We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 100 Calgary hotels

Canadas Best Value Inn

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2416 - 16th Avenue NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 0M5, Canada (Formerly Royal Wayne Motor Inn) (Northwest Calgary)
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Hotel amenities
Canadas Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Canadas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #67 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
lawaii Winnipeg, Canada
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    60
    33
    13
    17
See reviews for
29
40
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Manaus, Amazonas, Brazil
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Terrible hotel, old rooms, bad location, bad recepcion, insecure, bad breakfast. The room was clean, but nothing more than this. Shoud be renewed or closed for good. I will never come back again. Please try another hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a 2 queen beds room, just last week. The room is spacey, clean, with a fridge, microwave, no coffee maker, but coffee is available in the "lobby". Price was good, location is good, a bit old style, stairs are outside. There was only one complaint about our stay: the room exit/door is facing the next room door,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that the noise issue during your stay was not dealt with to your satisfaction. We do have our night auditor patrol the property and respond to any customer issues. Our priority is to ensure that your stay with us is comfortable and that you have a good night rest. I will ensure that we make sure that... More 

Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's really good location by Hwy #1. The staff was really nice services. But just room was really old for the price. The room doesn't have coffee maker for the guest. And I can't get hot water from the room. I guess there don't care about the customers any more. Something need change immediately!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

i am sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. We are an older motel and although we do not have coffee makers in the room - they are available upon request. Our Front Office staff do complete courtesy calls after check-in to assist.. I am sorry that we missed contacting you as we would have been able... More 

Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

In a metropolitan city such as Calgary, it's difficult to find a low-cost but nice accommodation. While far from luxurious, this motel offers clean, modest size rooms and compared with other Calgary locations, low prices. It was raining and the first-floor room provided quick access from our car, so we were only damp not wet from bringing in our carry-ons.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review that will assist other travellers in the future. We hope to see you again. More 

Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

If one gets great results on concerns instantly this is the place to book your next stay in Calgary. This lodging manager listens and gives great service which is all you need to be comforted that the lodging is clean and well looked after. There is hot water heating, in this lodging that may need individual thermostats in the future.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

It is a hotel in "motel village" part of Calgary - near the University. It wouldn't be fair to expect fancy looking place, because it is not. Does it LOOK nice? Uhm...not really. Is it clean? Yes. Staff friendly? Yes. Felt save? Yep. Slept good? Like a baby. We stayed there for one night and I didn't regret it -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We appreciate your honesty and know how important your reviews are to future travelers. More 

Cheshire
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
21 hotel reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed for just one night as we were heading out on our Canadian adventure. The trip from the airport was east although we were in possession of a Google map. The hotel is actually situation on the east side of the hotel village complex and you have to come off the highway onto a side street to get into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. Your comments covered a lot of areas that would assist travelers with their decisions. Motel Village and the surrounding area has a lot of restaurant options and is a very convenient location especially for visitors travelling to Banff and other destinations west. As a budget economy brand we strive to ensure that... More 

Huntington Station, New York
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

We stayed here for less than 10 hours but it did give us a very bad impression. For a room of $110+ a night, one would expect such basic services as coffee. After spending a whole day on the road, we'd like to have some coffee when we checked in. No, no coffee maker or coffee or coffee cups. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet with your expectations. I am surprised that you were not provided with a coffee maker. Although we do not have them available in our rooms - they are available upon request. Our staff make courtesy phone calls shortly after you check in to ensure that everything is satisfactory with... More 

Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

I stayed here during the Stampede festival. Ideally I like to stay in cheap and cheerful places. Compared to other accomodation in the city at that peak time, it was on the more affordable level for me. Also ideal that it was around the corner from the train station which brought us directly to the festival. The only cheerful thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out of your valuable schedule to write such a comprehensive review. Your honest evaluation is very detailed and is very helpful to guests when making their accommodation decisions. I am sorry that the experience in your room with adjoining doors did not provide the best experience. We only have a few rooms like this and... More 

Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Situated unless 600 meters of a tramway station, the hotel offers all the possible conveniences: outside swimming pool, laundry, ice and breakfast. The room is comfortable without being spacious. The bedroom is correct and the bathroom is clean.:A good price in a city where reigns the wealthiness and the wealth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you your review. We are very happy that our property met with your expectations. Although we are an older property we work very hard to ensure the high cleanliness standards of our rooms and that we provide friendly, helpful, courteous and professional staff. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn

Address: 2416 - 16th Avenue NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 0M5, Canada (Formerly Royal Wayne Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadas Best Value Hotel Calgary

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay