We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Calgary hotels

Canadas Best Value Inn

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2416 - 16th Avenue NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 0M5, Canada (Formerly Royal Wayne Motor Inn) (Northwest Calgary)
Hotel amenities
Canadas Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Canadas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #67 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Peter J Panama City, Panama
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    60
    31
    13
    16
See reviews for
28
40
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (132)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In a metropolitan city such as Calgary, it's difficult to find a low-cost but nice accommodation. While far from luxurious, this motel offers clean, modest size rooms and compared with other Calgary locations, low prices. It was raining and the first-floor room provided quick access from our car, so we were only damp not wet from bringing in our carry-ons.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If one gets great results on concerns instantly this is the place to book your next stay in Calgary. This lodging manager listens and gives great service which is all you need to be comforted that the lodging is clean and well looked after. There is hot water heating, in this lodging that may need individual thermostats in the future.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

It is a hotel in "motel village" part of Calgary - near the University. It wouldn't be fair to expect fancy looking place, because it is not. Does it LOOK nice? Uhm...not really. Is it clean? Yes. Staff friendly? Yes. Felt save? Yep. Slept good? Like a baby. We stayed there for one night and I didn't regret it -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We appreciate your honesty and know how important your reviews are to future travelers. More 

Cheshire
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
19 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed for just one night as we were heading out on our Canadian adventure. The trip from the airport was east although we were in possession of a Google map. The hotel is actually situation on the east side of the hotel village complex and you have to come off the highway onto a side street to get into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. Your comments covered a lot of areas that would assist travelers with their decisions. Motel Village and the surrounding area has a lot of restaurant options and is a very convenient location especially for visitors travelling to Banff and other destinations west. As a budget economy brand we strive to ensure that... More 

Huntington Station, New York
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

We stayed here for less than 10 hours but it did give us a very bad impression. For a room of $110+ a night, one would expect such basic services as coffee. After spending a whole day on the road, we'd like to have some coffee when we checked in. No, no coffee maker or coffee or coffee cups. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet with your expectations. I am surprised that you were not provided with a coffee maker. Although we do not have them available in our rooms - they are available upon request. Our staff make courtesy phone calls shortly after you check in to ensure that everything is satisfactory with... More 

Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

I stayed here during the Stampede festival. Ideally I like to stay in cheap and cheerful places. Compared to other accomodation in the city at that peak time, it was on the more affordable level for me. Also ideal that it was around the corner from the train station which brought us directly to the festival. The only cheerful thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out of your valuable schedule to write such a comprehensive review. Your honest evaluation is very detailed and is very helpful to guests when making their accommodation decisions. I am sorry that the experience in your room with adjoining doors did not provide the best experience. We only have a few rooms like this and... More 

Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Situated unless 600 meters of a tramway station, the hotel offers all the possible conveniences: outside swimming pool, laundry, ice and breakfast. The room is comfortable without being spacious. The bedroom is correct and the bathroom is clean.:A good price in a city where reigns the wealthiness and the wealth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you your review. We are very happy that our property met with your expectations. Although we are an older property we work very hard to ensure the high cleanliness standards of our rooms and that we provide friendly, helpful, courteous and professional staff. More 

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I've been in this hotel twice. Rooms are fine and affordable. What i love the most are their pillows that are really comfy! Does anyone know where I can order those EXACT pillows? kewlkgonz@hotmail.com Kevin

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We get a lot of people commenting on our pillows! I will email you information about them. Hopefully on your next trip we can get you some pillows... More 

Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

The place is extremely run-down. Some effort is made to keep it from being a complete dive (such as the decent pool and some fresh paint). But the carpet, tiles, and most fixtures are extremely old and in poor repair. The folks at the desk were very friendly. Our room had comfortable beds, but the bathroom had a strong odor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay did not meet with your expectations. I thank you for your professional manner in pointing our the areas we need to address. More 

Fort Qu'appelle
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

As luck would have it, this is a hotel we stayed at 45 years ago. Yes, that long ago.... They have painted the room and new carpets, NOTHING ELSE. There was no internet when we arrived, there never was any hot water, so we couldn't shower. No heat. The electrical plug beside the sink had no ground fault protection, incredibly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn

Address: 2416 - 16th Avenue NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 0M5, Canada (Formerly Royal Wayne Motor Inn)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadas Best Value Hotel Calgary
Hotel Style:
#67 Casino Hotel in Calgary

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay