We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau Lacombe Hotel

Hotel website
10111 Bellamy Hill, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1N7, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chateau Lacombe)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
Professional photos View all
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    39
    70
    62
    33
    28
See reviews for
28
61
15
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (232)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First off, the staff was fairly friendly. We arrived and had no clue we weren't to pay the toll booth in the parkade. We paid, and then also got a nice parking charge on our bill at checkout. We then had to go back down to the parkade to retrieve our parking bill to prove we paid for parking to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Drumheller
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I reviewed this hotel a year ago and gave it top marks. Reading the last reviews that belittle this soon to be 50 year old hotel, I am compelled to report on this, my second visit. As with my first visit, I was on an upper floor and thoroughly enjoyed the new Concierge floor. The river valley view was impressive,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Being from Edmonton, I haven't been to the Crown for more than business functions, banquets, and a regular informal get-together after work at Bellamy's lounge. My mom and step-dad had their wedding reception in this hotel as well. As long as I can remember, and even to this day, the Chateau Lacombe stood for one thing - hospitality. I judge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me start by saying that it is clear they are working on slowly rehabbing the place. That being said, they have a long way to go. Our room was loud, you could hear neighbors on both sides. Windows very old, had what appeared to be tar streaks going down them. Tub drain was rusty. Tile was old. Everything was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gravenhurst, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Within walking distance of everything downtown. Views on the river side are spectacular. Breakfast is fast (buffet) and lots of selection. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Even though I was on one of the top floors, elevators move quickly so I hardly ever needed to wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Banff, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked the hotel before checking TripAdvisor which was a mistake as some of the review here nail this place right on the head as it misleads as to the class of the hotel. Very hard place to find as it stuck down this really up hill road off of Jasper. If it wasn't for GPS I don't think I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you enjoy a nice view and quiet sleep, get a room facing the river. The view is great both in the morning and at night. Staff is friendly, the hotel room is a bit out dated. The revolving dining room is romanic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for a couple of nights here over the Canada Day holiday. We had booked through a deals site, so we did not pay much. I wouldn't suggest paying full price for the low-cost rooms (non-Concierge rooms). The room was clean. The furniture was a little outdated, and our fridge wasn't working well (we didn't ask them to replace... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
275 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

nothing more than a dump. the rooms were loud both from the street noise, might have something to do with the old windows. first room was dirty, something sticky on the faucet. they reluctantly moved me. second room was still noisy from the street and a very loud make up air, climate control system. both rooms stuck of something stale... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
R W, General Manager at Chateau Lacombe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback during your recent stay. We take all guest room issues seriously and are addressing your concerns with our Guest Services team. The hotel has embarked on a multi million dollar refresh of our public spaces including four floors of Concierge guest rooms and new windows. Our goal is to restore the Chateau Lacombe Hotel back... More 

Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice, clean hotel. Staff was very nice. The revolving dining room makes it worthwhile. Our room and amenities were very nice. It's kinda hard to find, once we found it, we were in a great area for walking the town center.

Was this review helpful? Yes
R W, General Manager at Chateau Lacombe Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear of your recent stay and thank you for your kind words. We are sorry that you had troubles finding the hotel. Perhaps our new exterior refresh will help with locating the hotel and the famous La Ronde. Did you have a chance to visit us on Tieless Tuesday? Live jazz, half price wine and a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Matrix Hotel
#7 of 89 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 stars 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Downtown
The Westin Edmonton
The Westin Edmonton
#35 of 89 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay