We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 90 Edmonton hotels

Sands Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12340 Fort Rd, Edmonton, Alberta T5B 4H5, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sands Hotel to your Saves list
Sands Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
45%
Ranked #66 of 90 hotels in Edmonton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014
Really-retired Calgary, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (35)
  • Photos (32)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
7
7
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were met with rudeness at the front desk, followed by ridicule because my last name is hyphenated and then they demanded 300.00 for our room stay because I wanted to pay with cash not a credit card. The only reason we stayed is because we didn't have time to look elsewhere. I will never stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christee R, General Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Most Hotels requires a valid credit card to register. Your cash deposit was refunded upon your check out immediately the next day. All customers generally apppreciate that this exception is made when not able to have a credit card of their own. I apologize for your inconvenience. Christee – General Manager More

Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

In a hotel I expect a clean room and a good sleep. We are waiting for possession date on our home and required alternative accommodation for a month. We tried two other hotels in the area that were simply unliveable. Other than being clean, real comfortable sleeps and good food here; we found the staff to be respectable, responsive and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sylvan Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is nowhere near a three star hotel. It only gets this rating due to the rundown onsite amenities. It's a scabby, scary hotel. I would not feel comfortable having my family stay here. The rooms are tiny and oldddd, in the states this would be a 2 star at best, but hey, welcome to Alberta where we can charge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christee S, General Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for comments. We are working diligently on updating our Hotel as we speak! The Outside is completed and the Lounge is in stage 1. I apologize that our Hotel was not to your standards Christee - General Manager More

Prince George, Canada
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Please do not give this unfriendly, dirty, smelly, gross hotel one dollar of your money !! It was the most regrettable 3 nights of all my hotel experience's. Maybe they should update their website to let people see what it really looks like on the outside & inside! I was afraid to go on the building! It looks like its... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Christee R, General Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Sands is going under renovations to update our Hotel on the outside, so I do apologize for the disarray until completed as for the window in this room, it has been replaced. We now offer KEURIG coffee pots in each room, and when the need for 4 per room is maximized, we offer them complimentary at the front desk. Ice... More

1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Management will not make your stay any better they are there to take your money. You will not get rest. The hotel was under construction which we found out when driving into parking lot. Workers banged all day long. Condescending management didn't move us. Left us on the top floor, none smoking that just reeked of tobacco and pot in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
Christee R, General Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Sands is going under renovations to update our Hotel on the outside, so I do apologize for the disarray until completed. The contractor’s hours are within a respectable time frame and I apologize that these hours did not work for your schedule. Unfortunately the night you stayed we were full house and we could not offer you a different room.... More

Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

I work in the industry so I may be harder on the sands then most. But for $100 a night there are a few things I expect. The bed had lumps so big in them at one point during the night I thought it was a pillow. All comforters, pillows and mattress need to be thrown out and replaced. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
Christee R, General Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not satisfactory. We have implemented a brand New Restaurant & Lounge menu that our customers are excited about and the reviews are great! We are very proud of the comments we receive regarding our beds and I am sorry that this room has been overlooked. We are pleased that... More

Westlock, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were attending FarmFair at Northlands so it was extremely close which was nice since we had a 3 month old baby. It was also easy to get to from the major highway. Was an old hotel that was fixed up but there's nothing wrong with that. Was nice to have a restaurant right in the hotel and the food... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmritGrewal, Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! Being as close to Rexall & Northlands as we are, we do have a lot of guest’s book when an event is being held there. If you have not reserved for Farm Fair as of yet, PLEASE do, as we are almost full for these dates! Christee - General Manager More

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Company Christmas Party was held at this Hotel. Was surprised how clean the inside was compared to the dated appearance on the outside. Room was presented well, food was delicious. I did not intend to stay the night, however other co-workers were, rso I ented a room and again was surprised. Yes, outdated, but clean, comfortable and staff in company... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmritGrewal, Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We are a diamond in the rough, and 2014/2015 is the year for us to shine! Christee - General Manager More

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Clean, quiet motel that is close to majour highways, easy to get to from southern cities like Red Deer and Calgary, and eastern cities like Lloydminster, Battleford and Saskatoon. Has a decent restaurant, and pub, which was relatively quiet at night. Enjoyed help received from the front desk clerk.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmritGrewal, Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! Yes! Our Hotel is on the corner of Yellow head Trail with easy to access to Anthony Henday for all outside cities to go and come in from. I am pleased our Hotel & Staff were there to make your visit comfortable. Christee - General Manager More

Calgary
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have utilized the Sands Hotel Edmonton the last three years to facilitate our Avalanche Training Programs that we hold three to four times a winter. The Sands Hotel and Staff have been very helpful and tolerant of our schedule and student number changes. We have found that when we need to make changes they are ready and can usually... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmritGrewal, Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We are pleased to be the Venue & Hotel of choice for Zac's Tracs. These groups of Ladies are professional, organized and dedicated to please their student’s which in turn we need to ensure that all are satisfied. We hope that you will be pleased with 2014 renovations when completed! Christee – General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Address: 12340 Fort Rd, Edmonton, Alberta T5B 4H5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Edmonton, Alberta

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Hotel is walking Distance from Rexall Place and Northland Agricom ... more   less 
Number of rooms
53

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer