reno's (flooring) so we walked around it. Didn't like the location as we had to park in the back and then walk all the way around late at night with three young girls. Room was adequate with comfy beds.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ok so once you make your way through the work being done in the lobby there is a frontdesk;they are helpful and apologetic about the renovations.The room was large,clean and quiet,the kingsized bed was really comfortable.Buffet meals for dinner and breakfast on the main floor. Lounge on the main floor with 30 VLT's. Parking was an issue; on the side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
iansanitized, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest; Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We appreciate the acknowledgement of our staff effort to give you a service that you truly deserve. We are happy that you enjoyed our comfortable beds on our large newly renovated rooms, and our restaurant and VLT lounge facilities. We also appreciate your patience and being so accommodating to our... More 

Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my first time here, the hotel is under renovation and the lobby really look very rough not until I entered the room, the room is good but with out a microwave, and the mattress was too hard on my body causing me pain. The receptionist was helpful but need little training. The free breakfast is nothing to write... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
iansanitized, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest; Thank you very much for providing us this feedback of yours. We appreciate your comments and recognition of our newly renovated hotel rooms and our staffs’ effort to serve you the best service we could offer. As part of this better service, we are doing our best to improve the whole hotel. After the renovation of the lobby... More 

Cold Lake
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For like six plus years now we have been going to stay here because of the location . BUt as of the past few years still............NO elevator that works ....NO pool , the place is filthy dirty , the restaurant has mice running around. Its a dirty party hotel. Noise all night long. Some rooms have been renovated and do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
iansanitized, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest; Thank you for this review you have provided. It is unfortunate that you have to go through all of these unpleasant experiences prior to the take over of our new ownership and management team. Basing on your comments above, we would like to inform you that the issues that you had encountered have already been resolved and taken... More 

Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

We stayed there as it was close to the restaurant we were visiting. The area is dodgy. We kept running into street people in Starbucks or people cadging cigarettes in front of the hotel. The hotel itself is under renovations so the lobby was cramped. The desk clerk welcoming us was very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
iansanitized, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest; Thank you for this review you have provided. It is unfortunate that you have to go through all of these unpleasant experiences prior to the take over of our new ownership and management team. Basing on your comments above, we would like to inform you that the issues that you had encountered have already been resolved and taken... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015 via mobile

I have stayed here twice and I have allergies and back problems. The staff have bent over backwards moving my stuff to help me. They make sure to put me on a top floor bc I have trouble sleeping below that. The service is amazing. The buffet is wonderful for $9.99 in the week. The hotel is newly renovated and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
iansanitized, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CiaoBaby79; Thank you for a wonderful review, we appreciate your feedback regarding your stay as this will surely help us ensure excellence in guest satisfaction and standards. We are pleased to hear about your appreciation with all of our staff and the service we had to offer our valued guests like you. We are glad you enjoyed our newly... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Courtyard Edmonton West
#6 of 89 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Place LaRue
Quality Inn West Edmonton
Quality Inn West Edmonton
#33 of 89 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Yellowhead Inn
#39 of 89 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#51 of 89 in Edmonton
3.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay